A Day At The Beach

Hello Everyone
My previous post shared news of Crafty Individuals most recent releases.  Amongst them, Elements set, CI-459.  I was drawn to the various seaside related words in this set so decided that I would focus on that stamp alone.
one
One of the main reasons I love stamping so much, is the freedom to stamp onto almost any surface.  I stamped onto calico and seaglass and as you can see, I was not overly bothered about ensuring that the pieces would accommodate the words.  Strangely, because of the beach themed context, even though the full words are not visible, the brain seems to know it is sandcastles and seashells.twoThe textiles are frayed because I wanted them to have a tattered appearance, as though windswept and battered by the seashore.fiveAnother piece of the seaglass.fourYou can see that I painted the compartment tray in a random fashion, to have a distressed, worn appearance that would tie in with the frayed textiles.threeA coconut button seemed to suit the theme but it was too dark against the washed out colour of the tray so I flipped it over, drybrushing with a Fresco, might be Chalk.eightOnto a piece of driftwood, all the way from Denmark, (from lovely Dorthe) a smattering of pearls, mica flakes and starfish.nineJean is sharing lots of inspiration at the Crafty Individuals blog, including samples made by the other team members. If you are interested in this stamp or any of the new releases, then it is worth noting they are available, for a limited period only, at a special Introductory Offer price.
Many thanks for your visit.
Wishes
Lynne

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sue F
    Aug 09, 2016 @ 16:09:30

    Fabulous use of such great stamps. I love using quotes and single words on projects and I’m a big fan of Crafty Individuals’ stamps as well. I’m off to check out the new ones.

    Reply

  2. Sharon Bruner
    Aug 09, 2016 @ 17:01:21

    Oh, my! (great minds!) I’ve been playing around with stamping on sea glass! I love the little shadow box and all the words that appear on the sea glass. The distressed-look paint job on the box really is the perfect display for the fabrics, glass and words. Your use of natural elements to enhance an art piece is purely magical!
    Thank you for sharing with us, Lynne. inkybru xx

    Reply

  3. CarolS
    Aug 09, 2016 @ 17:11:50

    This is wonderful Lynne! I love the beachy look and the stamped sea glass!
    Hugs!

    Reply

  4. jellybeanerz
    Aug 09, 2016 @ 23:58:47

    Beautiful!

    Reply

  5. Meggymay
    Aug 10, 2016 @ 13:47:10

    Wonderful project Lynne, a great way to showcase the words from the stamp set.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  6. Dorthe Hansen
    Aug 10, 2016 @ 15:42:17

    Hello my dear Lynne, Oh I was at the beach today, but is was not at all, as lovely , as the thoughts running through my head when seeing your beautiful creation. You brought the sun into the scenery you created, -and here it was grey and started raining . The beautiful beach words, also creates sun in my soul, and even the weather have been rough on the “mermaid tears ” they are so beautiful, showing the happiness of visiting your seaside,- also when windy and things gets blown ,here,and there, getting frayed edges🙂 I love the soft blue inside, and am happy I could contribute a little to your lovely art piece , with the driftwood , now looking so wonderful with the mica flakes and the pearls .
    Wishes and smiles, xxx-Dorthe

    Reply

  7. janellmithani
    Aug 10, 2016 @ 17:14:59

    Wow! Such a creative way to use the stamps. Especially love the sea glass and how you made them feel sand washed. Makes me long for a walk on the beach.🙂

    Reply

  8. craftytrog
    Aug 10, 2016 @ 19:43:21

    Wonderful use of the stamp Lynne, I must dig out my collection of sea glass! xxx

    Reply

  9. Anne R
    Aug 10, 2016 @ 21:47:39

    I just love how you used the stamps and they stamp so beautifully onto the fabric pieces, the fraying is wonderful and I love the gorgeous blue tone on the inside of this beautiful little seaside box! A gorgeous creation… Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  10. gio
    Aug 11, 2016 @ 12:23:29

    Such a n unique way to use that stamp. It reminds so much of the sea, beaches and shells. Gorgeous!

    Reply

  11. Win Dinn
    Aug 11, 2016 @ 17:14:47

    What a fabulous summer piece – love the sea and sand feel of this.

    Reply

  12. Samantha Read
    Aug 13, 2016 @ 11:14:30

    Simply divine🙂 xx

    Reply

  13. pearshapedchris
    Aug 13, 2016 @ 23:16:42

    They are all such wonderful sets and I love how you used these words! Chrisx

    Reply

  14. sharon
    Aug 26, 2016 @ 05:37:45

    So cute with the little “windows” for goodies! Very beachy!

    Reply

  15. Jackie P Neal
    Sep 16, 2016 @ 13:06:07

    Lovely to see how you used CI new stamps! I love sea glass and the stamping on it is wonderful!! xoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

