Clan MacDeer & Their Festive Shenanigans

Hello
Normally, at this time of the year, I flood my blog with festive inspired creations.  A few factors have hindered this happening this year one being that my mind is still stuck back in March, possibly April… certainly not December!!!!
That said, a few weeks ago I received Happy Mail indeed, stamps from Catherine Moore’s Character Constructions, Vintage Christmas plates No. 6 – 9.
Inking up Plate No. 9, along with stamps:- dresses, arms and feet, from various other CC stamps plates, I really did have a great deal of fun making what I’m about to share in this post. Lots of fussy cutting involved, my fingers are still refusing to speak to me!

(words – Lynne Moncrieff 2016)
Clan MacDeer & Their Festive Shenanigans
If you travel north of my home, keep to the country roads and give yourself enough time in your journey to stop along the way, stretch your legs, partake of light refreshments.  Eventually,  after what seems an eternity, you will spy a castle rising out of the gloaming.  At first sight it is imposing, you will possibly have the urge to about turn.  Instead, find some courage, some say that a little Dutch Courage in the shape of a nip of whisky is all that is required,  I prefer the advice of taking a deep breath and embrace what lies within the walls of the castle.  
Guidebooks will inform you that this is the family residence of Clan MacDeer but in the nearby village, whisperings are muttered that MacDeer are no ordinary family, they are magical creatures, half human and half reindeer.  
Tis only from  1st December ’til Midnight of 1st January that cheer resonates from the castle.  Ceilidh music, the swirl of the bagpipes, the cries and whoops and stomping of feet of those gathered as they dance their way through The Eightsome Reel, The Dashing White Sergeant and the one which sees everyone clamber onto the floor, Strip The Willow.  reindeeronelynnemccAmongst those whose dresses swirl in the air  and whose voices whoop the loudest, are the triplets of the MacDeer clan.  Daphne is the eldest by 1 minute 20 seconds.reindeeronelynnedetailccAggie, she is the baby, with her sweet demeanor and always a quizzical look to her face,reindeerthreelynnemccshe is also the most likely to be fussed over especially with new frocks for the festive season.reindeerthreedetaillynnemccMairi’s greatest wish is that she were the first born of the triplets and not the middle girl.  She can often be heard telling “a fib” when asked if she is the eldest.  Yes, Mairi loves Daphne and Aggie like no other but how she deerly  dearly (!) wants the status of being the eldest.reindeertwolynnemccThe foolish girl that she is, she has even taken to dressing beyond her years!
reindeertwolynnemdetail
Of course there are other members of Clan MacDeer and if time permits, then I will allow an introduction.  In the meantime, thank you for stopping by especially at such a busy time.
Wishes
Lynne

(words are from my own silly imagination)

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sharon Bruner (inkybru)
    Dec 12, 2016 @ 02:41:05

    Absolutely adorable! Love them and the story should be published! Those dresses are the perfect Scottish touch. What a great artist you care. Everything is just perfect. Such wonderful touches of crochet, beads and gold to make for a festive party atmosphere. Superb, Lynne! Inkybru xx

    Reply

  2. Sharon Bruner (inkybru)
    Dec 12, 2016 @ 02:41:52

    “Artist you are”

    Reply

  3. Suzi B
    Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:13:50

    Just delightful!
    Suzi B xx

    Reply

  4. Annie g
    Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:24:29

    Oh Lynne x saw the new range on CM’s online store and loved them, but you have made them quite magical, especially with your story and descriptions

    Fabulous!!!!
    Huge hugs Annie x

    Reply

  5. craftytrog
    Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:31:43

    Absolutely magical!! Your fun Scottish clan brought a smile to my face this morning Lynne! Makes me yearn for the mountains and lochs that we saw in May! I love your story too.
    Have a good week,
    Alison xxx

    Reply

  6. Catherine Moore
    Dec 12, 2016 @ 13:18:41

    “Ceilidh music, the swirl of the bagpipes . . . ” I can hear these magical creatures and they are a sight to behold! Something magical happens when you get your hands on tartan my friend.

    Reply

  7. Sue F
    Dec 12, 2016 @ 15:47:26

    Lovely whimsical characters Lynne.

    Reply

  8. Dorothy K.
    Dec 12, 2016 @ 16:00:28

    This was delightful! Love your imagination and creativity. Thank you for sharing. Wishing you happy holidays.

    Reply

  9. thecobweboriumemporium
    Dec 12, 2016 @ 16:36:03

    Lynne … not “silly imagination” at all! You, like me, are in touch with the child within you, the writer who’s waiting to be discovered and the artist who you are.

    Aggie, the baby, is perhaps the member of the clan that I most associate with – for she is young of heart, and … I’d like to ask if I can borrow that tartain dress for Hogmanay?

    Daphne … well, she’s been telling me that she’s grieved that she’s not allowed to wear her most favourite hoop earrings, and I’ve agreed with her that it does seem a little unfair since Aggie has a fabulous new dress.

    Mairi on the other hand, is looking forward to her Christmas Dinner. She can’t wait to sample all the delicious delights of the season … plus … her Christmas Stocking being filled by Father Christmas!

    See? You and I are both in touch with our inner child and we can still play ‘pretend’ just like we always did.

    LOVE these little darlings, and the fantastical story which comes with them.

    Sending love ~ Cobs. x

    Reply

  10. lynne
    Dec 12, 2016 @ 18:59:22

    You are making me smile!!! I wonder if you are a Gemini as they are known for their Inner Child.
    I am thrilled that my Clan MacDeer girls have brought cheer this Monday and so happy that you added to their story.
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Reply

  11. Julie Lee
    Dec 12, 2016 @ 19:02:55

    Oh, Lynne! What a delight! I love these little creations; the settings you have placed them in and your wonderful fantasy story! You have won my heart – or should I say the clan MacDeer have? I would love to see this little tale published with your gorgeous creations as illustrations. xxx

    Reply

  12. Anne R
    Dec 12, 2016 @ 20:38:10

    Oh Lynne, thank you for making me smile and chuckle, this post is just the best! I love the adorable MacDeer girls and their fabulous story (you tell it so well Lynne) really is almost believable – I was totally engrossed. Best post of the Christmas season! Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  13. Meggymay
    Dec 12, 2016 @ 21:55:50

    Oh Lynne. I have so enjoyed my visit here today. It is a wonderful story and you did make me smile reading about the Mac Deer girls. Loved the beautiful projects and the lovely costumes you created for the deers.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  14. Christine Smith
    Dec 12, 2016 @ 22:44:47

    Ooh your Mac Deer girls are so wonderful! They look so sweet and your story is a little piece of magic! It would make a fab book! Thank you for making my day! xxx

    Reply

  15. Cynthia
    Dec 13, 2016 @ 01:07:47

    Hi Lynne!! Hope all is well. I love your deer!!! I am slowly returning to blogging….maybe in 2017 I will give it a go……again:)

    Reply

  16. michele s
    Dec 13, 2016 @ 06:16:56

    oh Lynne, these deer are so full of life and personality and your story makes me so happy! love love love this! xo

    Reply

  17. Dorthe Hansen
    Dec 13, 2016 @ 16:40:56

    You are fantastic dear Lynne, you can make me smile, like no other, when reading your amazing stories. Your imagination is so flourishing, it catches me immediately ,and I will follow you on your wonderful histories wings, always.
    The 3 sisters surely have their stories with each other, they are all dressed beautifully and rich, and with the young men swarming around them, I`m sure!!
    They are so amazing Lynne, so love you used the real fabric, and twinkling “diamonds ”
    Dorthe, xx.

    Reply

  18. Gerrina
    Dec 14, 2016 @ 13:18:30

    spooky story, but a joy to see the beautiful-magical deerladies! Hugs, Gerrina

    Reply

  19. Samantha Read
    Dec 14, 2016 @ 16:31:07

    Magical yet slightly freaky at the same time lol, love it! x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

