At The Edge of The Woods

Hello Everyone
I thought I would share something made a few months ago, featuring beautiful nature themed stamps from Redlead Paperworks. Amongst the stamps I’d received at that time, was a set called A Secret Walk In The Garden.
This piece I made, an  assemblage (?) began life knowing I wanted the cluster of ferns stamp to be the focal and for me to work with Infusions.fernslynnemoncrieffStamping onto tree bark, it can be unpredictable but I think that is why I like it.  Little bits flaking off but no wonder as this had a liberal misting of water, directly onto the stamped ferns to achieve a diffused appearance, as though someone has been sketching with black ink in their nature journal and as they sit at the edge of the woods, a misting of rain falls through the canopy of the trees onto their sketching, causing the ink to bleed.threeTo create contrast and hints of colour, I worked with Infusions, applying directly onto the bark.
fourOnto a smaller, scrap piece of tree bark, I stamped this wonderful sentiment.  The tree bark soaks up the Infusions beautifully, adding an aged effect.  You can just see peeking from beneath the stamped panel, stained fabric and crochet lace, all raggedy.
detailtwoMore of the Infusions stained calico layered with various “bits” stained with Infusions or dissolved walnut ink crystals.fiveI’m very lucky to receive such wonderful stamps to play with.
I’m also lucky to have such loyal friends to my Blog. Many thanks for your visits and comments.
Wishes
Lynne

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    Jul 29, 2016 @ 22:55:20

    OH this is such a beautiful and organic creation Lynne ♥
    Stamping on the bark certainly did give it special interest along with the touches of nature from your artistic hands!
    Happy beginning of the weekend to you oxo

    Reply

  2. sewpaperpaint
    Jul 30, 2016 @ 00:55:00

    I love those watery images and gorgeous loose layers! Beautiful!

    Reply

  3. janellmithani
    Jul 30, 2016 @ 04:32:07

    Absolutely love this! Such a wonderful organic feel and lovely texture.

    Reply

  4. Anne R
    Jul 30, 2016 @ 09:20:50

    You have transported me into beautiful ancient woodland with this gorgeous creation Lynne, the stamping onto the bark has such a rustic feel along with the muted tones, the sentiment has a wonderful aged appearance. This really is a beautiful piece of work! Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  5. Emma Sims
    Jul 30, 2016 @ 11:52:40

    Absolutely love this!

    Reply

  6. Sharon Bruner
    Jul 30, 2016 @ 13:10:01

    Beautiful! I feel like I’ve had a peek at great Aunt Jane’s personal field guide to the wonders of the forest! How crafty you are at transporting us to magical places with your birch bark, soft touches of inks and colors and those muted images. The tattered and stained pieces of lace, calico, burlap and other materials really make give it the appearance of an aged journal page. Ever the magician! Thanks for sharing with us, Lynne! inkybru xx

    Reply

  7. craftytrog
    Aug 01, 2016 @ 08:54:02

    A beautiful, organic piece Lynne! Such wonderful textures! xx

    Reply

  8. Corrie
    Aug 01, 2016 @ 20:27:29

    So beautiful !
    Corrie x

    Reply

  9. Diana Taylor
    Aug 02, 2016 @ 08:57:22

    Absolutely beautiful work, I so love the organic feel to it and the Infusions work brilliantly on it. This piece sings to me and I could look at it all day!

    Reply

  10. Samantha Read
    Aug 06, 2016 @ 09:38:50

    Poppy and I walk through woods almost everyday and you have captured woodness perfectly Lynne, so beautiful xx

    Reply

  11. pearshapedchris
    Aug 08, 2016 @ 15:01:15

    Oooh! I am glad I got this far back – this will be in my mind as we go off walking!! Hugs, Chrisx

    Reply

  12. sharon
    Aug 26, 2016 @ 06:14:58

    Love the earthiness of this and the texture – very natural feeling!

    Reply

  13. Jackie P Neal
    Sep 16, 2016 @ 12:55:10

    WOW! The textures here married with your stamping and misting- fabulous! I could smell the forest as I looked over the photos! So well done! xoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

