Urban Butterflies (The Stampers’ Sampler)

Hello Everyone
Hearts have been laid aside, for the moment anyway, to share a card collection which I was fortunate to have published in the latest issue of The Stampers’ Sampler.
This collection came about after I made the card below as a DT post for That’s Crafty.
I am splitting this over two blog posts, nevertheless it is still quite photo heavy as I wanted to include detail photographs so you could see the textures on each card.
(The That’s Crafty blog post for this card can be seen HERE.)
fourlynnemoncrieffI’ve been lucky enough to have had a few butterfly cards/artwork published by Stampington but those previous submissions were predominantly pretty, feminine in style.  I had a notion in my head of butterflies fluttering around a waste ground or broken down industrial area where the delicate appearance of the butterfly is in stark constrast to the landscape of concrete, brick and rusting elements.one.1lynnemoncrieffTexture was uppermost in my mind which I wanted to achieve through paint application and also with the aid of Crackle Glaze and Grungepaste.one.2lynnemoncrieffI also wanted to explore inking up Darkroom Door butterflies which I had previously worked with on a card collection published in The Stampers’ Sampler, HERE and HERE.  This time, stamped onto crackled surfaces and rusty wire for antenna.  Isn’t that one of the reasons we love our stamps, for the sheer versatility of them where a stamp can be transformed into so many different styles.
That little area behind the butterfly was one of the areas I was most satisfied with.  Of course, typically, I would not be able to re-create this exact result!  I was so pleased with the outcome, to my eyes, of peeling, flaky paint with the elements taking its toll on the painted wall, revealing the layers of paint beneath.one.3lynnemoncrieffI have to give a nod to Finnabair stamps as they were also a source of inspiration when it came to the textural qualities on the cards.  The stamps allowed me to layer stamped textures and create elements which were embellished “faux” rivets.one.4lynnemoncrieffA leftover piece of the stamped cardstock was layered with some rusty mesh.one.5lynnemoncrieffIn the follow on blog post I will share the other two cards that form this collection.
I always appreciate your visits and if at any time I am away from blogging, I always make sure I catch-up with comments left for me to read.
Wishes
Lynne

26 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julie Lee
    Feb 17, 2016 @ 00:16:40

    Words fail me! Lynne both these cards are amazing! The rusty waste-ground idea one has quite simply ‘blown me away’ – as they say! It’s an absolute triumph! It has captured my imagination and I am in awe! Well done on your well deserved publication! What an inspiration you are! xx

    Reply

  2. Lynn Price
    Feb 17, 2016 @ 01:40:49

    Wow, Lynne – I am breathtaken by the concept of delicate butterflies against industrial textures here, and how wonderfully you have captured that!!! Bravo! I so admire your stamping! xxx Lynn

    Reply

  3. Valerie-Jael
    Feb 17, 2016 @ 05:20:13

    Stunning cards Lynne. Hugs, Valerie

    Reply

  4. Mona Pendleton
    Feb 17, 2016 @ 05:39:42

    Congrats on your publication! So well deserved! Fabulous projects! Love all the texture! Thanks for the inspiration!

    Reply

  5. Annie G
    Feb 17, 2016 @ 08:03:19

    Lots of fabulous textures and details on this industrial creation Lynne 😀

    Wonderful crackles and layering too.
    Love those shabby butterflies amongst the decay. Stunning composition and there’s no surprise it was published

    Tfs and hugs
    Annie x

    Reply

  6. lylacsparkle
    Feb 17, 2016 @ 09:18:35

    Wow Lynne this is so scrummy! I adore the the texture and grungy look to this piece. Love it hugs Debs xxx

    Reply

  7. Yvonne Whaley
    Feb 17, 2016 @ 09:40:16

    Stunning projects Lynne, love the grungy backgrounds and textures.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  8. Jean Franks Beck
    Feb 17, 2016 @ 12:26:56

    Gorgeous, Lynne! I love the shabby chic style of these!

    Reply

  9. Gerrina
    Feb 17, 2016 @ 13:20:09

    So beautiful how the BG looks like old-abbandoned pieces from some workshop or factory! Great creations again! Hugs, Gerrina

    Reply

  10. Joi@RR
    Feb 17, 2016 @ 14:56:32

    Anyone reading The Stamper’s Sampler will truly be as AWED as they can be – LIKE ME!!! What ABSOLUTELY PHENOMENAL works of art these two cards are Lynne. So much to see – the texture, the layers, the colors, the metal, the lace…. just COMPLETELY OVER THE MOON STUNNING – both of them. Wow. Sooo glad these were published and soooo wonderful to see you touching lives through your art. Congratulations. j.

    Reply

  11. Corrie
    Feb 17, 2016 @ 15:15:42

    I love this grungy industrial look Lynne. I already saw them in the Stampers’ Sampler and admired them from up close ! Love everyone of them. The blue and rusty colours go fantastically well together. Well done !
    Corrie x

    Reply

  12. Dorthe
    Feb 17, 2016 @ 15:31:42

    Dear Lynne you know, that these cards ,also for me, are so very stunning.
    The way you managed to create the weathered look of old wood, the rusty, and dirty looks, from these pieces living long outside ,…. and the lovely butterfly `s ,together making beautiful and gorgeous art cards. The mesh ,the stamped rusty pieces and those gorgeous layers of paint ,dirt and rust ,it is so amazing. It is a shame, that results like this, when using our wonderful remedies ,never is to totally repeat !!
    Happy sunshine day here, I hope the same for you !!
    Dorthe, xx

    Reply

  13. Tamara
    Feb 17, 2016 @ 15:56:08

    over the top gorgeous.. the colours.. the textures …the flaking and peeling is lovely. Is that a piece of old screen? It looks like it. I love that! So many stunning details that all blend in such harmony. such beautiful inspiration, talented lady! Thank you for sharing with us!

    Blessings,
    Tamara<3

    Reply

  14. hettiecraft
    Feb 17, 2016 @ 21:48:09

    This is gorgeous Lynne. There seems to be a butterfly theme going on right now!!
    Hugs
    xx

    Reply

  15. sewpaperpaint
    Feb 17, 2016 @ 21:53:34

    Such a gorgeous couple of designs! Love the antiquing you add to all of your work. The design layout is amazing too! ❤

    Reply

  16. CarolS
    Feb 17, 2016 @ 23:20:19

    Gorgeous! I love them both!
    Hugs!

    Reply

  17. coco
    Feb 18, 2016 @ 06:26:29

    I love your faux rivets… and your choice of stamps and paints here again, and your work with them to age perfectly everything is so fabulous, wow.
    The rust and worn effect looks so real, and the butterflies really pop wonderfully…. Adore this new series of amazing cards Lynne.
    Hugs, Coco xx

    Reply

  18. Anne R
    Feb 18, 2016 @ 08:50:47

    Well I think you achieved exactly what you set out to achieve Lynne, the textured backgrounds are beautifully shabby with an almost industrial feel to them and the butterflies are just so delicate atop – stunning work Lynne! I think these are my new favourites of your work… apologise for being missing, hopefully back now….. Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  19. Diana Taylor
    Feb 18, 2016 @ 11:55:00

    Wow, stunning work – I love the grungy, weathered look against the beauty of the butterflies. I know they are butterflies but I love the moth-like feel you’ve given them! One reason I love moths so much is that they are subtle in their beauty and not as vivid and ‘show off’ as butterflies – these are just perfect and remind me of the subtle beauty of moths and the way they can blend into their backgrounds.

    Reply

  20. craftytrog
    Feb 18, 2016 @ 18:04:49

    Wonderful textures and elements Lynne! x

    Reply

  21. Samantha Read
    Feb 19, 2016 @ 13:25:34

    Oh my. This is breathtakingly gorgeous!!! xx

    Reply

  22. Sharon Bruner
    Feb 19, 2016 @ 14:48:31

    You have definitely captured the look you wished to achieve. I can imagine these butterflies flitting around a rusty, vacant metal shop or a salvage full of rusting old cars. The butterflies are beautiful! The butterfly is one of my favorite images…. must check out Darkroom Door and Finnabair……stamping those elements onto the piece and layering, layering, layering just adds that feel of beauty in the midst of decay. Fabulous! Thanks, Lynne. inkybru xx

    Reply

  23. Jackie P Neal
    Feb 20, 2016 @ 12:47:37

    Lynne, These are absolutely stunning!! I just adore the background you spoke of, it looks like part of an old forgotten cupboard! Gorgeous!
    funny that you mentioned the butterflies are the industrial waste;as I have noticed when we leave our camping and stop at the flushing area for the trailers, there are always the most Gorgeous tiny blue and purple butterflies around this waste area! Usually quite a few of them and I am telling you, the colors are so gorgeous and intense that almost don’t seem real! Just had to share this story with you! “)
    Maybe next time we go, I can capture one on film(digital,of course)
    Thank you Lynne, off for the second round!
    hugs,Jackie

    Reply

  24. sharon
    Feb 21, 2016 @ 10:16:57

    Wow just stunning! I love butterfly creations and these are gorgeous Lynne!

    Reply

  25. pearshapedchris
    Feb 21, 2016 @ 18:07:40

    I am ALMOST speechless! The textures and colours here are gorgeous! Hugs, Chrisx

    Reply

  26. Shari T.
    Feb 28, 2016 @ 18:33:37

    LOVE these cards, Lynne!! They are beautiful and grungy and take my breath away! I love all of the different textural elements you’ve used all together, especially those rusty pieces of wire!! Love the wire!! I’ve got to use mine!! 🙂 LOL!! It’s right there–I see it when I’m at the craft table!! LOL 🙂 🙂 Congrats on this feature in The Stamper’s Sampler and I’m going straight into your next posting with the rest of this AWESOME collection!! 🙂 🙂 XOXO-Shari

    Reply

Leave a Reply

