Nevermore (Somerset Studio)

Hello Everyone
Halloween and I were not a natural fit, it took me some time as a stamper before I felt comfortable with Halloween, it was Oxford Impressions stamps which opened my mind and it is because of Oxford Impressions that I have a considerable amount of Halloween related stamps!
This  Poe inspired assemblage shrine happens to be one of the pieces which appears in the latest issue of Somerset Studio.  The actual shrine is from Calico Craft Parts, that does not include the spool, I added the spool with all stamps from Oxford Impressions Haunted set and is available in the U.K. from That’s Crafty.oneA quick photo of the shrine/assemblage in Somerset Studio.
p1150851I decided I wanted Poe set right at the back, adding to the sense of unease from the insects crawling towards and over him.
As the instructions are printed in Somerset Studio, I don’t want to include them here.
two
threeThere is beautiful depth to play with on this shrine.  I added the cobweb as a midway layer.
fourThe spool was my own addition, painted with the stained and stamped calico bringing detail to the spool.
fiveThank you for your visit. I hope I am not swamping you with Halloween artwork!
Wishes
Lynne

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. craftytrog
    Oct 13, 2016 @ 15:57:46

    Ooh! Super spooky Lynne!

    Reply

  2. corrinegilman
    Oct 13, 2016 @ 16:44:19

    Marvelous creepy, crawly Poe for Halloween. xox

    Reply

  3. Dorthe Hansen
    Oct 13, 2016 @ 16:49:55

    My dear, this shrine really makes me feel like something is crawling all over me,- it is a WONDERFUL creation, making Halloween to a real scary affair , and in the beautiful sepia tones, which I, too, love. I still haven`t seen the sight of any magazines from UK, but so hope they will soon be here, so I can see all your amazing creations, and read your story .
    This is fantastic!!
    xx, Lynne- to you.

    Reply

  4. Christine Smith
    Oct 13, 2016 @ 16:50:18

    This is wonderfully spooky! Fabulous! xxx

    Reply

  5. Annie g
    Oct 13, 2016 @ 18:44:53

    A fabulous Spooky shrine Lynne’which would meet our Make it Spooky theme at A Vintage Journey. Absolutely love the details…..once again you have captivated the haunted feeling!!!!! Love it

    Best wishes
    Annie xx

    Reply

  6. Meggymay
    Oct 13, 2016 @ 21:17:45

    Just been catching up on your Halloween project posts. they are fabulous. I love this spooktacular shrine
    Yvonne x

    Reply

  7. Anne R
    Oct 14, 2016 @ 09:27:35

    I think you know already how much I love Halloween and this creation is truly spookily scary, I love that Poe image and those creepy spiders and other creatures just add to the spooky nature of it! A wonderful creation Lynne! Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  8. vintagewithlaces
    Oct 14, 2016 @ 14:46:37

    This is fabulously spooky, dear Lynne. I love it! I’m sure Mr. Poe would love it too.
    xo Julia

    Reply

  9. Julie Lee
    Oct 14, 2016 @ 19:27:50

    I love how you transformed this Calico shrine, Lynne. I used not to like Halloween makes when I first started crafting either – I was never a fan of lots of lurid greens and oranges and blood dripping everywhere. But your ‘spooky’ is so atmospheric and properly Gothic! This is a fabulous make – right to the scroll around the spool! xx

    Reply

  10. Sharon Bruner (inkybru)
    Oct 15, 2016 @ 16:04:43

    Wonderful Halloween shrine! Poe is the epitome of Halloween for me. My husband and I have read so many of his stories……stemming from school days….. but they are truly spooky. You have presented him in a fabulous salute, dear Lynne. “) I do love Oxford Impressions. They have such lovely stamp sets to choose from. I, too, have had a hard time making anything with the Halloween theme. You have done such a great job with these stamps. Congratulations on another published work in Somerset Studio. Cheers! inkybru xx

    Reply

  11. Samantha Read
    Oct 16, 2016 @ 13:18:22

    Awesome!! xx

    Reply

  12. Jackie P Neal
    Oct 30, 2016 @ 12:44:02

    How absolutely creepy and wonderful dear Lynne! xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

