Something Wicked (The Stampers’ Sampler)

Hello!
There is a slightly unsettling, sinister feel to the trio of cards I am sharing in this post.  I appreciate that the cards might cause offence to anyone who does not agree with Halloween due to religious belief, I certainly don’t want to be upsetting anyone.
They were submitted to The Stampers’ Sampler for their annual Frightful & Delightful challenge call and published as a feature in the Jul/Aug/Sept issue.
I am not someone who embraces the macabre, dark side of Halloween but I was inspired by the Oxford Impressions stamps. Oxford Impressions excel at Halloween (and Christmas) with stamp sets for all Halloween tastes from Masquerade to Too Cute to Spook style stamps, Danse Macabre and Poe inspired. If you want to have a look, in the U.K. That’s Crafty stock several Oxford Impressions sets.wickedonelynnemA hint of gold runs through my background with splatters of iron oxide paint.wickedthreelynnemMore stained items. In this photo you can see that the girl was stamped onto a tag.  I wanted the tag to blend into the overall background but at the same time, it brings another layer to the card.
wickedtwolynnemA wooden clock counting down the time to Midnight.poelynnemA sinister, watchful raven.ravenonelynnemThere’s something so fun about gathering all my O.I. Halloween stamps, dipping into various sets.
raventwolynnemThe rusty red paint gives a sinister edge to the cards.
fourlynnemI always appreciate visits at any time but understand that the cards here are darker to my usual style.  I will be sharing another Halloween related post very soon but not nearly as dark as this!
Wishes
Lynne

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. craftytrog
    Oct 10, 2016 @ 07:21:13

    Just love your spooky, rusty looking cards Lynne! Congratulations on another publication!
    Have a good week,
    Alison xx

    Reply

  2. Annie g
    Oct 10, 2016 @ 09:29:52

    Lots of rustiness and ghoulish fun Lynne x huge congrats on your Halloween makes being published x I saw them in the magazine in all their glory…. Stunning x
    Best wishes xx

    Reply

  3. thecobweboriumemporium
    Oct 10, 2016 @ 11:53:26

    I don’t see them as anything other than artisic and in tune with the day coming up.

    They’re beautifully made Lynne, but my most favourite ‘bit’ from all three of these cards is …. the four kisses (X) along the shabby ribbon on the Edgar Allan Poe card. Something tickled me inside when I saw the kisses, on what looks to me like roses fabric turned into ribbon. All that lovely fabric, teamed with [industrial] kisses made from staples, … on a halloween card .. it’s just so unexpected, but perfect. Love it.

    Great cards Lynne. ~ Cobs. x

    Reply

  4. Dorthe Hansen
    Oct 10, 2016 @ 16:31:38

    I love them all, dear friend, in my believe they could not offend anyone !!
    The rust in all of them makes a real spooky background, together with the blood red stains and threads, a gorgeous choice of colors Lynne, and almost looking real on your Poe card,- the wonderful hand, telling us to take care, the raven and moon , and count of 13…everything tells us to be aware !!!!! And last but surely not least ,the girl , I have that stamp, too, and always thought it was so spooky, and kind of scary, and you made her “live” here in a very sinister environment !! So brilliant with all your little adds of papers words and ribbon fabric . xx

    Reply

  5. COrrie
    Oct 10, 2016 @ 17:51:00

    Wow, wow, wow Lynne ! Fantastic, all of them ! So happy for you being published yet again !
    Corrie x

    Reply

  6. Julie Lee
    Oct 10, 2016 @ 21:27:37

    Such a great trio of cards, Lynne. I love the rusty backgrounds and the vintage feel of them. I know some people don’t agree with me on this, but I feel that sometimes we do have to engage with our ‘dark side’. As long as darker subjects don’t become an obsession, I think that’s actually quite healthy. Plays like Macbeth and stories by writers like Poe help us to tackle subjects that are disturbing but nevertheless part of what it is to be human. xxx

    Reply

  7. janellmithani
    Oct 11, 2016 @ 18:34:39

    Love these spooky, vintage styled, cards. You have created so many little details to look at and I love the muted colors. Congrats on getting published, that is so great! 🙂

    Reply

  8. pearshapedchris
    Oct 11, 2016 @ 23:17:42

    Oh Lynne! I am on another flying visit – we are off for a short trip(Again! do I hear you say?!) It’s not often I get hold of a copy of Stampers Sampler but I did get shock to see the top one taking almost a whole page – scary or what!! I am not a great fan of Halloween at all but it certainly can’t be ignored these days! These are all pretty amazing! Hugs, Chrisx

    Reply

  9. sharon
    Oct 15, 2016 @ 03:07:22

    Wow fantastic Lynne !! Love all the texture and layers – just perfect for Halloween coming up!

    Reply

  10. Samantha Read
    Oct 16, 2016 @ 13:13:39

    Stunning as always🙂

    Reply

  11. Jackie P Neal
    Oct 30, 2016 @ 13:14:18

    Spooky and sinister! Bwaahaaahaaaa

    Reply

Leave a Reply

