Nature’s Retreat (Willow and Sage)

Hello
Amongst all the amazing art adventures in 2016, one would have to be articles I had in Willow and Sage.
Although I would love to dabble with bath and body products (before I discovered rubber stamps, I enjoyed blending aromatherapy oils) and I was obviously aware of Stampington & Co’s Willow and Sage magazine, it wasn’t one I was ever considering submitting to until an invitation was handed to me to submit. To have an article in the Summer 2016 issue was momentous enough but to follow that with an article in Autumn and then Winter issues, no wonder I felt overwhelmed!
In the Autumn issue of Willow and Sage, my article centres around presentation with a rustic appearance with two pockets/pouches and soap bar wraps.
I worked with:-
Zen – Character Constructions Theatre of Dreams Plate No. 8
Wellbeing Word Block – Darkroom Door
onewandslynnePaperArtsy Crunchy Wax Paper was exactly what I needed for this rustic quality I was aiming for.
twowandslynnemoncrieffThe packaging was split into two themes, one which was all about calm, relaxing, being zen,threewandslynnemwhile, in contrast, words such as energy and renew were stamped to form tags for two of the soap bar wraps.fivewandslynnemEmbellishments were quite minimal, any incorporated were wood, such as this peg and wooden leaf
sixwandslynnewith jute twine enhancing the theme.sevenwandslynnem
I have so much catching-up to do that I might not achieve it all but every now and then I am going to try and post a project which is new to the blog but old in terms of when it was made or published.
I really want to get back on track with keeping my blog active and as importantly, visiting your blogs on a regular basis.
Thank you for your visit and thank you to Christen Hammons at Stampington & Co Willow and Sage for this opportunity.
Wishes
Lynne

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annie g
    Jan 12, 2017 @ 14:50:57

    Totally love these fabulous creations Lynne..so natural and inspiring. Huge congratulations on another wonderful and much deserved publication.

    Best wishes
    Annie xx

    Reply

  2. Jo west
    Jan 12, 2017 @ 16:18:50

    Lynne, gorgeous! What perfect packaging … as a person who makes soap, I completely appreciate and adore this packaging …. you do “rustic” very very well!!!!!

    Reply

    • lynne
      May 20, 2017 @ 23:35:29

      Jo, have you considered submitting your soap to Willow and Sage?
      Rustic does seem to call my name to it, I never seem to tire of it 🙂
      Thank you always for your support.
      Wishes
      Lynne

      Reply

  3. Meggymay
    Jan 12, 2017 @ 22:03:05

    Gorgeous projects Lynne, they look so natural and textured.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  4. janellmithani
    Jan 12, 2017 @ 23:28:25

    Hi Lynne,
    These look so cozy and love the natural, vintage feel to them. Congrats on the invite and being published. That is so GREAT! 🙂 Janell

    Reply

  5. Dorthe Hansen
    Jan 13, 2017 @ 16:16:54

    Dear friend, they are really so beautiful, and would be my first choice , if I was to chose in a perfume shop ,for body products. They “sell” the feeling of honest and pure ,and feeling good,-they are wonderful packed in the was papers, and with the nature materials of wood , twines and fabrics.
    Thank you for showing all the lovely photos. xx

    Reply

  6. Julie Lee
    Jan 13, 2017 @ 17:56:21

    These look wonderful Lynne. You are so talented! Who would be able to resist products if they were packaged as beautifully as this? I am so happy that you have been published again in ‘Willow and Sage’ – richly deserved! xxx

    Reply

  7. tracy745
    Jan 13, 2017 @ 23:15:27

    Beautiful organic pieces. These have a very aged, lost and dug up from many years ago feel to them. Love them and the gorgeous embellishments. Tracy x

    Reply

  8. Anne R
    Jan 14, 2017 @ 09:37:38

    I am not at all surprised they asked you Lynne, the projects you are sharing with us today are just incredible – if I saw these in a shop I would immediately want to buy them! They have a wonderful rustic charm to them. Congratulations and so well deserved! Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  9. Sharon Bruner (inkybru)
    Jan 14, 2017 @ 22:17:30

    Once again your natural inner self has shown us incredible pieces from you. I love the idea of crinkly wax paper as part of the packaging. Who knows, you just may be contacted by a natural products company to design packaging for them! Quit blushing! Your work is wonderful and we so appreciate the way you share with us. I am always inspired by your creations. Congratulations on your Willow & Sage publication. Continuing best wishes for all of 2017! inkybru xx

    Reply

  10. Gerrina
    Jan 15, 2017 @ 12:26:25

    They look so calm that you (almost) would forget about a bath… Hugs, Gerrina

    Reply

  11. craftytrog
    Jan 18, 2017 @ 11:24:12

    Congratulations Lynne! Such wonderful textures! xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

