She Hath Wings (Somerset Studio)

Hello
To start this new week I thought I’d share something which I made last year, submitted to Somerset Studio’s colour challenge, the colour they stipulated was Olive.  I was so thrilled to see this published in Somerset Studio Jan/Feb 2017.
Although I also submitted other projects, this was the first project made because I knew I wanted to use the stunning Character Constructions stamp, Inner Child No. 7 , a great favourite of mine.
Is she a friend to the birds, who are content with her sitting amongst them, or is it possible that she is one of them.  Some say she has the voice of the sweetest nightingale.

(That’s Crafty is stocking a selected range but Laura Holland is willing to accept any enquiries for Character Constructions stamps which do not appear on the That’s Crafty website.   If you are interested in placing a Special Order, then feel free to contact Laura)

onesomersetlynnem

A canvas board was the main substrate for this piece, with That’s Crafty MDF hearts.
The Character Constructions stamp is the focal, stamped onto a piece of leftover paper, painted with PaperArtsy Fresco and one of their glazes providing a sheen.  You can just about see the sentiment “she hath wings”,  a beautiful stamp, available from Redlead Paperworks.
All of those branches are fussy cut, yes, my hands were not so happy with me!  You can find this branch on Character Constructions Queen of Tarts Plate 1
twosomersetlynnem
I allowed them to overhang, to give them impression that she really is nestled in the branches of the tree.
In all honesty, I am not sure I achieved the faux bark effect which I was aiming for on the That’s Crafty mdf hearts.  Each has a stamped egg layered onto it, the stamped image has a thin layer of ICE Resin.
threesomerset

sixsomersetlynne
Scraps of resin paper also appear layered behind the heart and again on this piece of drifwood, layered with the Home Sweet Nest sentiment.  Such a sweet sentiment from Character Constructions.
sixlynnemsomerset
Thank you for your visit.  I am trying to draft as many posts as possible, there seems to be so much catching-up to do!
Wishes
Lynne

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jo
    Mar 20, 2017 @ 04:38:47

    Lynne, once again you have “wowed” me! Each and every detail is splendid, and right now it is reminding me of spring … which cant come soon enough!

    Reply

  2. froebelsternchen
    Mar 20, 2017 @ 07:27:40

    Wonderful ! Congrats on being publishes with this awesome piece!

    Reply

  3. Hazel H
    Mar 20, 2017 @ 08:36:27

    This is gorgeous Lynne.
    xxx Hazel.

    Reply

  4. Annie g
    Mar 20, 2017 @ 08:57:03

    Wow!!!! This is simply stunning Lynne x wonderful background details and colours with the amazing textured bark hearts and the branch, which looks amazing.
    The centre CC stamp sits perfectly there……..fabulous and deserved to be published in the Stampington Somerset Studio Magazine

    Huge hugs
    Annie x

    Reply

  5. craftytrog
    Mar 20, 2017 @ 08:57:31

    A beautiful project Lynne! I love your tree bark effect hearts.
    Have a creative week.
    Alison xx

    Reply

  6. Rita
    Mar 20, 2017 @ 09:21:13

    Wonderful hanging Lynne. I love the colours, remind me of my childhood on Islay. So natural looking. Trust your well. Hugs Rita xxx

    Reply

  7. Gerrina
    Mar 20, 2017 @ 10:08:40

    The green looks so good and fits spring perfect! Hugs, Gerrina

    Reply

  8. pearshapedchris
    Mar 20, 2017 @ 12:19:31

    What a beautiful project! I love the way she is nestling in the tree! Have a great week! Hugs, Chrisx

    Reply

  9. butterfly
    Mar 20, 2017 @ 14:27:41

    Simply beautiful, Lynne – I love the incorporation of the natural elements with the nature stamps. Glorious fresh greens too.
    Alison x

    Reply

  10. Dorthe Hansen
    Mar 20, 2017 @ 15:44:40

    It is so very beautiful, Lynne,- even not a lover of strong colors, this olive I really love, and the hide away you created for the beauty is so wonderful. I do not agree in you not having captured the look of bark, I think it is the heart shape, that “disturbe” the feeling ,because if you takes a square section, it looks exatly as bark, in my head 🙂 I love your idea of fussy cutting all the branches, what a work, and the egg inside the heart nests are perfect, it must be so lovely with the resin. It is a masterpiece, dear friend. xx

    Reply

  11. sewpaperpaint
    Mar 21, 2017 @ 20:35:02

    I love this to bits!

    Reply

  12. Samantha Read
    Mar 24, 2017 @ 10:55:28

    Ooo I do like a stick or two and wire here and there – a fantastic make Lynne 🙂 x

    Reply

  13. Catherine Moore
    Mar 27, 2017 @ 16:03:15

    Exquisite work my friend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

