Forever Summer (The Stampers’ Sampler)

Hello Everyone
Something bolder (for me!) to share, four panels which appear as feature article, Veil of Summer in the Jan/Feb/March issue of The Stampers’ Sampler.
I received the PaperArtsy Emma Godfrey stamps (EEG09) to create samples with and when I completed the samples for PA, I decided to keep inking up the stamps so that I could submit.  I essentially created mixed media panels along the style of those samples except this time I also included some wonderful Redlead stamps (available HERE and HERE.)
beautifulonelynneThe texture on the background was simply achieved by the way in which I applied the Frescos, with a baby wipe.beautifulone99.9% of the time, I will ink fussy cut edges but I wanted a sense of lightness so no inking to the abraded edges.  I worked with quite a thick cardstock which made fussy cutting a bit of  a chore but at least the flowers are substantial.summerlynneoneSome of the flowers have three layers.  Did you notice that the stalk is actually the straight (wonky but straight!) edge of the cloud, a cloud which I used as a grassy border.summertwoThey are not my “usual” style but more often these days, when creating to submit, I am enjoying shaking it up a bit, not worrying too much as to whether the art appears as though it was made by me or not.foreverlynneoneLots and I do mean, lots, of silicone glue creates dimension, making the flowers pop out from the panel.foreveroneI should have tinkered around with colour saturation as the colours are slightly “off” in this final panel, needing a wee bit more of the orange warmth to come through on the background.sunnyskiesoneFiddly work to ensure the flowers stayed attached to those thin stems!sunnyskiestwoI still have a fair few published pieces to share with you.
In the meantime, thanks, always for your visits.
Wishes
Lynne

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Valerie-Jael
    Apr 14, 2016 @ 05:44:56

    Love, love, love! Hugs, Valerie

    Reply

  2. Annie G
    Apr 14, 2016 @ 09:04:34

    Beautiful depth of warm colours in the first samples Lynne and a stunning layout.
    Really like the second lighter batch of cards too. Tfs and best wishes
    Annie x

    Reply

  3. Lauren Hatwell
    Apr 14, 2016 @ 09:05:06

    Absolutely beautiful. They really do make me think of hot sunny days. I can almost hear the bees buzzng. Lx

    Reply

  4. Julie Lee
    Apr 14, 2016 @ 09:06:18

    Lots of lovely warmth here on a grey day! xx

    Reply

  5. Christine Smith
    Apr 14, 2016 @ 11:56:41

    Ooh wonderful! Love the summery colours and all the depth to those fabulous flowers! Using the cloud edges for stems is a cool idea! xxx

    Reply

  6. Dorthe
    Apr 14, 2016 @ 15:56:18

    Lynne, dear, you are always so clever in using your stamps, in ways ,not obvious for everyone, like the sky-edge you used as stems…(.I remember other times, where you also used a stamp, by dividing it more than it was planned ,lol ) Wonderful strong sunny colors, and your flowers are so sweet, They are fun and also looks like lolly pops .
    They all say a happy Hello to the receiver .
    Dorthe, xxx

    Reply

  7. Sharon Bruner
    Apr 14, 2016 @ 16:49:00

    Lynne, I so adore these bright, sunny panels! I do love the color orange and these really caught my eye when I received my Stampers’ Sampler. The sweet little sentiment tags from Redlead really make me feel the warmth of those colors you blended so well. Adorable flowers! And a great idea to use the cloud edge for those stems. A great collection to brighten anyone’s day! Cheers! inkybru xx

    Reply

  8. Gerrina
    Apr 14, 2016 @ 17:07:02

    Beautiful backgrounds again, but my eyes where immidiatelly drawn to those gorgeous flowers! The look great! Hugs, Gerrina

    Reply

  9. Anne R
    Apr 14, 2016 @ 19:43:54

    I didn’t actually notice that it was a cloud that you used, but how clever are you! I love the result and all of the flowers are so beautiful! Love them all! Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  10. gio
    Apr 14, 2016 @ 20:32:14

    Such lovely design, and so bright and summerish. Well done, Lynne!

    Reply

  11. Samantha Read
    Apr 16, 2016 @ 13:09:20

    Gorgeous! Gorgeous! Gorgeous!
    Poppy and I wish you a lovely weekend xx

    Reply

  12. craftytrog
    Apr 16, 2016 @ 19:02:19

    I love these! Congratulations Lynne xx

    Reply

  13. butterfly
    Apr 17, 2016 @ 02:37:51

    Gorgeous sunshine colours, and I love the pop of dimension on the flowers. Hope you have a wonderful weekend – and a reciprocal sorry for such long absences!
    Alison x

    Reply

  14. Lynn Price
    Apr 17, 2016 @ 17:21:43

    I see my comment got lost in hyperspace…. just wanted to say how much I love these flowers – so evocative of spring! Always love seeing your wonderful cards, Lynne! xxx Lynn

    Reply

  15. Jackie P Neal
    May 02, 2016 @ 14:49:49

    Lovely new style of yours!! Sorry I have been away- time to catch up!
    hugs Jackie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

