Sweet Dreams (Willow & Sage)

Hello
One of the surprises in 2016 was being published in Stampington & Co’s Willow and Sage, a magazine devoted to homemade bath/beauty products.
Before I began stamping, I enjoyed blending my own aromatherapy essential oils and one day, I would really like to try making lip balms, soaps, etc but that time isn’t for now so imagine my delight when opportunity knocked on my door (actually, my laptop!) when I was approached to create packaging idea for this magazine which they, thankfully liked and published (posts can be seen HERE and HERE).  In the Winter 2017 issue  I was once again grateful to find myself published, this time taking the packaging idea further by making lavender sachets.
The springboard for this idea was, believe it or not, packaging!  When my friend Vickie mailed a gift to me, inside the box was some interesting white fabric style paper, I can only describe it as not dissimilar to tumble dryer laundry sheets but firmer and a generous size.  I was sure it would contain lavender buds but also allow the scent to emit.  I managed to make five sachets in total.
First, the bundle of three, tied together with re-cycled sari silk chiffon ribbon.  Maybe I am easily pleased but there is so much joy in knowing you have the most perfect stamp for an occasion.  I remembered the Lavender stamp from Character Constructions Mad Tea Party No. 8, it could not be more perfect to stamp onto the re-cycled tag which I painted with Gessso, with a small sprig of lavender as a sweet detail.
two
This is the trio of sachets.
triosachets
Willow and Sage is not a stamping magazine but I knew the sachets needed something, the fabric paper was too plain and yet I didn’t want to stamp anything too dominant.  It suddenly dawned on me, I had Stampington & Co stamps designed by Christine Adolph.  I used Trims 4 images
three
one
For one of the sachets, a lovely scrap of grosgrain ribbon stitched to the sachet, allowing the lavender sprig to be held in place.
9
All the stamping was done before filling the sachets with the dried lavender buds.
willowsagelynnefive
I wanted a subtle effect to the stamping and the timing was just right as my ink pad was becoming dry and ordinarily I would have re-inked but it gave me the subtle effect i wanted.
P1150629
This sachet could be presented in the white paper pocket and when removed, it can be suspended from the loop, formed from grosgrain ribbon.
P1150633
Thank you so much for your visits. With struggling to keep up with blog visits and Facebook, I did consider if I should put my blog posts on hold. It seems cheeky to try and schedule blog posts when I am struggling so much to keep up with all of you wonderful people. My concern is, if I step away for a designated period of time, that time will lengthen and then I would probably never return to keeping the blog active.
Your words of support mean a great deal to me.
Wishes
Lynne

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Renee Zarate
    Mar 28, 2017 @ 16:39:56

    So beautiful I can almost smell the Lavender!

    Reply

  2. maryinoregon
    Mar 28, 2017 @ 17:41:34

    I so look forward, Lynne, to reading your blogposts! Please find the time to keep us up-to-date with your creativity! This post was especially intriguing. My daughter has a french school and last year she offered an evening to learn about lavender production and the whole culture behind lavender in France. I offered to pick some (from my generous neighbors as I only have 1 plant) and package them in small paper packets that I had stamped first with a graphic from the Graphic’s Fairy and then sewed the edges together and put a lavender ribbon off the edge. I would have loved to have had your ideas before I came up with mine! Having the soft-hued ink pad really makes a statement! Love it! This will go into my file for the next Lavender Soirée! Merci beaucoup, Lynne!

    Reply

  3. Diana Taylor
    Mar 28, 2017 @ 18:28:31

    These are utterly delightful, you have given them such beauty and elegance. I once made lavender sachets with my students by stamping on teabag paper and although technically it worked well, they did look like herbal teabags!! The fabric paper youi’ve used is superb for the job and I love your choice of stamps – totally perfect.

    Reply

  4. jo
    Mar 28, 2017 @ 18:43:33

    Lynne, i often wonder where you find the time to do it all … I am very appreciative of your blog posts, i enjoy reading them, but if you do have to let your blog go i do understand and i am sure others will as well … as for your art … gorgeous! these sachets are wonderful and look time worn and loved … good call on not reinking … You continue to inspire me …

    Reply

  5. Annie g
    Mar 28, 2017 @ 20:41:30

    Stunningly beautiful Lynne and perfect for publishing in such a wonderful magazine as Willow & Sage. A fabulous gift idea and please continue to blog as we all love your inspirational blog posts

    TFS and hugs Annie xx

    Reply

  6. Meggymay
    Mar 28, 2017 @ 22:36:30

    I know I haven’t been as regular visiting lately Lynne , but I do look forward to calling in and catching up on your inspirational posts.
    These projects are gorgeous and many congratulations on them being published.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  7. Christine Smith
    Mar 28, 2017 @ 22:48:37

    These are beautiful! I can almost smell them! Don’t worry at all about visiting, I don’t get round as much as I would like! xxx

    Reply

  8. Sharon Bruner (inkybru)
    Mar 28, 2017 @ 22:49:07

    Lovely sachet packets, Lynne. So soft and natural looking. I love that just the perfect thing turns up in the most unexpected places. How neat for this paper to come from Vickie at this time. CC stamps are so versatile as you have shown here. The limited stamping on the packets invites one to come in for a closer look. Congrats again, Miss Lynne! Cheers! inkybru xx

    Reply

  9. Tamara
    Mar 29, 2017 @ 00:15:55

    I love seeing all of your beautiful art! And I’m so happy for all publishing that you’ve been getting! I counted in your side bar.. There are 100! Congratulations and best wishes for more happy and creative times! (fireworks and cheers! 🙂 Your sachets are so charming. Thank you for sharing your time, talents and inspiring art.. xo

    Reply

  10. Dorthe Hansen
    Mar 29, 2017 @ 10:20:25

    Oh Lynne, please, never let go of your blog, this is a place where I always find beauty and joy, and I am sure, many others with me !! Just look at these beautiful sachets, today, – I would be sad, if missing seeing your art , dear friend.
    The fabric paper is so perfect, for letting the lovely fragrance from lavender, slip through , and your chosen stamps in that dry version looks ,like they have been discovered in the attic, after years of staying there. So beautiful, with the different looks of gros grain and buds, yes please go on impressing us with your gorgeous art. xxx

    Reply

  11. pearshapedchris
    Mar 29, 2017 @ 23:20:43

    Oh Lynne! I would miss your art so much if you didn’t blog – I don’t and never will ‘do’ Facebook! Please do not worry about commenting (I’m sure most folk will say the same!) and don’t get in a knot about scheduling or not blogging everything! Now to these gorgeous little treasures – they look so delicate and must smell heavenly! Take Care! Hugs, Chrisxx

    Reply

  12. jan2bratt
    Mar 30, 2017 @ 18:31:56

    I love your lavender sachets. In fact I love most everything I have seen that you have created and I seem to be seeing you in all the magazines these days so I had to jump on over here and have a closer look. Your blog is wonderful, I have signed up for email reminders. Congratulations on having your work recognized in the bigger world, well deserved.

    Reply

  13. In Art Therapy
    Apr 01, 2017 @ 03:31:10

    The sachets are so pretty! I do enjoy seeing your lovely creations in all the Somerset magazines. I just finished reading through your instructions for Golden Hours in the Garden and Anything is Possible in the Apprentice magazine. I love your work! Thank you for sharing!

    Reply

  14. Hazel Agnew
    Apr 01, 2017 @ 18:15:36

    Love to see your work! Gorgeous fabulousness! Xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

