The Wisdom of Jane (Somerset Life)

Hello Everyone
Many of you will know that I regularly submit/contribute to Stampington & Company magazines.  One of my all time favourite titles is Somerset Life. Although I’ve read Somerset Life for many years and even though I submit regularly to other titles, I have only, previously, submitted once. They have a category in the magazine for various ideas surrounding creative living. Back in 2012 I submitted a shopping list pad and was astonished to discover it published (HERE). You would imagine that would have spurred me on to submit more but I didn’t. All that time passed and then, all because of a bookmark I was making to pop in with a birthday card for an art friend, I remembered reading of a bookmark Challenge Call. I had nothing to lose, so continued to make more of the bookmarks, mailed them off, with no hope of them being printed but still feeling good that I had submitted something after all that time and had finally submitted to one of their Challenge Calls.
Imagine my shock on receiving an email from the Editor requesting me to write an article for the bookmarks. This was so huge for me that I knew I wouldn’t believe it until I was actually holding the magazine in my hands. Even when that day arrived it still didn’t seem real. For me to have an article in Somerset Life, I cannot really articulate the significance for me (I’ve since had my second article published in Somerset Life which I will share with you soon).
The article appears in the Jan/Feb/March issue, seven pages with lots of detail photographs of the bookmarks.  I’m sure you understand, with this being an actual article, it would not be fair to share any of the written article.
Each bookmark has a quote on one side with an image on the rear and for each bookmark, I created simple but I hope. elegant presentation pockets.
There were five bookmarks and pockets in total but I am just sharing a few here.
All stamps are from Oxford Impressions and in the U.K. from That’s Crafty.onelynnemoncrieffsomersetlifeI worked with colours which to me, conjure up all things Jane Austen – duck egg blue and cream (excuse the photographs – I couldn’t get rid of the grey tone unless I brightened them which resulted in bleached out photos!)threelynnemoncrieffsomersetlifewith beaded danglestwolynnemoncrieffsomersetlife
fourlynnemoncrieffsomersetlifeThank you for your visit to this post.
Will return soon with a sample relating to Crafty Individuals.
Wishes
Lynne

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julia - Vintage with Laces
    May 18, 2016 @ 08:12:08

    That’s just fabulous, dear Lynne! Congratulations on having these beautiful bookmarks published!!!They are so charming and make great gifts. The pockets you created are very pretty as well.

    Reply

  2. Annie G
    May 18, 2016 @ 08:23:36

    Oh Lynne………your bookmarks are just stunning x I so enjoyed the article in Somerset Life, which was so inspiring.
    Your bookmarks are beautiful with gorgeous stamped details and fabulous beadwork

    TFS and huge congratulations on being published

    Annie x

    Reply

  3. MargieD
    May 18, 2016 @ 08:31:22

    Congratulations once again Lynne – your bookmarks are just gorgeous. I love Oxford Impression stamps and don’t get mine out often enough but you have inspired me to dig them out and have a go. Will also have to try and get a copy of the magazine to read your article. Margie x

    Reply

  4. Sharon Bruner
    May 18, 2016 @ 12:23:02

    Congratulations, Lynne! I love the simplicity and beauty of these book marks. I love making bookmarks as I am an avid reader. These sweet pockets and images do remind one of those days of Jane Austen. Love the natural color theme….. your forte! The bead dangle is so feminine and really makes one think of those Victorian ladies in their long dresses sitting in a parlor or under a shade tree with a book. How exciting for you!!! inkybru xx

    Reply

  5. Christine Smith
    May 18, 2016 @ 13:48:23

    Beautiful bookmarks which really give a feeling of a bygone age. Wonderful! It’s so cool you have been published in a favourite magazine of yours, huge congratulations! xxx

    Reply

  6. Yvonne Whaley
    May 18, 2016 @ 14:19:31

    Many, many congratulations Lynne. The bookmarks all look gorgeous.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  7. Sue F
    May 18, 2016 @ 14:41:01

    These are really lovely Lynne. Clean, simple but elegant. Congratulations on having them published.

    Reply

  8. Anne R
    May 18, 2016 @ 15:24:20

    Huge congratulations Lynne, I can feel your excitement through your post – not surprising though, it is a wonderful accolade, I am so thrilled for you. The bookmarks are exquisite! Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  9. Dorthe Hansen
    May 18, 2016 @ 16:25:10

    I`m so happy for you, dearest friend, congratulations, on this beautiful and big article, showing the so lovely and simple, but elegant beauty ,of your Jane book marks .
    The stamps you choose with the pearls and laces, and the softest blue, and velvet , I so love them ,Lynne- and also the sweet envelopes.
    I wish I could see it all.
    Dorthe, xx

    Reply

  10. Julie Lee
    May 18, 2016 @ 22:45:30

    Such a beautiful project, evoking perfectly Jane Austen’s world. These creations make me think of English gardens; lavender scented linen and elegant drawing rooms. What a wonderful achievement to have these articles in Somerset Life, but I’m not surprised – you’re the perfect choice: not only is your work lovely, Lynne, you also write exquisitely. Well done, my very talented friend. xx

    Reply

  11. Sugar Lump Studios
    May 18, 2016 @ 23:41:13

    Lynne! this is so awesome (and so are your beautiful pieces)! they are perfection! I hear the midgies have been bad? I hope they go away and the sun shines, you were all jipped last year as well with summer! xoxo

    Reply

  12. michele s
    May 19, 2016 @ 05:01:22

    such beauty! and boy do i adore that little open book rubber stamp! xo

    Reply

  13. Gerrina
    May 19, 2016 @ 08:13:13

    They really look elegant and so fun to use with the quote to go to every time! You really may be proud that you have been published and had a written article (twice!) I hope to get to a store where they sell the coppies so I finally can read and see your work in them!
    Enjoy the week; hope the sun is shining on you…

    Reply

  14. corrinegilman
    May 19, 2016 @ 10:21:37

    Really beautiful booksmarks, almost too pretty to use for that. I can see them as hanging necklaces too! xox

    Reply

  15. craftytrog
    May 19, 2016 @ 11:41:53

    Such beautiful bookmarks Lynne! Too lovely to hide in a book! xx

    Reply

  16. Gaby Bee
    May 20, 2016 @ 15:06:46

    Congratulations Lynne! I`m really happy for you. Your bookmarks are truly amazing!

    Gaby xo

    Reply

  17. Samantha Read
    May 21, 2016 @ 12:16:16

    I’m so happy for you, Congratulations, they are beautiful. Your delicate touch shines through all that you do xx

    Reply

  18. Jackie P Neal
    May 22, 2016 @ 13:03:43

    OMgosh! Lynne, You must be over the moon with excitement!!
    I could not be happier for you!!
    I told you, they will soon have a subscription maybe titled “Moncreiff Life” heehee
    Congratulations dear Lynne! xx

    Reply

  19. coco
    May 30, 2016 @ 13:40:06

    Oh, these are exquisite Lynne!!!!
    huge Congratulations for this new publication and article, I’m thrilled for you!!! xxx

    Reply

  20. In Art Therapy
    Jul 07, 2016 @ 13:48:50

    How wonderful! Congratulations! Your book marks are just beautiful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

