Positive Thoughts (The Stampers’ Sampler)

Hello Everyone
The cards I am sharing in this post were actually made as far back as 2014!   What kick started this card collection was a DT project for That’s Crafty. Playing with Dina Wakley stamps was a step for me away from beloved vintage, a deliberate step. The first card made for That’s Crafty and the subsequent cards, were all an exercise in me playing with bold colours. What’s interesting, the cards on first appearance, I thought they looked “different” for me but what struck me, they really weren’t that different after all as the paint application is one of my most favoured and each card also includes torn fabric and lace. I think it is the bolder style of stamp and paint colours that makes them seem so different initially.
The reason I mention the date, I’d actually forgotten about the cards until I  opened the Summer issue of The Stampers’ Sampler!
(The Dina Wakley stamp sets and stencil are available from That’s Crafty)oneOn each card I married up Dina Wakley stencil with Sam Poole designed stamps, each time creating my own affirmation.  It’s a fun thing to do and I do it quite often.two
threeI don’t appear to have worked with fabric for the second card, only lace and muslin.fourI work very loosely with the paint, it’s such a freeing way to make backgrounds.fiveI scribbled boxes to define the stamped words, forming them into word tiles.sixDina’s scribbly writing from the Textured Background set makes an appearance on each card.seven
eightI did nothing fancy with the stencil, only selected the words I wanted and used a black fineliner pen.
nineIf I remember, I stamped with girl with paint.tenThe torn lace adds lovely texture, a nice grungy quality.elevenI never take for granted being published in The Stamper’s Sampler, in fact I think I was even more surprised to have this collection printed because they note a shift in gear for me. The Stampers’ Sampler is such a wonderful publication, packed with accomplished stamping artists, with the summer issue featuring artists such as Renee Zarate, Shari Trumball, Laura Sparks Turner, Majo Wybranietz, Clintine Steele, Sharon Bruner and Corrie Herriman’s stunning piece of mail art – an honour to be published alongside each of them.
Wishes
Lynne

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kelleysdiy
    Nov 02, 2016 @ 17:10:59

    So Beautiful…thank you for sharing!

    Reply

  2. Sharon Bruner (inkybru)
    Nov 02, 2016 @ 18:31:04

    I so enjoy these stamps. I was fortunate to be able to go to Oklahoma City a few years ago to take a face drawing class she was teaching. The scribble text stamp you have used on these beautiful cars so defines her free spirit. I really like the texture you have accomplished with the lace on these cards. Your colorful background and the use of the different fonts of writing really draw the eye into the piece. The sentiments you used really’ll Lynne seem to bring out the personality of each face. Congrats again, Miss Lynne, on another well-designed publication. Inkybru xx

    Reply

  3. Sharon Bruner (inkybru)
    Nov 02, 2016 @ 18:35:02

    Oops! Well-deserved publication.

    Reply

  4. Sharon Bruner (inkybru)
    Nov 02, 2016 @ 18:36:27

    Oh, and Thank you, Lynne.🙂

    Reply

  5. Dorthe Hansen
    Nov 02, 2016 @ 18:44:41

    Dear Lynne, I remember them from the magazine, and yes they are different from your normal vintage creations. Maybe also because the Dina Wakley`s stamps have a very contemporary feeling, which together with the stronger colors gives a very different look, from what I most often see from you, of lovely shabby, and vintage .
    All in all more contemporary ,in their appearance.
    I love how you added the laces, and your wonderful own affirmations to them. Also the first one have such lovely colors of summer sunshine, and they all sends such important and strong messages to us all. You conquered yourself so wonderfully !!
    Dorthe xx

    Reply

  6. Sue F
    Nov 02, 2016 @ 19:12:20

    Fabulous creations Lynne. I love your colour choice and the sentiments work perfectly with the images. Simple and contemporary but with a rich, textured background. I love these.

    Reply

  7. wendy0322
    Nov 02, 2016 @ 20:08:40

    What terrific quotes you chose! I just love all the texture, it really adds to the vintage look of your layouts.

    Reply

  8. Julie Lee
    Nov 02, 2016 @ 20:27:25

    Love your affirmations and I really see what you mean about on reflection these cards actually not departing entirely from those elements you love – including texture and textiles. They are as beautiful in their subtle colouring, composition and stamping as everything you create. xx

    Reply

  9. Gerrina
    Nov 03, 2016 @ 10:00:01

    Even with these bolder stamps I recogniced your style :)! And I like brighty colours a lot, so…like these ones! Hugs, Gerrina

    Reply

  10. pearshapedchris
    Nov 03, 2016 @ 11:11:15

    Wow! These are wonderful Lynne! Congratulations on being published again – I love seeing you pop up in some magazines I got recently!(Some at half price so quite old!!!) As you can see I am still on catch up!! Hugs, Chrisx

    Reply

  11. Fliss
    Nov 03, 2016 @ 18:21:11

    Just gorgeous Lynne and I so love the colour palette, different to your usual but very striking with Dina’s lovely images.
    Fliss xx

    Reply

  12. Anne R
    Nov 03, 2016 @ 19:42:14

    So pleased that these have been published since they outwith your normal comfort zone, but I have to say they are truly wonderful – well done you! Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  13. Samantha Read
    Nov 05, 2016 @ 12:57:41

    Love these so much Lynne, hugs from Poppy and me xx

    Reply

  14. butterfly
    Nov 05, 2016 @ 16:51:52

    Lovely summery colours. How funny to have forgotten all about these and then have them pop up in a published feature!
    Alison x

    Reply

  15. craftytrog
    Nov 06, 2016 @ 09:01:11

    I adore these! Congratulations Lynne! xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

