Alone With The Trees

Hello Everyone
When, not so long ago I shared news of Crafty Individuals most recent stamp releases, I said that I had my favourite. Although the first stamp I inked up was the Elements border set, the stamp that first caught my eye is the majestic CI-453, the stunning trees stamp.
I seem to be more and more drawn to nature themed stamps and I am certainly enjoying creating textures and gathering textural elements when working with such stamps.
This Mixed Media panel uses a That’s Crafty white/greyboard panel as the substrate.blogonelynnemoncrieffYou can see it is a gloriously detailed stamp and inking up such a detailed stamp, there can be the concern of losing that fine detail if stamping onto anything other than smooth cardstock but I really like stamping onto tree bark, going out on a limb (!). I was so pleased not to have lost any of the detail.twoAfter stamping I created a slight wash around the trees, with Infusions,  also dipping my brush into water to almost diffuse the very outer edges of the branches.threeThe wonderful sentiment also stamped onto tree bark and layered to a piece of calico which I’d stained with Infusions.
Various media was used on the background to create texture,  I was aiming for a faux bark appearance.fourA final dip into some gilding wax and Old Gold, creating a veil of shimmer, here and there.sixI’d recently received some Gypsy Cord (available from That’s Crafty) which I wrapped around the panel, layering with more calico stained with Infusions.eightThank you so much for your visit today.
If you happen to be looking to join a challenge then if you are quick, you just about have time to enter Crafty Individuals Anything Goes May Challenge.  You can find all the details at Jean’s blog, HERE.
Wishes
Lynne

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Valerie-Jael
    May 31, 2016 @ 06:05:37

    Wonderful, this one speaks to me. Hugs, Valerie

    Reply

  2. Hazel Agnew
    May 31, 2016 @ 08:48:12

    What an amazing stamp, and retaining the detail on the tree bark. I love the colours and the textures. You have managed to create such harmony in this piece Lynne. The frayed cord looks really interesting too. Do I need some? I think so! Wonderful inspiration once again…thanks! Xx

    Reply

  3. Annie G
    May 31, 2016 @ 10:01:52

    A beautiful and inspiring make Lynne x wonderful layers and the stamp and sentiment delightful

    TFS and hugs
    Annie x

    Reply

  4. Sue F
    May 31, 2016 @ 12:04:56

    Another beautiful piece of work and the textures are gorgeous.

    Reply

  5. Dorthe Hansen
    May 31, 2016 @ 15:07:20

    Stunning dear Lynne, the most beautiful tree stamp, stamped directly on real bark, connecting it to nature, and it`s beauty. The background is gorgeous, with the deep crackles, and the amazing texture. Fabric used looks so perfect, and I love the cord, too. You created a beautiful nature masterpiece, my dear friend, and wow, I love it !!
    Dorthe, xx

    Reply

  6. Anne R
    May 31, 2016 @ 16:56:38

    Wow Lynne, the stamping onto the bark looks fantastic and I just love the beautiful background you created, it really does look very ‘bark’ like too. Wonderful natural tones too. Apologies if I miss any of your art over the next two weeks as we have visitors and I will not have much time for blogging…. Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  7. tracy745
    May 31, 2016 @ 21:15:59

    Love the wash around your trees with the Infusions, makes the image pop. Love the vintage feel and how,you stamped the focal image. Love the bark effect and wonderful textural feel to this . Tracy x

    Reply

  8. Elaine Rosenfeld
    May 31, 2016 @ 22:45:28

    A lovely piece of art, most charming.

    Reply

  9. Win Dinn
    May 31, 2016 @ 23:58:39

    What a stunning piece – found you through Jackie’s blog, and so glad I did!

    Reply

  10. Gerrina
    Jun 01, 2016 @ 07:21:48

    This was the first stamp if the new release that caught my eyes…I an a treestamp lover… so this one is the one I will have to hold myself from, because I honestly have enough treestamps🙂
    I love the natural colours and the little wood piece looks so good on this!
    Noiw back to work here🙂

    Reply

  11. sharon
    Jun 01, 2016 @ 07:27:59

    Wow what fabulous texture on this creation Lynne!!!! Love this nature feeling piece! And also I am late to wish you a happy birthday – so hope you had a great day and belated best wishes!!!!!!!

    Reply

  12. Sharon Bruner
    Jun 01, 2016 @ 20:33:00

    Absolutely stunning work, Lynne. Your use of fibers really adds to that woodsy feel in this piece. Such a beautiful image and love the way you have diffused the ends of the limbs. You not only tried to make the backgrounds resemble the bark, but you have succeeded! I have always had a fascination with trees and the sentiment you used really clutched at my heart. You always seem to get exactly the look and feel you aim for in your pieces. You never fail to inspire me to try something new every time I look at one of your pieces. Please continue!!! sharonb xx

    Reply

  13. Avril
    Jun 03, 2016 @ 16:32:15

    A gorgeous piece, love the textures.
    Avril xx

    Reply

  14. butterfly
    Jun 03, 2016 @ 18:14:31

    Gorgeous barky texture in the background – the whole look is so natural and rustic. Fabulous showcasing of the wonderful tree image and the soft fabric touches make this look so tactile and fascinating.
    Alison x

    Reply

  15. Samantha Read
    Jun 04, 2016 @ 12:10:31

    Oh my, this is gorgeous.
    I would love to come to your house and just sit and watch you create, I could bring Poppy of course😉
    hugs xx

    Reply

  16. Julia - Vintage with Laces
    Jun 05, 2016 @ 08:07:22

    I love the worn and weathered look of this piece, dear Lynne. It’s gorgeous. The tree stamp is wonderful.
    Have a pleasant Sunday!🙂

    Reply

  17. coco
    Jun 11, 2016 @ 20:51:00

    Another amazing panel, incredibly beautiful and realistic piece, WOW Lynne…
    Everything is fantastic here.
    I understand that the Infusions are totally made for you!! :-)))
    Hugs and good night. xxx

    Reply

  18. Jackie P Neal
    Sep 15, 2016 @ 13:27:33

    Wow! I thought it Was real bark! Yes, you have succeeded here!
    Gorgeously organic and I just love the tree and phrase stamps!!
    hugs,Jackie xo

    ps..do you know you have D. Trump ads on your site? Just wondering if spam got in somehow-

    Reply

Leave a Reply

