The Birdlady

Hello Everyone
Ask most stampers and they will immediately associate paper dolls with Character Constructions stamps but Catherine Moore has also some of the most beautiful nature themed illustrations. A stamp which has been on my Wish List for the longest time, I do mean a long time, I finally received this year, this beautiful collage stamp of woman and birds, from Inner Child, Plate No. 7
(All stamps on the cards are from Character Constructions including:- branch, egg, wings, label)
For the first card and another, I decided to play around, adding wings to her so she might fly off with the sweet birds who gather around her.
oneThe wings are from The Beekeeper’s Tea Plate No. 7)
twoJust as a bird gathers items to create her nest, I gathered tiny fragments of bark, stained muslin and rusted fabric, layering with this sweet stamped label.threeSuspending from the tree branch, a spotted egg.  I like that, by chance, the background mimics the mottled pattern of the egg.fourThe same walnut ink crystal solution used on all the cards but for this card, applied in a different way, giving a much softer result.oneI had  stained the watercolour paper and after stamping, I noticed that the placement of the stamped image gives the impression of a setting, or rising sun or moon behind her.  That was just by chance.twoThe same branch stamp as on the first card, this time clustered.
threeThe egg nestling in the nest.fourCard No. 3oneAgain, working with the same stamps, just a matter of whether she got her wings or not!
twoCard No. 4oneIt wouldn’t surprise me if I used this stamp for Christmas cards, with the little tag declaring peace, it would make a lovely Christmas design.
I wonder if any of you still have stamps on your Wish List that you have wanted since your earliest days of stamping?
I seem to be spending less and less time on-line, only can hope that I catch-up with you all very soon. I truly appreciate your loyalty, continuing to visit here even when I have been unable to stop by and say hello to you at your own blogs.
Wishes
Lynne

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bluebertie
    Apr 19, 2016 @ 23:27:11

    So beautiful Lynne. From the speckled egg and the pretty little button to the gorgeous frayed fabric and beautiful wings. I love it! Lx

    Reply

  2. Valerie-Jael
    Apr 20, 2016 @ 06:04:05

    Beautiful piece, love the stamps. Hugs, Valerie

    Reply

  3. Annie G
    Apr 20, 2016 @ 09:25:57

    Beautiful stamping Lynne and that’s what I love about these CM stamps. Images are so clear and detailed, it’s wonderful too that you can use a variety of stamps from other CM sets.
    All of your creations here are amazing with the perfect adornments
    Tfs

    Hugs Annie x

    Reply

  4. Sue F
    Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:10:35

    These are beautiful Lynne. I love the image of the bird lady; she looks so serene and contented.

    Reply

  5. Sophie
    Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:32:36

    Wunderschön, liebe Lynne.
    Ich bin immer wieder über deine grenzenlose Fantasie überrascht und erfreut.
    Eine wunderbare Arbeit.

    herzlichst Sophie
    Lynne, ich möchte meine Character-Stempel verkaufen. Hast du Interesse?

    Reply

  6. Sharon Bruner
    Apr 20, 2016 @ 14:45:41

    What a very nice set you have created. I do love that Catherine has so many interchangeable stamps that can be used with one set and then another. I do have this sweet lady and think you have created the perfect settings for her. The use of the walnut crystals has give the background and the egg such a natural appearance, as though you just stepped outside and picked all the items from the nature around you. You never fail to inspire me, Lynne! inkybru xx

    Reply

  7. sewpaperpaint
    Apr 20, 2016 @ 15:27:33

    This is one of my favorite stamps of all times!!! Love how you added the wings. She is stunning!!!

    Reply

  8. corrinegilman
    Apr 20, 2016 @ 16:36:40

    so charming Lynne. Wonderful, wonderful. xox

    Reply

  9. Dorthe
    Apr 20, 2016 @ 16:49:33

    My dear Lynne, your cards are the most beautiful little stories all of them. The stamps from Catherine are so lovely, and I love this plate,you have used with the woman. Maybe I need to get them on my wishlist ,like so many others, lol.
    Your use of the walnut crystals are gorgeous, I love both the soft looks, and the more dark one, with the spots, both giving wonderful backgrounds ,for the beautiful stamped woman, and so amazing the way, you actually “dressed” her, with the nest, made of , from nature, coming pieces. And I must not forget, that of course I love her wings !!
    Dorthe xx

    Reply

  10. Gerrina
    Apr 20, 2016 @ 19:18:14

    You are right; this really is a beautiful stamp! Love how you used it and that nest looks so natural! Have a sunny week!

    Reply

  11. Anne R
    Apr 20, 2016 @ 20:09:34

    Oh Lynne, I think these must be my new favourites, they are so beautiful! I love the sun/moon behind the first lady and the wings are such a perfect addition. I love the egg hanging from the branch on the second one – and of course, your backgrounds are just gorgeous! Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  12. meggymay
    Apr 20, 2016 @ 21:06:34

    I seem to be on catch up tonight Lynne. These are all beautiful cards and the stamps look fantastic.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  13. craftytrog
    Apr 22, 2016 @ 08:24:55

    I can understand your need for this image Lynne, it’s beautiful!
    A delightful set of cards!
    Alison xxx

    Reply

  14. Avril
    Apr 23, 2016 @ 09:55:15

    These are gorgeous, such a beauty, love the serene look on her face.
    Avril x

    Reply

  15. Lynn Price
    Apr 23, 2016 @ 23:49:35

    Such a lovely, calming image, which you’ve showcased so beautifully in your cards, Lynne! Love how you’ve created the fabulous backgrounds which provide such depth as well…. I am not a cardmaker, but these call to me – I might just have to pony up! Thank you, as always, for incredible inspiration through your work! xxx Lynn

    Reply

  16. Julie Lee
    Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:47:40

    I’m just taking a moment to stop by and say how sensitively and creatively you have used this stamp! You are an artist of incredible talent. The texture and – well, just about everything – on this post made my heart take flight. Thank you for sharing your beautiful gift for creativity with us. xx

    Reply

  17. michele s
    Apr 25, 2016 @ 02:13:10

    these rich, natural hues are a delight to look at and they are actually calming. love it. xo

    Reply

  18. Samantha Read
    Apr 25, 2016 @ 13:47:40

    Stunning Lynne🙂 xx

    Reply

  19. butterfly
    Apr 28, 2016 @ 04:03:44

    Utterly magical – the serenity in her face is perfectly matched with the vintage neutrals and wonderful natural textures and elements – pure joy!
    Alison x

    Reply

  20. pearshapedchris
    Apr 28, 2016 @ 18:06:02

    Such a serene look on your lady’s face. I love these lovely layers! Hugs, Chrisx

    Reply

  21. Jackie P Neal
    May 02, 2016 @ 14:55:12

    Exquisite Lynne! When i first saw this, I felt myself gently sliding into a peacefulness..sounds strange,but is true!
    I too have been away- seems there are more and more media commitments and hard to keep up, so I am choosing those whom I truly love the most! Time to scale back again!
    hugs,Jackie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

