Listen To The Trees

Hello Everyone
Nature was never really a theme I indulged in but it’s one I am becoming more comfortable with especially as I now have so many beautiful nature stamps including a lovely set of stamps I received from Darkroom Door to play with, Darkroom Door Gum Trees.  It’s certainly long overdue that I share a Darkroom Door sample with you.
On this card, although I did not stamp any snowflakes or winter related imagery, I wanted to convey a wintry day, with the sense of snowflakes blowing through the wind and a low winter sun casting a golden glow.DDonelynnemoncrieffYou might just be able to make out the white splatters which brought to mind a snowstorm.DDtwolynnemoncrieffInitially I planned on tearing up this panel, to re-ink the stamp and stamp onto a different surface as the ink has almost pooled, even though I did work with Staz-on.  After a few days I happened to return to the panel and decided that I would go with the flow.  I remember feeling the same way about a post I shared in December which also featured stamping onto mop-up paper.DDthreelynnemoncrieffI am always happiest when I can putter around with little pieces of this and that, finding a home for them on whatever it is that I am working on.  There is something therapeutic in this.
detailthreelynnemoncrieffA gathering of crochet lace and button, with threads happily trailing.DDfivelynnemoncrieffIf you are a fan of Darkroom Door stamps then you might like to know that they have a Facebook page and also a Group
Many thanks for your visit today.
Wishes
Lynne

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sharon Bruner
    Feb 23, 2016 @ 01:00:38

    The white in the background does make one think of snowflakes blowing in. What a nice tree! I love the little bits and pieces that you add to your pieces. The putty (?) at the top and the button and pieces at the bottom give such a homey feel to the pieces. It’s a combination of the cold, windy outside and a feeling of being snug and warm inside. Thank you for sharing, Lynne. sharon xx

    Reply

  2. Julia - Vintage with Laces
    Feb 23, 2016 @ 07:43:14

    I love a nature theme, especially when it is presented so tastefully, dear Lynne. The card is just beautiful.

    Reply

  3. annie g
    Feb 23, 2016 @ 12:09:20

    a beautiful textured background Lynne and the tree looks amazing against it. Love the fragment pieces too………..very natural.

    TFS and best wishes
    Annie xx

    Reply

  4. Gerrina
    Feb 23, 2016 @ 12:28:49

    What a great golden day you made here! (You would almost forget the blowing snow). A dreamy-realistic piece!
    Here we don’t have those days this year; seems there is only rain this year… But I am so pleased with every hour of sun… Hugs, Gerrina

    Reply

  5. Jackie P Neal
    Feb 23, 2016 @ 12:56:40

    The simplicity of this piece speaks to me Lynne. stunning piece and lovely phrase for it!
    hugs,Jackie

    Reply

  6. Rita
    Feb 23, 2016 @ 14:46:06

    Lynne, you always make such interesting cards and every one of them is so unique. I do love the textures and colours of this one. I trust you are well. Hugs Rita xxxx

    Reply

  7. Dorthe
    Feb 23, 2016 @ 15:43:10

    Lynne, that`s what I love about this piece, that the ink almost pooled, it makes the tree crown look alive, and not flat as stamps often do. I get the feeling of being able to put my hand into this soft looking foliage, and as the signs step out of the foliage from within. A beautiful effect for me to see.
    The golden background so wonderfully textured too, and the bark piece and collection of lace , thread and button are beautiful ads !!!
    Such a gorgeous piece, dear Lynne.
    Dorthe, xxxx

    Reply

  8. sewpaperpaint
    Feb 23, 2016 @ 16:26:56

    I so love this rich earthy project, Lynne! Great texture and design!

    Reply

  9. Paper Profusion
    Feb 23, 2016 @ 17:33:57

    This looks fabulously organic and textured Lynne – I suspect it is like wood to touch. Nicola x

    Reply

  10. Yvonne Whaley
    Feb 23, 2016 @ 21:08:49

    As always your details bring the piece to life, it looks fantastic.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  11. Julie Lee
    Feb 24, 2016 @ 00:01:53

    Such wonderful texture, Lynne. I read Dorthe’s comment and I so agree with her. Your stamping is so special. You really do make stamped images live and your eye for detail is second to none. xx

    Reply

  12. corrinegilman
    Feb 24, 2016 @ 15:13:16

    Most lovely textures. xox

    Reply

  13. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    Feb 24, 2016 @ 20:19:33

    Beautiful card you created Lynne!
    I Love the glow and serenity it has inviting us to to pause and listen.
    If trees could talk…imagine the stories they would tell.
    You are the Queen of lovely details ♥
    oxo

    Reply

  14. sharon
    Feb 25, 2016 @ 00:03:35

    Oh wow great creation – love all the yummy texture and great colour scheme!!

    Reply

  15. Anne R
    Feb 25, 2016 @ 12:44:50

    The background is particularly beautiful and shows the tree off really well and the corner elements really draw the eye in. A really gorgeous creation! Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  16. craftytrog
    Feb 27, 2016 @ 21:15:05

    Wonderful!!! xx

    Reply

  17. pearshapedchris
    Feb 28, 2016 @ 15:17:22

    This is such a wonderful portrayal of a Winters day! Hopefully that sun will soon be higher in the sky! Hugs, Chrisx

    Reply

  18. Laura Turner
    Feb 28, 2016 @ 18:05:11

    Such an enchanting piece, Lynne!

    Reply

  19. Avril
    Mar 04, 2016 @ 14:10:32

    A lovely panel full of background texture which is perfect for the winter tree.
    Avril xx

    Reply

  20. coco
    Apr 03, 2016 @ 20:29:30

    Ooh, I’m in late on your blog Lynne, I’ve just seen that I didn’t leave you any comment on this card… Simply gorgeous!!! I well remember seeing it on FB though..
    Love this tree, the wonderful natural and realistic colours and little bits you have added, awesome work as usual! xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

