Sisters of Laguna Beach Part I (Somerset Studio)

Hello Everyone
Regular visitors will probably know by now that I like to submit to Stampington & Co. Somerset Studio was actually one of the first publications I submitted to (alongside The Stampers’ Sampler and Take Ten).  They have an Annual Colour Challenge Call and I was really keen to submit when they announced their colour for what would be their Jan/Feb 2016 issue.  It wasn’t because the colour was one I liked to work with, probably quite the opposite which is why I liked the challenge of dipping into …. Laguna Teal …. yikes, Teal!!! So utterly outwith my comfort zone but I decided not to take the easy way out especially as I almost immediately knew what I wanted to submit, a 3D assemblage style piece featuring Tando rowing boats as I had the perfect Redlead Paperworks collage images and stamps with a beachy theme.
This was one of those times when I could have happily created more and more! In total four rowing boat assemblages were submitted, one of which was a stand-alone (HERE) with the others a trio relating to the Sisters of Laguna Beach. I am limiting this post to only one of the assemblages otherwise it would be too photo-heavy.
There is a wee tale to go with the artwork, this is Sisters of Laguna Beach Part I.

Let me introduce you to the sisters of Laguna Beach.  Beloved mermaids of the ocean they dip and dive amongst the waves, in fact many say that they live beneath the ocean,  although deep in their hearts they know this is a fanciful notion.  However, where is the harm in a fanciful notion or two, so they are happy to play along with the yarns that everyone is eager to tell,  whispers that the sisters were all born with webbed feet and skin that would shimmer in the colours of the deep blue ocean.  Let me share a little secret with you….. those girls are mere mortals just like the rest of us. sstudiolynnemoncrieffoneWe have Maude, the baby of the family who is always to be found by the side of the sister next to her in age, Isabella, known to one and all as Issy.  You could set your watch by the time that they set off on their daily walk along by the sea with Maudesstudiolynnemoncriefftwograsping Issy around the waist, as though they were mermaids joined at the hip.
At the beach,threeif, during their stroll, their feet are ever to become trapped amongst the fishing nets cast aside by the local fishermen, they simply fall down onto the sand, peals of laughter escaping from them as they disentangle themselves.
As they continue sstudiolynnemoncriefffourtheir walkeightalong the sea,fivethey are dusted with a light coating of sand with starfish nestled between their toes but for Maude and Issy, they have not a care in the world as they walk  beside their beloved ocean.sixAnother day I will introduce to you to Cybil.
When I mailed this and the other submissions, my dream was that if even one of the assemblages caught their eye at the Somerset Studio offices during their art selection, then I would be so, so happy but to have all four submissions printed, it was beyond wonderful!  I also have to thank the lovely Chris and Sharon who are Redlead Paperworks because I am just so lucky to have their products to play with.
I haven’t been able to spend as much time on-line recently which means I haven’t been able to visit your blogs.  Here’s hoping normal service will be resumed shortly!  Hope you are all well and finding enough creative time in your lives.  Thank You always for visits, comments both here and on Facebook.
Wishes
Lynne

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sue F
    Mar 22, 2016 @ 15:09:54

    This is full of summer fun and nostalgia. The teal really shows off all the detail and the story you’ve created is wonderful.

    Reply

  2. Debbie Kaste
    Mar 22, 2016 @ 15:31:08

    Oh Lynne! LOVE this. So adorable. Congrats to having it published. Well deserving!!!

    Reply

  3. craftytrog
    Mar 22, 2016 @ 17:14:02

    Such a wonderful tale for this beautiful assemblage! Congratulations Lynne! xx

    Reply

  4. Renee Zarate
    Mar 22, 2016 @ 19:00:13

    Dear Lynne, I loved your assemblages published in the SS issue! Your story made them even more intriguing. I was raised near Laguna Beach and we went there often as children. How I would’ve loved that tale as a child, I would’ve always been looking for those girls. You made me smile today! Huge Congrats!!

    Reply

  5. Autumn
    Mar 22, 2016 @ 20:29:13

    This is such a beauty! Oh makes me long for summer…

    Reply

  6. Florence
    Mar 22, 2016 @ 20:32:52

    Beautiful x

    Reply

  7. Anne R
    Mar 22, 2016 @ 20:44:48

    How wonderful to have all four published – congratulations, although I am not really surprised! Well done on using the teal too, it looks fantastic on the boat and I just love the back story too! Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  8. Fliss
    Mar 22, 2016 @ 21:40:25

    Just gorgeous Lynne. Love the colours and crackle texture on the boat.
    Fliss xx

    Reply

  9. Yvonne Whaley
    Mar 22, 2016 @ 22:16:34

    A fantastic project Lynne and I loved the story that helped to bring the sisters to life.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  10. Christine Smith
    Mar 23, 2016 @ 00:00:29

    Ooh a beautiful project and a wonderful story to go with it! Congratulations on having all four published – I can see why! Loved this post! xxx

    Reply

  11. coco
    Mar 23, 2016 @ 08:09:41

    This is a delight Lynne!!!!
    Giving me the strong desire to go to the beach to try to glimpse Maude and Isabella… I will have to wait a little bit since we are just at the beginning of Spring!😀
    Glad to hear that all of your 4 different boats have been published Lynne, well done to you.
    Have a lovely day, hugs Coco xx

    Reply

  12. lucy Edmondson
    Mar 23, 2016 @ 09:18:37

    This is adorable, Lynne! I would love to see the others and I’m sure everybody would. You are so talented and you write so beautifully too,

    Lucy x

    Reply

  13. Dorthe
    Mar 23, 2016 @ 09:34:33

    My dearest Lynne, from where do you get all these wonderful fairy tales, coming from your mind,lol- I love them , and this is so sweet and fun, too. Congratulations lovely friend, I just received the magazine and saw your beauties, in it. Haven`t had time to really read, or to write you, but they are so gorgeous all. The teal just Immediately makes me wish for warmth now, as the feeling of beach is so strong, and the sweet girls dipping their toes in the sand, saying hello to the starfish and having fun, in the sun, so speaking of summer.
    I hope you are fine Lynne.
    xxx

    Reply

  14. annie g
    Mar 23, 2016 @ 09:51:27

    this is a wonderful post Lynne and having seen them in the magazine I am so proud to have you as a crafty friend xx Wonderful project full of fabulous colours and details…………..huge congratulations

    Hugs Annie xx

    Reply

  15. Julie Lee
    Mar 23, 2016 @ 10:09:09

    Such beautiful work, Lynne, accompanied by such beautiful writing. I’m fortunate enough to own this copy of the magazine with your wonderful artwork in it. Fabulous texture; use of colour and perfect images and text! A joy!xx

    Reply

  16. Samantha Read
    Mar 23, 2016 @ 12:22:07

    So sweet and I love their story so far!
    Sending hugs xx

    Reply

  17. Shari T.
    Mar 23, 2016 @ 16:05:01

    Oh Lynne!!! I LOVE LOVE LOVE Issy & Maude!! And look at them go–walking along the shores of Laguna Beach!! A very hoity toity area of Southern California is where Laguna Beach & Stampington are located!! LOL🙂🙂 Was that planned?😉🙂 LOL!! I just love this little row boat assemblage and I can’t wait to meet Cybil and read about their further adventures along the seaside in Laguna!! Just Fabulous, Lynne!! XOXO-Shari

    Reply

  18. paper profusion
    Mar 23, 2016 @ 18:09:18

    I’m sure the 4 together are quite a showstopper Lynne. Gorgeous creation and congratulations as always. Nicola x

    Reply

  19. Gerrina
    Mar 24, 2016 @ 09:39:27

    Love that teal-blue with all the little “used-marks” on it! A great piece again! Hugs, Gerrina

    Reply

  20. Sharon Bruner
    Mar 24, 2016 @ 13:53:58

    I love row boats! One of my favorite paintings is Van Gogh’s boats by the sea….. not quite the same of yours here, but a favorite. What a wonderful idea to make a collection for the Laguna Beach Sisters. I visited there when my first grandson was born. It is a beautiful place and I can just imagine Issy and Maude delighting in such surroundings against that beautiful blue Pacific coast. You always seem to put just the right amount of embellishment around your main image to create such a story. Not only do we see the aging on the boat the items lying at their feet of their “found” items. Lovely! Thanks so much for sharing, Lynne. inkybru xx

    Reply

  21. Lynn Price
    Mar 24, 2016 @ 21:54:37

    Delightful, Lynne – love the surfboard feel to this, and that color – wow!! Very fun, and makes me long for summer! xxx Lynn

    Reply

  22. Jackie P Neal
    Apr 06, 2016 @ 11:45:51

    Dear Lynne,
    Please stop when you can and no apologies needed! life happens for all of us! (somewhat busier these days for some reason!)
    Oh I do love these girls and all of their happiness! What a delightful piece and I am looking forward to the others!
    hugs,Jackie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

