Spools of Positivity (Somerset Life)

Hello Everyone
This is another catch-up post, for something I had published as far back as Spring, in Stampington & Co’s Somerset Life magazine.. Somerset Life is one of my all time favourite Stampington titles. It is not a stamping magazine, it is an everything magazine.  Stamped projects might well appear along with fabric, mixed media, presentation ideas, it truly is a lifestyle magazine, to lead a Somerset Life.
As much as I love this title, it was only recently that I submitted to a Challenge Call, Bookmarks, which I shared HERE. On reading in that particular issue that there was to be a new Challenge Call for Torn Fabric, well I couldn’t resist. I don’t own a sewing machine and I don’t sew but I love fabric. As is often the case with me, the idea came about by pure chance when some fabric happened to be beside some wooden craft spools. To have my bookmarks published was a dream come true, but to have that followed with another article in Somerset Life, let’s just say, I am running out of words to express what it means to me!
I would like to share three pendants that are presented in the article. You will appreciate, I do not want to give instructions as they are printed within the actual article. blisslynnemsomersetlifeThe trickiest part of all was finding words of a dimension to suit the craft spools.  I am lucky to have lots of positive words in stamp form but most of them were too large for the purposes.joysomersetlifelynnemEach word stamped onto fabric, an absolute favourite of mine when it comes to stamping.joydetailsomersetlifeThe chains were deliberately made simple as I didn’t want anything overly fussy.dreamsomersetlifelynneThe stamps are from Darkroom Door (Bliss) and Joy and Dream are from PaperArtsy ESN.  Words stamps have to be amongst the most useful stamps we could own.dreamdetailsomersetlifelynneEach pendant was presented in its own fabric roll which again tied in with the challenge theme of torn fabric.somersetlifependantswraplynnemoncrieffWith pretty floral fabric bringing contrast to the calico and also acting as a closure.fabricrollsomersetlifelynnemThank you to Christen Hammons, the Editor-in-Chief, for publishing my pendants and thank you to all of you who continue to be friends of my blog, it is always appreciated.
Wishes
Lynne

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. craftytrog
    Aug 18, 2016 @ 07:31:55

    You know how much I love your art jewellery Lynne, and these are no exception! Congratulations on another magazine success, so well deserved!
    Alison xx

    Reply

  2. Annie G
    Aug 18, 2016 @ 07:55:32

    Such beautiful pieces Lynne xx I absolutely love them. Huge congratulations on being published in Somerset Life too.
    Hugs Annie x

    Reply

  3. Anne R
    Aug 18, 2016 @ 08:28:32

    Many congratulations on being published Lynne, your projects are an absolute delight, I love the way you used the spools! Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  4. Suzi B
    Aug 18, 2016 @ 10:20:39

    These are soo gorgeous Lynne…. it doesn’t surprise me how often your wonderful work is published…. xx

    Reply

  5. Gerrina
    Aug 18, 2016 @ 10:39:39

    So different and fun! Love the torn fabric; it looks so playfull and still beautiful! Hugs, Gerrina

    Reply

  6. thecobweboriumemporium
    Aug 18, 2016 @ 14:19:30

    Ohhh. MY. STARS!
    Lynne, these are beautiful. I absolutely love them. They’ve given me an idea for something, which ‘kind of dips its toe’ in the cotton thread spool which you’ve made. (not a copy or anything like that, – just that your spool has sparked a different idea).
    I think you could approach a craft centre or gallery and sell these in their gift shop (I know I’d buy one!). They’re so precious and I just love them.
    Heaps of love from my corner to yours ~ Cobs. x
    (OH … Whilst writing … I made another ‘Brush Art’ and blogged about it a couple of days ago. It’s different to the last one, and it’s full of smiles and a little laugh in there too. 🙂 I think it might give you a chuckle too. ~ C. x)

    Reply

  7. Corrine Gilman
    Aug 18, 2016 @ 15:00:29

    So simple and so sweet. The red really makes them pop. Nice contrast with the brass. xox

    Reply

  8. Meggymay
    Aug 18, 2016 @ 22:15:28

    Gorgeous pieces and congratulations on them being published.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  9. Lynn Price
    Aug 19, 2016 @ 01:02:12

    Love seeing all your makes, Lynne – have been following along on Facebook, but now that I am back home and getting mostly back to a regular schedule, look forward to catching up with all of your wonderful art!! I am always so inspired by your work….. xxx Lynn

    Reply

  10. Dorthe Hansen
    Aug 19, 2016 @ 21:06:00

    Your jewelry are always so beautiful, and amazing, always so special, and only yours ,dear Lynne. Also your spools of positivity!! So very beautiful in red and calico, so romantic also, which also always speaks to my heart. I love how you hang them from the chain,and with the tail of chain and pearls, a very wonderful art piece dear friend. CONGRATULATIONS !! XX

    Reply

  11. Samantha Read
    Aug 20, 2016 @ 13:30:09

    delightful🙂 xx

    Reply

  12. Sharon Bruner
    Aug 21, 2016 @ 00:30:20

    Lovely, lovely pendants. The simplicity of the chains does make the fabric wrapped spools the centerpiece. Love the torn edges of the fabric and the contrasting red spools and that lovely calico. Fabulous that you do not let the little detail of no sewing machine keep you from enjoying crafting with material. Again, another wonderful art piece. Congratulations again on being published in Somerset Life. As always your generosity of sharing so many details with is refreshing. Thank you, Lynne. inkybru xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

