Winter Wonderland … A Resounding Silence (Somerset Studio Gallery)

Hello
Appearing in Somerset Studio Gallery is such a wonderful way to end the year. This assemblage is another piece I am lucky enough to have published as a Spotlight, in this issue.
Tree – Crafty Individuals CI-450
Sentiment – PaperArtsy ESN
Dinky Stencil – That’s Crafty Snowflake Background
I was trying to convey peace, stillness, on a winter day with the low winter sun dancing on the frosted landscape, the only sound the crunch underfoot on the snow impacted ground.ssglynnemcipanelTo heighten the natural and organic feel to the panel, the tree was stamped onto some mop up/under paper which does result in a less than perfect stamped impression but for this, it was exactly what I was aiming for.
When I first started to stamp, I would have thought a less than perfect stamped impression was good for only one thing, being tossed into the rubbish bin but now, there is great freedom and sense of satisfaction when a perfectly imperfect impression actually adds more to a project.ssglynnemcitwoThat’s Crafty greyboard snowflakes, oh I just love them.  The snowflake brings the eye towards the textural layers.
With the colour palette silvery white with mere hints of gold, this representing the golden glow of the winter sun.ssglynnecithreeThank you to anyone who takes the time to visit, especially at this time of the year when there is great demands on your time….so Thank You!
Wishes
Lynne

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julia - Vintage with Laces
    Dec 30, 2016 @ 07:43:51

    I love this, Lynne! It’s just fabulous. Congratulations on having this panel published!

    Reply

  2. Sue F
    Dec 30, 2016 @ 09:57:31

    Congratulation Lynne and once again, very well deserved. This is a beautiful panel and you use the image so well. I think I have that tree stamp but can’t seem to find the best way to use it. Now you’ve inspired me to try some different backgrounds.

    Reply

  3. Christine Smith
    Dec 30, 2016 @ 10:08:26

    Beautiful! Full of texture and loveliness! xxx

    Reply

  4. Annie g
    Dec 30, 2016 @ 10:45:08

    Loving all the natural elements and beautiful stamping x this is a gorgeous layout and deserves publication

    Best wishes in 2017
    Annie xx

    Reply

  5. Dorthe Hansen
    Dec 30, 2016 @ 16:05:28

    My dear Lynne, this is more than fabulous !!!
    Your background creates such gorgeous layers and the silvery white with little golden spots, gives your panel , a gorgeous kind of glow, and makes me feel the cold winter air, and my cold feet in the snow.
    I love this so much, and they must have been so thrilled to see ,also ,this creation on Stampington,and feeling it ,before publishing !! Congratulations dear friend. xxx

    Reply

  6. COrrie
    Dec 30, 2016 @ 16:10:29

    Oh Lynne, this is so very beautiful ! I love it !
    Corrie xx

    Reply

  7. Julie Lee
    Dec 30, 2016 @ 21:30:39

    Wonderful, wintry texture on this piece, Lynne. Your work with trees is always so lovely and expressive – as is all that you do. xxx

    Reply

  8. butterfly
    Dec 31, 2016 @ 14:00:14

    Glorious layered collaging, Lynne – a truly beautiful piece to round off the year. And I’ve just been admiring your Christmas day piece at That’s Crafty too – really lovely. I hope you’re enjoying these festive days, and here’s wishing you and yours a peaceful 2017.
    Alison x

    Reply

  9. Anne R
    Dec 31, 2016 @ 14:59:54

    Truly beautiful, I love how the stamping turned out and you really have conveyed a frosty, wintry feel, I can almost feel my feet crunching in the snow! I am sending you my wishes for a very Happy New Year. Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  10. michele s
    Jan 02, 2017 @ 05:42:33

    the many weathered and textured layers here are so effective and so lovely. happy new year! xo

    Reply

  11. janellmithani
    Jan 03, 2017 @ 02:46:27

    Catching up on posts I missed over the holidays. This one is so beautiful. I love the way you “imperfectly” stamped the tree. 🙂

    Reply

  12. Gerrina
    Jan 04, 2017 @ 09:37:25

    Beautiful tranquile!
    Wish you a beautiful, colorful and creative 2017! Hugs, Gerrina

    Reply

Leave a Reply

