Be As A Bird Who Sings (The Stampers’ Sampler)

Hello Everyone
When The Stampers’ Sampler announced a challenge call, For The Birds, I was eager to submit because I have quite a few beautiful bird themed stamps and an idea in my head!  I wanted to continue with the style of this panel which was a DT post for That’s Crafty, but this time to ink up some beautiful Redlead Paperworks bird themed stamps.  On completion, I submitted a trio of panels to the challenge call and obviously I was more than happy (under-statement!) to see them in print.
Redlead Paperworks stamps:-
Bird Defined
She Sings
Be As A Bird Who Sings
As much as I like nature themed art with a delicate appearance, I have found myself to be more and more interested in setting birds, butterflies, etc against a more urban, industrial background.  For this panel (and the other two), the style allowed me to work with some favoured colours and items such as rusty wire and the stunning That’s Crafty Dinky Stencils and using one of their Alterable Surfaces as a substrate.
shesingsonelynnemoncrieffThis wee birdie is one of my all time favourite bird stamps.  She might well be a lucky mascot as I’ve previously had artwork published which featured her!
This photograph shows that I used the Dinky Stencils (the bricks happen to be amongst my absolute favourite Dinky Stencil designs), in some areas with ink but predominantly with Grungepaste.  Rusty wire, which I formed into coils add to the sense of urban decay, of broken down areas where metal railings and all manner of metal work has rusted through years of neglect.
shesingstwolynnemoncrieffThe background, beyond the use of the stencil, has layers of Frescos to hopefully heighten that sense of decay, of crumbling masonry, of buildings worn by time, weather and neglect.  Although amongst this neglect, the birds continue to sing their song.  It was during working on this panel that I pondered on the fact that amongst neglect, there is hope and on a different level, if there is despair, hope can arise, keeping a song in our hearts and knowing that we can all find our wings.
shesingsthreelynnemoncrieffThe That’s Crafty Alterable Surface will take all manner of abuse.  I applied many layers of paint, Gesso, dissolved walnut ink crystals, so much water and heat and also the Grungepaste and yet the panel did not buckle.  This is the link to the Dinky Stencils.
shesingsfivelynnemoncrieffI am repeating myself (!) but I have to say again, Redlead have some of the very best bird related stamps and so many beautiful sentiment stamps (and stencils) relating to birds.
A piece of wood, painted and stamped brought another textural element to the panel and also ties in with the theme of birdsong.shesingssixlynnemoncrieffI am incredibly lucky to receive so many fabulous products so that I can go off and play around with them and in turn, submit, just never knowing if Stampington will like what they see and publish it.
Another time I will share the third and final panel.
Many thanks for your visit, always appreciated by me and even if it is a time when I might not be so active on-line, I always make sure I read any comments so Thank You.
Wishes
Lynne

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn Price
    Feb 26, 2016 @ 00:57:18

    Oh, Lynne – What a remarkable piece! Your dear little bird is fantastic – reminds me of all the birds at my feeders this time of year, and your use of texture and color, as usual, astound!! Thank you again for such wonderful inspiration – not only for my art but for being mindful about what I have about me in the everyday! xxx Lynn

    Reply

  2. Renee Zarate
    Feb 26, 2016 @ 01:17:38

    What a lovely piece! I got my water crayons out and tried to simulate those colours, not as easy as it looks. You are a master. Hugs.

    Reply

  3. Julia - Vintage with Laces
    Feb 26, 2016 @ 07:12:44

    This bird panel is fabulous, Lynne! Congratulations on the publication! I absolutely LOVE the brick background and the rusty wire.

    Reply

  4. Dorthe
    Feb 26, 2016 @ 09:45:46

    This is fabulous dear friend, it truly shows there is beauty all over, also in places one would not await finding it. Your words are so touching Lynne, and this art piece, speaks so much to my heart. The bricks and rust showing, all alterations, can be of a beauty ,higher that the newest painted wall!!
    The layers are wonderful, color tones so lovely, and the bird also one of my favorites !! Congratulations my dear friend. xxx

    Reply

  5. Godelieve
    Feb 26, 2016 @ 12:23:31

    How pretty Lynne! Congratulations!

    Reply

  6. Sue F
    Feb 26, 2016 @ 12:24:56

    I love the background on this. It definitely looks like a broken wall and has an almost 3D quality to it.

    Reply

  7. Sharon Bruner
    Feb 26, 2016 @ 12:52:18

    What a fantastic piece! I, too, love Red Lead’s array of bird stamps and have several of the myself. This sweet little wren (?) just give one hope, doesn’t she? 🙂
    I love that you have put her in a decaying atmosphere and yet she sings. Such an inspiration to us when all about us seems to be falling apart. The bricks look stunning with that white grunge paste. What a clever idea to coil that rusty wire! You have used the perfect colors to simulate crumbling masonry and buildings that have seen better days. The over-all picture is powerful. Another stunning inspiration for us! Thank you again for sharing! inkybru xx

    Reply

  8. Julie Lee
    Feb 26, 2016 @ 17:15:29

    I really love that quote! I like your birds and butterflies in urban settings too. This is such a great opportunity for texture, contrast and thought provoking images. They remind me of a photography exhibition of wildlife images I once visited in which birds were shown nesting among the rusting cars on a massive old car dump. The rich colours of the rust, the urban surroundings and the delicacy of the birds’ wings and tiny fragile bodies amongst all our man-made decay made for an incredible and powerful picture. Lovely work from you as always, Lynne. xx

    Reply

  9. Yvonne Whaley
    Feb 26, 2016 @ 19:39:03

    Stunning piece Lynne, the stamps are lovely you have detailed them beautifully here.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  10. craftytrog
    Feb 27, 2016 @ 10:58:46

    I love the rusty urban look of this beautiful piece Lynne! Wonderful images too.
    Alison xx

    Reply

  11. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    Feb 27, 2016 @ 13:40:39

    Your brick wall background is a great backdrop for your beautiful bird.
    The coloring of this piece is so pleasing too.
    The wooden oval piece at the bottom anchors the piece beautifully as well.
    Lovely Lovely creativity always dear Lynne.
    oxo

    Reply

  12. paper profusion
    Feb 27, 2016 @ 14:59:10

    Not at all surprised with how much Stampington love your artworks Lynne. This is yet another beauty. Love the rich rusty hues. Nicola x

    Reply

  13. pearshapedchris
    Feb 28, 2016 @ 15:24:58

    Oh Lynne! What to say about this fabulous panel? This is stunning – your bird, away from her tree, but with the knowledge that it is only a temporary situation is so beautiful! Hugs, Chrisx

    Reply

  14. Samantha Read
    Feb 29, 2016 @ 12:19:37

    Oh my. This is so beautiful Lynne. It’s left me speechless! xx

    Reply

  15. Autumn
    Feb 29, 2016 @ 20:28:33

    Oh I just love this! One of my favorites yet!

    Reply

  16. Jackie PN
    Mar 02, 2016 @ 23:52:05

    Outstanding Lynne! You absolutely have nailed the urban/industrial look as well as the organic look and feel! So gorgeous and the birds,I believe are a favorite of mine as well! Thank you so much for your continued inspiration!
    huge hugs,Jackie xx

    Reply

  17. Jackie P Neal
    Mar 03, 2016 @ 00:16:09

    Well I am back again! I my first post shows up, just know I am not mad, just love your art! hehee
    The urban or industrial look you were going for, well, you nailed it perfectly! Not only is both of those,but beautifully organic as well! I love this series as I too am a bird lover and you have just rocked that look you were shooting for!
    Beautiful Lynne!!
    hugs,
    Jackie xx

    Reply

  18. Avril
    Mar 04, 2016 @ 14:25:49

    Congratulations on the publication Lynne. You’ve achieved such an amazing effect with the brick wall and that sweet little bird doesn’t seem to mind the decay – she’s still happy to sing her song.
    Avril xx

    Reply

  19. coco
    Apr 03, 2016 @ 20:36:28

    Totally gorgeous and delightful panel with this bird that I love so much.. (I will buy it one day I promise, as soon as I can place a big order in one step because of their high postage costs towards France).
    So happy that you’ve got this exquisite arty piece published! Hugs, Coco xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

