Fragile (Somerset Studio)

Hello
I have a scheduled blog post for Wednesday but decided to sneak in a quick post which had already been drafted.
When Somerset Studio had a call for Olive submissions, I decided to go for it, not because olive is a favourite colour but as I associate it with nature and nature is a “theme” I am becoming more drawn to. Also, I have found the annual colour challenge to be that, a challenge, which I learn more and more, is so rewarding, obviously being published is the ultimate reward but the challenge to dip into colours I might not normally reach for, it is very freeing for me.
The main project I submitted, I’ll share another time but for this post, I wanted to share this collage, assemblage, call it what you will (!) which I was amazed to see in the Expressions category.
The beautiful leaf is from Redlead Paperworks Autumn Beauty Leaves set
Fragile is from a much loved Redlead Paperworks set, Fragile Nests
That’s Crafty Alterable Surfaces substrate and PaperArtsy Fresco Finish Green Olive
fragileonelynnemsomerset
This is all about texture and unusually for me, although all the usual suspects appear, I left breathing space around the stamped focal.    The texture was not me aiming to replicate anything specifically from nature but more a sense of evoking textures found in nature.
twofragilelynnem
Fragments of tree bark bring another textural element to the collage/assemblage and heightened that sense of the natural.
threefragilelynnem
I’m sure this isn’t weird for me to say – I can get so excited when textures come together – a painted scrap of found paper, a scrap of rusted fabric (plus a reminder to self to make more rusted fabric!) and stained calico and muslin.
fivefragilelynnem
Thank you so much for your visit and obviously, thank you to the Redlead Paperworks for their beautiful stamps and to Stampington and Company for printing this piece.
Wishes
Lynne

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CarolS
    Feb 21, 2017 @ 17:16:47

    Beautiful! LOVE that background!
    Hope all is well!
    Hugs my friend!

    Reply

  2. craftytrog
    Feb 21, 2017 @ 19:36:51

    Such wonderful textures, I love this card Lynne!

    Reply

  3. craftytrog
    Feb 21, 2017 @ 19:37:56

    Oops, I mean assemblage! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Kristah Price
    Feb 21, 2017 @ 21:32:58

    I love all the nature elements you have incorporated into the piece. Lovely!

    Reply

  5. Meggymay
    Feb 21, 2017 @ 22:31:41

    Gorgeous project Lynne. I have been having a catch up tonight and a browse through your awesome art work, so inspirational as always.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  6. pearshapedchris
    Feb 21, 2017 @ 23:38:37

    Such fabulous colours and textures – definitely reflects nature! Hugs, Chrisx

    Reply

  7. jo
    Feb 22, 2017 @ 03:15:19

    The background is so interesting … I love the use of the natural elements, especially the bark. Bravo Lynne!

    Reply

  8. Dorthe Hansen
    Feb 22, 2017 @ 15:46:01

    It is such a beautiful collage, I so love this Lynne, the amazing texture, you created with the colors running into each other, and that gorgeous leaf stamp, with the tiny rusty on top,-echoed in the bark, and bits od rusty fabrics- a wonderful medley dear friend, in such lovely tones of nature. xx

    Reply

  9. iampeacenow
    Feb 23, 2017 @ 05:24:09

    I love this! Beautiful.

    Reply

  10. Gerrina
    Feb 23, 2017 @ 11:05:42

    So dreamy! Hugs, Gerrina

    Reply

Leave a Reply

