Introducing Gigi

Hello Everyone
Since I started my Blog, I have been incredibly lucky to have found myself on DTs for stamp companies whose stamps were already in my stamp collection.   At the turn of the year, by complete surprise and the loveliest of ways to kick off a brand new year, Catherine Moore invited me on her Character Constructions DT.  Little did I know, when I started my Blog and the first ever post featured Catherine’s stamps, that one day I would be on her DT.
Catherine’s latest collection is the fabulous Paris Flea, see HERE. If Character Constructions is a name that is new to you, a visit to her site is worthwhile.  You can study her vast catalogue of collections and quite simply, drool over her designs!
Catherine’s designs are predominantly elements to create paper dolls BUT that is only some of the story because they don’t have to be paper dolls, they could be cards, tags, canvas, altered art, assemblages, anything you desire.  She also has beautiful nature themed stamps which I will share with you very soon. I hope over time that I can show the diversity of her designs but for her latest release, I wanted to simply have fun creating a paper doll.
On Facebook, I’ve been asked of U.K. stockists of Character Constructions stamps.   At the moment, the Paris Flea collection (and I believe all Character Constructions stamps) are not available in the U.K.  You can contact Catherine Moore HERE if you have any queries.  Also, Laura Holland from That’s Crafty has in the past sold them (at the time of drafting, she only has one CC stamp set for sale), so she would be another possible line of enquiry.
Character Constructions is also on Facebook as is Catherine Moore, so again, contact could be made there.  You can also find Character Constructions on Pinterest. 

Let me introduce Gigi!CC1Gigi is very much an individual with her cropped hairP1130028and a fresh flower pinned to her beret, she cuts a dash wherever she goes, alwaysCC2.1embracing a unique sense of style, oftentimes vintage.  She has a penchant for crinolines, pairing them with leggings and bold pieces of jewellery and of course hats.
This girl sure does have an eye when it comes to seeking out something ever so special at the Paris Flea markets and has developed a wonderful rapport with the vendors.CC3It was one such vendor, who thought of Gigi when she stumbled across a beautiful heart pendant during the clearance of a Chateau along with a box brimming with the most exquisite lace.  The following morning, she knew Gigi would pay her usual visit to the market and in anticipation, the vendor carefully wrapped the discoveries in tissue paper, tucking them beneath her stall, ensuring the finds would not catch anyone’s eye.
Here comes Gigi!  Bringing the package from outwith its hiding place, Gigi’s eyes widen with delight as the vendor, gently peels away the layers of tissue paper, the early morning sunlight dancing off the rhinestones.  What a wonderful morning this was turning out to be!
Normally Gigi would continue to stroll around, taking time to pause at the other stalls but with the items carefully wrapped up once more in a froth of tissue paper,  Gigi rushes home, butterflies dancing in her tummy at the anticipation of wearing the necklace.   For many, such a piece of jewellery would only be worn after dusk but not this girl.   Securing the necklace around her neck and then taking a length of the delicate lace, wrapping it around her tiny waist, she twirls around her apartment with the sheer thrill of it all.  
Oh, all this excitement has left her quite out of puff!  Hearing the clock chime one o’clock, Gigi rushes to her vintage bureau seeking her favourite fountain pen, another gem of a find at a flea market.  With pen in hand and a single sheet of the prettiest writing paper, Gigi begins to pen a letter of gratitude to her favourite vendor.
Clasping the note,CC4she sets out to hand-deliver the letter before the vendor packs away her stall for the day.
Knowing time is against her,CC7she reaches for a pair of ballet flats as they will be kinder to her feet as she rushes along the cobbles.CC5To give you an idea of the height of this paper doll, she stands at just under 11 inches.
Many thanks for your visit, I hope you enjoyed this post!
Also, to thank Catherine Moore for her beautifully designed stamps.
Have a great week.
Wishes
Lynne

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. annie g
    Mar 28, 2016 @ 09:44:55

    I so love Gigi and her wonderful individuality, which as you say can be created with Catherine Moore’s stamps. As always I enjoyed the short story too x
    Your art doll is beautifully pieced together and tres chic xx

    Have a great week
    Annie xx

    Reply

  2. Lesley
    Mar 28, 2016 @ 12:03:51

    Oh Gigi is a delight Lynne as is your little story! I love the clever way you have created her and woven the story around her development. I must go and look at those stamps!

    Hugs
    Lesley Xx

    Reply

  3. Sharon Bruner
    Mar 28, 2016 @ 13:44:30

    I love, love, love your stories! Gigi is a delight! I have ordered one of these Paris flea dolls and one set of accessories and can’t wait to have them in my hands! Your doll is exquisite! Love the rhinestone necklace and darling beret. Your signature touch of lace really puts Gigi into that vintage style. the leggings and the ballet flats are too precious! Catherine Moore is so talented and a very gracious lady……..I echo Lynne’s comment: If you’re not familiar with her and her stamps, please visit her site or her FB page. You’ll not regret it! Cheers! inkybru xx

    Reply

  4. coco
    Mar 28, 2016 @ 15:33:44

    Hi Lynne, I love your French Gigi!!! This was the surname of my mum (her first name is ‘Gilberte’…). You have imagined a wonderful story about her, and made a fabulous use of little embellishments like the rhinestones, wow!!!🙂
    I wish you a Happy Easter a bit late my dear Lynne, hope you have better weather than here in France, it’s storm!!!… Hugs, Coco xx

    Reply

  5. Dorthe
    Mar 28, 2016 @ 16:55:14

    Dear Lynne, I just have to smile seeing sweet and special Gigi, and reading her wonderful story of the day, at the market. What a day to have, being gifted so amazingly.
    She looks so great in her leggings and the crinoline , and the beret hanging on her one side, head, with the flower of the day, is lovely.
    She is taller that I thought , -wonderful stamps from Catherine Moore , and you create magic stories, with them. The details with lace are so sweet, and I see now, the crinoline is with little pink flowers, looking so adorable. The necklace is a piece of delight and glory days .

    Love your Gigi, dear friend.
    Dorthe, xxxxx

    Reply

  6. pearshapedchris
    Mar 28, 2016 @ 18:56:14

    Oh Lynne! Gigi is beautiful – I shall look out for her when I go to Paris next week! I love the story and her fabulous outfit! Hugs, Chrisx

    Reply

  7. Corrie
    Mar 28, 2016 @ 20:21:08

    Gigi is gorgeous and so beautiful ! Love all your work Lynne! I just have to keep on telling you ! :o)
    Corrie xx

    Reply

  8. Julie Lee
    Mar 28, 2016 @ 21:17:36

    What a gorgeous creation! I feel that I know Gigi now that I’ve read your little pen portrait and everything about her exudes character and individuality! Lynne your work is always so uplifting because you bring imagination and ingenuity and a very special panache to everything you do! Catherine must be delighted to have you on her DT. xx

    Reply

  9. Anne R
    Mar 28, 2016 @ 22:22:58

    Thank you for making me smile, I loved your story and Gigi is an absolute delight, her necklace is quite stunning too! I agree with Julie, above, Catherine must be delighted to have you on her DT, quite rightly so! Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  10. Gerrina
    Mar 28, 2016 @ 23:29:19

    Love the haert-dress of this ladie you created; she makes me smile! Hope you had a good Easterweekend!

    Reply

  11. Lynn Price
    Mar 29, 2016 @ 02:27:53

    Oh, I do love a good story, and that is what I find here, along with a wonderful make!! Just what I needed this evening, Lynne!! Thank you for your wonderful imagination – I am always renewed and refreshed by your beautiful work!! xxx Lynn

    Reply

  12. Samantha Read
    Mar 29, 2016 @ 16:33:52

    Loving Gigi’s style🙂
    Hugs from Poppy and me xx

    Reply

  13. sewpaperpaint
    Mar 30, 2016 @ 16:16:43

    She is truly exquisite, Lynne! Love her!

    Reply

  14. sewpaperpaint
    Mar 30, 2016 @ 16:17:41

    Oh hey, wanted to say big congrats on your gorgeous feather projects in the latest Stampers Sampler. I am so honored to be published with you! You have really encouraged me to submit more. So happy to see my bird cards in print. Hugs, Autumn

    Reply

  15. sharon
    Mar 30, 2016 @ 23:25:54

    Oh this is fantastic Lynne!!!!!

    Reply

  16. Shari T.
    Mar 31, 2016 @ 00:51:37

    Totally LOVE Gigi, Lynne!! I was enthralled with your story telling and smiling at the scenes that played out in my mind’s eye–actually seeing Gigi flitting about and seeing her excitement over her lovely rhinestone necklace! 🙂🙂 This is such a fun creation and your tiniest touches of loveliness–the little bloom in her beret, her darling little pen and note–Just Fabulous!! OH, and don’t get me started about her black and white striped tights!!😉🙂 Congratulations to your new DT endeavor for Character Constructions🙂🙂 Soooo totally your style–you literally bring these images to life!! Cheers to you, Lynne!! XOXO-Shari

    Reply

  17. Sugar Lump Studios
    Mar 31, 2016 @ 00:52:08

    Gigi is very very beautiful! I love every detail! I hope you had a Happy Easter and that spring has arrived in Bonnie Scotland!🙂

    Reply

  18. jellybeanerz
    Mar 31, 2016 @ 21:35:09

    Fan-tastic! Very nice post! Thank you for sharing her with us!

    Reply

  19. craftytrog
    Apr 01, 2016 @ 19:22:04

    She’s amazing Lynne! x

    Reply

  20. Jackie P Neal
    Apr 06, 2016 @ 11:54:48

    Such a wonderful outfit Gigi wears! And the necklace and lace- Oui Oui!!
    Such fun are your dolls- I shall hall have to make a few more myself as you have inspired me ,Lynne! xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

