Women of Strength (Somerset Studio Gallery)

Hello Everyone
Back in December this canvas was published in Somerset Studio Gallery’s Winter issue. This, if my memory serves me well, I actually submitted to The Stampers’ Sampler, quite a wee while ago, certainly not last year or the year before that!  So, last December, there I was looking at Somerset Studio Gallery, knowing I had an article and Spotlight, etc etc and as I turn a page my eye catches a canvas I created for Redlead Paperworks.  Then my eye travels above the canvas and I see a piece of art and I say to myself that it looks similar to one I made some time ago.  It was mine!!!! I actually had to do a double-take LOL.
This hanging canvas was actually titled Women of Strength and with today being International Women’s Day I thought it apt to pause and give thought to women of strength, past and present, whether women in history who helped pave the way for a brighter future for all women or women in our own lives, our mothers, sisters, friends, Aunts, etc.onelynnemoncrieffAll the stamps on this canvas are from The Stampsmith which I received when I was on their DT but which became much loved by me, in fact it wasn’t so long ago that a stamp from this collection made an appearance HERE.
onetaglynnemoncrieffThe tags are the focal on this canvas, all stained with fruit tea with just a hint of paint scrubbed onto the tags, here and there.tagtwolynnemoncrieffThe trimmings were also stained with tea.  I suppose this hanging canvas perfectly displays the way I love to incorporate textures, as the actual canvas had texture paste applied and also how I love to gather fragments and find a home for them on a project.  Some of the items I gathered:- a dried and faded petal from a hydrangea (one of my favourite flowers) and I see a scrap of gold embossed paper peeking from the side and no doubt I cut into a piece of lace to adorn her head.
tag3lynnemoncrieffThis is also to celebrate you because I know, from the personal stories you share, that you are all Women of Strength!
Wishes
Lynne

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julie Lee
    Mar 08, 2016 @ 23:09:18

    Your work always has such amazing attention to detail, Lynne. This is a beautiful celebration of International Women’s Day. I love the scraps of lace; the seam binding and the wonderful images of strong, beautiful women. We have so much to thank so many women for. Our female forebears’ imagination, selflessness, spirituality, determination and love of justice and freedom paved the way for a better world. This lovely piece of work reminds us of that, xx

    Reply

  2. Annie G
    Mar 09, 2016 @ 01:20:52

    Very inspirational and totally apt for International Womens Day Lynne.
    Love those beautiful stamps from S’mith you have showcased them perfectly. Congratulations on being published and huge hugs to all women too

    Annie xx

    Reply

  3. Gerrina
    Mar 09, 2016 @ 09:30:46

    A perfect piece for Womans day! Love the lace you used! (Love lace, but never seem to manage to use it on my makes…) Hugs, Gerrina

    Reply

  4. Hazel H
    Mar 09, 2016 @ 10:25:43

    Stunning work.
    xxx Hazel.

    Reply

  5. coco
    Mar 09, 2016 @ 10:37:57

    Oh wow Lynne!!!!
    This is an exquisite canvas, full of strength indeed and all these little pieces of lace, ribbon, bits and bobs you love so much and integrate so well are all gathered to create this beauty.
    Wonderful work, and huge congratulations for the double-take! Hugs, Coco Xx

    Reply

  6. Dorthe
    Mar 09, 2016 @ 16:49:00

    Lynne, dear , thank you, you truly, are one of all the strong women surrounding me/us, -and the ones whom put their mark, on our lives, in so many ways.
    Your canvas is one of your pieces I so love, both because of it`s old time feeling, the SHAKESPEARE’S Women stamps , so lovely tones of colors, and your always sweetest adds, of bits and pieces, all so stunning together.
    It is a wonderful way of honouring all the strong and unselfish women, also in our own time, to post this gorgeous art piece, yesterday !!
    Thank you for showing dear friend.
    Dorthe xx

    Reply

  7. Yvonne Whaley
    Mar 09, 2016 @ 22:39:27

    A gorgeous project to share with us today.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  8. Sharon Bruner
    Mar 10, 2016 @ 00:06:52

    Such beautiful work! I love the muted tones of the fruit tea and those ribbons and lace. The hydrangea petal is a very sweet touch! I adore your work and I’m always so inspired by it. Love the way you were surprised by the publications!!! It is amazing how long they hold some works of art. So glad they published this piece for you! Cheers! inkybru xx

    Reply

  9. Valerie-Jael
    Mar 10, 2016 @ 06:38:45

    Wonderful nd atmospheric project, love the effects. Hugs, Valerie

    Reply

  10. Diana Taylor
    Mar 10, 2016 @ 09:34:40

    Totally beautiful and so perfect for International Women’s Day. Your attention to detail is exquisite, and I love the little pieces of lace, the petal and pearl pins just adding that touch of perfection.

    Reply

  11. sharon
    Mar 10, 2016 @ 10:12:02

    Oh wow beautiful and stunning!!

    Reply

  12. Jackie P Neal
    Mar 10, 2016 @ 13:21:16

    Absolutely ,positively stunningly beautiful! Now, did I say I love this piece?!! “)
    Truly Lynne, this is up there with my favorites of yours! Such a beautiful tribute to women! Do you have this or does Stamping? If you do, I love to purchase it for my studio! hugs,Jackie

    Reply

  13. Samantha Read
    Mar 11, 2016 @ 12:31:29

    These have left me speechless. SO GORGEOUS!!
    Poppy and I wish you a lovely weekend. Big hugs xx

    Reply

  14. Sue F
    Mar 11, 2016 @ 15:07:11

    I love your take on a triptych and the images and colours are beautifully subtle.

    Reply

  15. craftytrog
    Mar 12, 2016 @ 10:51:52

    Beautiful Lynne! A wonderful tribute to strong women everywhere, including yourself! xxx

    Reply

  16. Shari T.
    Mar 13, 2016 @ 17:17:14

    Oh, such a lovely and beautiful canvas, Lynne! And what a funny story about you almost not recognizing this piece–you must have sent this in more than a ‘wee’ while ago😉🙂 But what a nice surprise to see it in the pages of Somerset Studio, right?!🙂🙂 Just a fabulous creation with your signature style of pretty laces, ribbons and those touches of embellies in the ladies hair…Mahvelous Dahling!! Happy Weekend to you my Friend!! XOXO-Shari

    Reply

  17. sewpaperpaint
    Mar 13, 2016 @ 18:05:37

    Such a gorgeous way to use these amazing lady stamps! Absolutely stunning!

    Reply

  18. Marjie Kemper
    Mar 14, 2016 @ 18:08:07

    Beautiful work, Lynne, as always! I had to smile at the process of recognizing the older piece in the article… so funny!

    Reply

  19. valorydegree
    Mar 15, 2016 @ 20:12:28

    This is a sweet tribute to strong women who came before us; the middle one reminds me of Joan of Arc, and having just finished The Personal Recollections of Joan of Arc by Mark Twain, I’m feeling deeply moved by her life and work.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

