Whispers In The Winter Wind

Hello Everyone
I would always say that my favourite themes were Paris, vintage dressmaking and vintage femmes but now I would say that emerging as a firm favourite is nature.
Crafty Individuals have a beautiful selection of tree stamps both realistic in style and slightly more whimsical, I definitely lean towards the realistic style as my choice.
In the U.K, Mother Nature seems to be rather upset, causing devastation from either storm force winds or torrential rainfall, creating floodwater of the likes where streets are turned into canals and a dinghy used instead of a car, with people rooting through their damaged possessions desperately trying to salvage anything and all other belongings being turfed out onto pavements.  How is it that nature can be so devastating yet the flip side is the beauty.  It is the quiet beauty of an early crisp frosty morning I was aiming to capture in this canvas panel.
wintertreelynneThis is something I made over one month ago, when I had metallic paint/sprays out for Christmas/festive cards/tags/gifts, etc.
It all started because of some mop up paper.  I had a sheet of re-cycled white packing paper to protect my surface when working with paints/sprays.  The photographs don’t do the paper justice!  In fact, it was so pretty I really didn’t want to use it especially as I knew I couldn’t re-create it.  It had become quite wrinkled
twoand I know, I could have ironed it but what’s a few wrinkles between friends!  With the tree stamp being so detailed it obviously meant an imperfect stamped image but I’m happy to roll with that especially as it adds a lovely texture to the panel and enhances the naturalistic feel.
fiveAll the paints/sprays are metallics but that hasn’t translated in the photographs.
Hand-made paper and tree bark, misted to give the impression of a frosty morning with a That’s Crafty greyboard snowflake shimmering with pastesixand barely to be seen, a cluster of stars.  This star stencil is one of my favourites from the That’s Crafty Dinky Stencil range.sevenWhispers in the winter wind.
eight

(Crafty Individuals CI-209 is the Elements stamp set used on this canvas panel.)
Many thanks for your visit to this scheduled post and to those of you who took such trouble to answer the question in a recent post.  I will be acknowledging your words,  many thanks.
Have a lovely week and wherever you are in the world, I hope Mother Nature is being kind to you!
Wishes
Lynne

26 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annie G
    Jan 12, 2016 @ 08:04:50

    Such a beautiful canvas Lynne x love the wonderful layers and the mop up paper makes for a great background x
    The weather has been so awful and I hope you are safe and warm. I just can’t imagine dealing with the devastation that people who have had their homes flooded have to face 😦

    Huge hugs
    Annie x

    Reply

  2. pearshapedchris
    Jan 12, 2016 @ 09:09:28

    This is beautiful Lynne and you certainly have captured that frosty morning! I love the way you have stamped on the crumpled paper -I love to see the effects it makes! Hugs, Chrisx

    Reply

  3. Julie Lee
    Jan 12, 2016 @ 09:19:31

    I love the idea of ‘whispers on the winter wind’. This piece of work truly evokes the beauty of the Natural world even when nothing is growing and all seems barren and cold. The Textures on this are exquisite: I really wish I could see it in reality, so that I could fully appreciate the metallic sheen. I absolutely agree with you about the effect of stamping on the crinkled mop-up paper – it so adds to the natural atmosphere of this piece. Your projects so often portray Nature in her different moods and I really like this aspect of how your art has been evolving. My heart goes out to those who have lost so much this winter and I do hope all is well where you are, Lynne.

    Reply

  4. Avril
    Jan 12, 2016 @ 09:54:30

    A stunning piece Lynne, I can just imagine the shimmer. You have really captured a frosty morning with this.
    Avril xx

    Reply

  5. suzy
    Jan 12, 2016 @ 10:51:17

    A beautiful piece of Winter artwork here Lynne! I love the stamped tree on the wrinkled paper very much – it just adds to the natural and nature them especially with the handmade paper. Beautiful metallic effect too!
    Hugs,
    Suzy

    Reply

  6. Emma
    Jan 12, 2016 @ 11:16:48

    So serene. I have this stamp and love it too!

    Reply

  7. Majo
    Jan 12, 2016 @ 11:48:39

    I’m speechless, this is so beautiful ♥

    Reply

  8. Samantha Read
    Jan 12, 2016 @ 13:00:34

    As always . . . So beautiful.
    Hope you are keeping warm and well.
    Hugs from Poppy and me xx

    Reply

  9. butterfly
    Jan 12, 2016 @ 15:06:19

    I think Nature is probably top of my list every time, so I really love this earthy, beautiful creation. Lovely stamp, and the layered textures are wonderful.
    Alison xx

    Reply

  10. Dorthe
    Jan 12, 2016 @ 16:10:34

    As you know I ,too, love to create with and about nature, and your gorgeous piece fills my heart with joy, dear Lynne. So very beautiful,- like a winter fairy tale, -the bark and the layers gives a real feeling of the bark fluttering in the wind ,but still a part ot the mother tree, and your beautiful stamp, is perfect done on the crinkled beautiful piece of paper. I know the feeling of almost not wanting to use a piece ,even it was born from a coincidence, knowing one would never be able to create the same again. The starts almost disappearing in the cold mist are wonderful, too Lynne.
    This is such a stunning and beautiful piece!!
    Dorthe, xxxx

    Reply

  11. joiatrr
    Jan 12, 2016 @ 17:27:13

    Oh wow wow wow… this is INCREDIBLE Lynne. STUNNINGLY GORGEOUS. I’m sooooooooooooo glad you didn’t iron the paper – it would not have been the same at all. I understand about the paper too – I have one that came about the same way… can’t figure out how to use it to show it’s beauty!!! In your case – you did great – the focus is on your lovely paper. YES – so wish I could see it and touch it! I love the way it truly looks like winter and the title is perfect…. but things like handmade paper and tree bark – so unique is what just makes it completely personify your title – Whispers in the Winter….. WOW WOW WOW… Awed. j.

    Reply

  12. Sue F
    Jan 12, 2016 @ 17:48:43

    I love the way you’ve used these stamps and the paper gives the trees movement.

    Reply

  13. pricelc
    Jan 12, 2016 @ 23:16:32

    Elegant, enduring yet fragile…. love how all of the layers and your image evoke these feelings. I love the poetic rhythm of your work, Lynne. How sweet to use a paper that has borne the work of other beautiful pieces! xxx Lynn

    Reply

  14. hettiecraft
    Jan 13, 2016 @ 00:08:41

    This is absolutely gorgeous Lynne. I love the subject and the canvas is just stunning. That subtle star stencilling is just beautiful.
    Hugs
    xx

    Reply

  15. wandahentges
    Jan 13, 2016 @ 00:34:52

    This is wonderful!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

  16. stamprosie
    Jan 13, 2016 @ 10:00:52

    Just gorgeous, Lynne

    Reply

  17. Jackie P Neal
    Jan 13, 2016 @ 14:47:48

    Absolutely stunning Lynne! Your design and the organic elements you used makes this piece stand out among my favorites of yours!
    Truly you are so gifted with your way with papers and stamps. A beautiful representation of Mother Nature.
    warmly my friend,Jackie

    ps…I do try and create daily,whether it be in my studio or out redesigning the “Art Barn”.

    Reply

  18. craftytrog
    Jan 13, 2016 @ 18:16:13

    Beautifully vintage and textured! xx

    Reply

  19. Corinne Rollet
    Jan 13, 2016 @ 21:45:10

    Ooh Lynne… happy to catch-up a bit on your blog tonight with this simply wonderful piece!… I love what you did with this gorgeous CI tree stamp, your imperfect stamping on your fab crinkled paper just add to to the beauty of it I agree!!! and the layering and composition is just exquisite as usual. A pure delight 🙂
    Hugs, Coco xxx

    Reply

  20. Julia - Vintage with Laces
    Jan 14, 2016 @ 08:07:09

    I always love a nature theme and this is serene and just fabulous, dear Lynne.
    I hope your area is not too much affected by the storms and floods. After some stormy and rainy days, the sun came out here today.
    Hugs,
    Julia

    Reply

  21. Gerrina
    Jan 14, 2016 @ 19:17:50

    I have got the feeling nature is chainching for the last two years; winter isn’t winter anymore and spring is colfer. One piece of the world getting too much rain and other too less, even as you compare these years with the years before at the same place…
    Even though you used warm -white; it looks more winter! Beautiful with the different textures! Hugs, Gerrina

    Reply

  22. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    Jan 14, 2016 @ 21:24:48

    You had me at the lovely title Lynne!
    And of course what you created is just beautiful.
    May nature whisper softly and sweetly and bring better weather to the UK.
    She can be so beautiful and devastating too in just an instant.
    oxo

    Reply

  23. Shelly Schmidt
    Jan 15, 2016 @ 04:13:28

    Love your Winter wonderland- love the tree stamped on the crinkled and distressed paper. I sure hope the flooding resolves too- we had some of that a month ago in my hometown, but not where I live now. Wonderful : )

    Reply

  24. Paper Profusion
    Jan 15, 2016 @ 19:32:29

    You have very artfully captured a sense of fragile nature here Lynne. Beautifully organic and delicate – I imagine one gust and it will be gone, yet it suggests some sunshine beginning to melt the frost. I hope that you are as well as can be and staying warm. Nicola x

    Reply

  25. Yvonne Whaley
    Jan 15, 2016 @ 22:34:06

    A gorgeous canvas Lynne, it i does look like a winter wonderland.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  26. Florence
    Jan 16, 2016 @ 12:19:51

    Gorgeous! Clever to split the sentiment. Like that lots. Fabulous texture and embellishments.
    Flo xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

