Love – A Simple Word (The Stampers’ Sampler)

Hello!
This week, I have decided to bring some fun and whimsy to my blog.  I have scheduled a post for each day.
The reason for such activity, I received the recent issue of The Stampers’ Sampler and so happy to see, amongst other bits ‘n’ pieces, some Character Constructions paper dolls, each with a declaration of love.
Catherine Moore’s stamps have the most amazing details and I sort of went to town on each project, detail overload!
The six paper dolls work as a collection but when I was making them, I divided them into two groups.  One of the dolls I am sharing today is from the group which features a fabulous That’s Crafty heart adhered to a wooden stick onto which the paper doll rests.
This project is approx 4″x11″… quite tall!
onelynnemccstampers
This is one of my oldest Character Constructions stamps, actually one of my oldest stamps as it was bought early on when I really started to get into stamping.  Of course there is fun in stamping and yes, even I am coming around to fussy cutting (!) but the most fun is assembling and adding details.
two
A stamped bow adorns her head with a tiny detail made from some ribbon. She holds flowers in one hand and a precious Valentine in her arm.  Can we guess that she is going to visit her Valentine or maybe this is the Valentine gift she has received!
three
Behind her, you can see that I stencilled the lovely Dinky Stencil  Long Hearts Background from That’s Crafty, stencilling with clear texture paste then painting with Frescos.
four
Peeking from beneath her lace skirt is a crinoline (from Paris Flea No. 3)
five
The wooden stick painted with Frescos and stamped with a Redlead Paperworks stamp (from this set).  The sweet, sparkly heart is from my lovely friend Dorthe.
six
With this collection I have decided to not be apologetic about the shabby style of them.  Most of what I work on these days sees me step further away from shabby chic but there are times when it just seems the perfect fit and if I am honest, when I am making something, I never approach it with the conscious thought of this will or will not be shabby, grungy or whatever, it all just happens.
Many thanks for your visit.
Wishes
Lynne

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nancy S
    Jan 23, 2017 @ 09:03:10

    Beautiful!!!!

    Reply

  2. craftytrog
    Jan 23, 2017 @ 09:12:51

    Just adore your art doll Lynne, she’s beautiful put together! Xx

    Reply

  3. Sue F
    Jan 23, 2017 @ 09:28:54

    These are so pretty and would look gorgeous decorating a dressing table. I love the colours and the detail.

    Reply

  4. Anne R
    Jan 23, 2017 @ 10:03:42

    She is so very pretty Lynne and you have dressed her so beautifully, I love her little bouquet and her skirt is delightful! The heart on heart background is gorgeous! Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  5. COrrie
    Jan 23, 2017 @ 10:42:35

    Gorgeous, I saw her in the Stampers’ Sampler ! They are all great !
    Corrie x

    Reply

  6. Annie g
    Jan 23, 2017 @ 11:58:25

    Love your beautiful paper doll Lynne x she is embellished so delicately and I love the heart and stick xx great idea x

    Hugs Annie x

    Reply

  7. Julie Lee
    Jan 23, 2017 @ 12:01:18

    Such a beautiful post, Lynne. Your dolls are always so individual and detailed: a delight! xx

    Reply

  8. gio
    Jan 23, 2017 @ 12:20:06

    How much adore your paper dolls, Lynne! Every time I see them I promise myself to make one, maybe sooner or later…

    Reply

  9. Christine Smith
    Jan 23, 2017 @ 15:17:53

    Ooh gorgeous! So detailed and on a lovely textured background too! xxx

    Reply

  10. Dorthe Hansen
    Jan 23, 2017 @ 16:07:42

    How very sweet and happy, this Valentines sweetheart is looking . With her flowers and lovenote in her hands, and the cute bow with flower, too. I love the background Lynne, -wonderful with the heart stencil, and the crackle , and showing those sweet candy colors. It is a beautiful Valentine cutie, and a great idea to mount the heart and her on the wooden stick, my dear. xxx

    Reply

  11. Hazel Agnew
    Jan 23, 2017 @ 17:48:53

    She is so elegant Lynne. Love the extra touches, the flowers are so sweet! I have that Dinky Stencil and need to use it now……head filled with new ideas already! Looking forward to seeing the sequels! Xx 😊

    Reply

  12. jo
    Jan 23, 2017 @ 19:28:27

    I love these little dolls Lynne, i saw them in Stampers Sampler. It is nice to get some lovely detailed shots. wonderfully shabby and sweet! I love that you mounted them on a stick, almost like a delicious little doll lolly!

    Reply

  13. tracy745
    Jan 23, 2017 @ 22:52:09

    Love the pretty pastels on this piece Lynne. Congratulations on all your publications. This is a beauty. Tracy x

    Reply

  14. Meggymay
    Jan 23, 2017 @ 22:52:58

    Its a beautiful art doll Lynne, beautiful materials and details.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  15. Barbara
    Jan 24, 2017 @ 00:03:50

    I love your ideas.

    Reply

  16. Catherine Moore
    Jan 24, 2017 @ 14:24:20

    I love your photos Lynne! I just wanted to soak up each and every detail.

    Reply

  17. Sharon Bruner (inkybru)
    Jan 28, 2017 @ 03:29:18

    Lynne, she is beautiful. I love making Valentine dolls! What a gorgeous Valentine she is. The lovely soft colors on the hearts behind her really add to the delicate and sweet atmosphere you’ve created around her. What an incredible skirt! I am inspired to get this stamp out again and create a Valentine for my honey! 🙂 Cheers! inkybru

    Reply

Leave a Reply

