Garden Delight (The Stampers’ Sampler)

Hello!
After being involved with creating samples for PaperArtsy, for what were at the time, new releases, two sets designed by Sara Naumann.  One of the sets was ESN15 and for the samples I played around with the bird, in particular using his wing to form a flower.  I wanted to play around further with that wing, the following cards are the result of that playtime.  They had gone completely out of my mind until they made an appearance in the summer issue of The Stampers’ Sampler.
p1080484Bird stamps are amongst my favourites although he is more whimsical than what I usually ink up.p1080481The wing was begging to be made into a daisy style flowerp1080483and tulips!p1080492The backgrounds are heavy in texture with Grungepaste and Fresco paint,
p1080494with an ESN handwritten script stamped here and there along with circles stamped with Frescos.p1080496The wing makes another appearance!p1080497A lone daisy.p1080499Looking at the cards after all this time, I wish I had included a sentiment, even just a word.  At the time I played around with a stamped sentiment and remember ruling against the addition as I wanted the background to be seen and I could not settle on placement of words/sentiment but now I look at each card and they are all lacking “something”.p1080502Stamping with paint brings another wonderful layer of interest to mixed media backgrounds.
p1080500The final card sees the birdie making a return appearance.p1080487Making my own flowers allowed the freedom to create slight variations.p1080491Thank you to The Stampers’ Sampler for their feature.
Also, thank you for visiting this blog post. I tend not to mention my life beyond crafting but I wanted to explain that health matters are hindering me from visiting your Blogs and other on-line activity but I am trying to build up my on-line time and sure do hope to get “back on track” soon.
Thank you for being so loyal.
Wishes
Lynne

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tracy745Tracy
    Sep 27, 2016 @ 23:32:47

    Lovely selection of cards. I love the colourway and oversized bird. Lovely. Tracy x

    Reply

  2. lucy Edmondson
    Sep 27, 2016 @ 23:42:47

    Oh that background is glorious Lynne! And those tulips!

    Lucy x

    Reply

  3. thecobweboriumemporium
    Sep 28, 2016 @ 01:47:36

    Ohhh so pretty Lynne, and such wonderfully soft colours. I love it. ~ Cobs. x

    Reply

  4. michele s
    Sep 28, 2016 @ 04:55:13

    lovely lovely lovely! xo

    Reply

  5. Helen
    Sep 28, 2016 @ 07:23:33

    gorgeous cards, with or without words!

    Reply

  6. Dorthe Hansen
    Sep 28, 2016 @ 08:06:43

    My dear friend, they are wonderful to review for me, ( I have the magazine, showing your happy and lovely use, of Sara Naumann `s stamps .
    I totally love hove you invented the tulips, they are beautiful, and that you fuzzy cut them after stamping makes the cards have so much texture, together with the amazing background, and seen from that point of view, I understand why you back then did not add a sentiment, Lynne. Wonderful with the paint stamping too.
    Thank you for showing them here, you inspire us so much, and ofcourse we are here, when ever you have are able to return , I know you are missed ,Lynne.
    Dorthe, xx

    Reply

  7. Annie g
    Sep 28, 2016 @ 08:30:02

    Totally fabulous Lynne x love the whimsy bird and flowers and the backgrounds are wonderful with yummy layers of ink/paints

    TFS and best wishes
    Annie x

    Reply

  8. Christine Smith
    Sep 28, 2016 @ 10:21:20

    All these are totally cool and gorgeous! So clever what you have achieved with the wings – I love them all, especially the tulips! Fabulous backgrounds. Take care of yourself, however long you need, we are all still here! xxx

    Reply

  9. Julie Lee
    Sep 28, 2016 @ 19:47:45

    I love what you’ve done with Sara’s stamps, Lynne – so creative and imaginative! I too love birds and birds in art are a particular delight. Thank you so much for sharing this with us. I do hope you feel better soon. xxx

    Reply

  10. Anne R
    Sep 28, 2016 @ 19:52:18

    These are so beautiful Lynne, l love how you made the flowers up and the birds are beautiful! Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  11. Hazel H
    Sep 29, 2016 @ 09:47:40

    Stunning work Lynne.
    xxx Hazel.

    Reply

  12. marjiekemper
    Sep 29, 2016 @ 14:17:16

    These are lovely, Lynne. What a great way to use the wing to create flowers!

    Reply

  13. somefromnone
    Sep 29, 2016 @ 15:10:38

    These are so wonderful Lynne! My fav is the tulip! So creative and I love the colour.

    Reply

  14. Gerrina
    Sep 30, 2016 @ 10:14:17

    Wow, these look great! Love the soft colours and the effect you made with so little colours! The first is my favo; like the bird and flower :)! Enjoy the weekend!

    Reply

  15. craftytrog
    Sep 30, 2016 @ 14:23:51

    Wonderful cards Lynne, I love the colours and Sara’s stamps! xx

    Reply

  16. Sharon Bruner
    Sep 30, 2016 @ 16:12:41

    Lynne, I love looking at these cards in my magazine. I know you agonized over whether to add a sentiment or not, but they are such a refreshing vision. I love the soft, creamy colors you have used and the texture you added with the paint and the heavy grunge paste give it that outdoor feel. Birds and flowers are among my favorite images and I think your creative skill making the flowers with the bird’s wing is fabulous! I love trying to make a stamp into another image. What a master you are! We ARE missing you! Praying for complete recovery for you (of course, that’s a selfish prayer because we all miss you so much!🙂. Sharon xx

    Reply

  17. Samantha Read
    Oct 09, 2016 @ 13:55:54

    Gorgeous backgrounds!!! So sweet xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

