Dress Up (The Stampers’ Sampler)

Hello
To start the week, I thought I would share four cards which appear  in The Stampers’ Sampler.
It was actually the packaging for RELICS & ARTIFACTS, which I had also used as a substrate for this collection, HERE ,which led me to make the cards.  I deliberately limited myself to the stamps I inked up and also embellishments, you can see they are minimal, only tiny little accents.
Stamps
Character Constructions Stamps.
French Laundry  No. 11 (female/upper torso and arms) available from That’s Crafty  and direct from Character Constructions
French Laundry No. 5 (dress)
Mad Tea Party No. 8 (parasol)
Darkroom Door
Stitched Borders
The dress was stamped directly onto the re-cycled RELICS & ARTIFACTS packaging, dressing it up with tiny pieces of fabric
twocclynne
giving the gown a lacy collar.
twodetailonecclynne
This is one of my oldest Character Constructions stamps, she is much loved by me.
threecclynne
I like the way the design on the packaging shows through the stamped image.
threedetailonecclynne
Little shabby details such as Paris stamped onto some found/re-cycled paper and a fabric scrap layered with another stamped piece.
threedetailtwocclynne
What I have learned is that proportions do not need to be accurate when working with Character Constructions stamps.  It is very freeing not to be bound by such constraints although it has taken me a long time to be comfortable with doing so!
fourcclynne
A snippet of lace and pearl detail to embellish the gown.
fourdetailonecclynne
Darkroom Door stamped stitches directly onto the packaging and also onto brown found/re-cycled paper.
fourdetailthreecclynne
I like the effect the stamped stitches bring to the cards.
onecclynne
I like adding small details, tactile details.
onedetailtwocclynne
There we have it, the first post for this new week.  I don’t know about any of you but I cannot believe it is April already!
Wishes
Lynne

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christine Smith
    Apr 03, 2017 @ 23:04:13

    These are so beautiful and I love all the little details you have added! I can’t believe it is April either! xxx

    Reply

  2. Rita
    Apr 04, 2017 @ 00:13:53

    What wonderful creations Lynne. I have never seen anything like this before, love all the little details you have used in these. Hope you’re well. Hugs Rita xxx

    Reply

  3. Anne R
    Apr 04, 2017 @ 08:27:21

    What a wonderful way to recycle the packaging Lynne! The added pieces of fabric and ‘stitching’ are lovely finishing touches. xxx

    Reply

  4. Annie g
    Apr 04, 2017 @ 08:29:55

    The backgrounds look amazing Lynne as are the CC stamps. As always your fragments and pieces of fabric/buttons add to the overall appearance.

    Huge congratulations on this fabulous publication

    Annie xx

    Reply

  5. Sue F
    Apr 04, 2017 @ 08:49:05

    Beautiful cards. They’re so subtle in colour but full of detail.

    Reply

  6. froebelsternchen
    Apr 04, 2017 @ 11:45:56

    Just lovely with this special extra details!

    Reply

  7. Dorthe Hansen
    Apr 04, 2017 @ 15:54:46

    Such beautiful backgrounds ,for the CC stamps , and I, too, like how you can see it through the stamped girls, -all becomes a whole, in a most beautiful way. Your fabric pieces, laces and other tiny adds, gives it life, with the minimal color tones . They are so lovely, dear Lynne.
    Me, too- first 3 months already gone so fast, unbelievable ,it is .
    Dorthe, xxx

    Reply

  8. prbennett55
    Apr 04, 2017 @ 16:14:00

    Would love to use Character Constructions stamps, but they are so expensive. Someday I will just have to do it!

    Reply

    • lynne
      May 20, 2017 @ 23:27:10

      They certainly are beautiful stamps. One of my very first Character Constructions stamps, continues to be a favourite of mine. That’s the beauty of stamps we fall in love with. They are slightly addictive because once you have a handful, you realise that each additional purchase, immediately brings new possibilities of creating new paper dolls by mixing and matching, new stamps with old stamps. Can you tell I am passionate LOL.
      Wishes
      Lynne

      Reply

  9. pearshapedchris
    Apr 04, 2017 @ 18:57:20

    Whenever I see your art – no matter where it is, I am always amazed at your talent! I was lucky enough to receive a subscription for Stamper’s sampler so get to sit and spend time reading and poring over the details! Hugs, Chrisx

    Reply

  10. Catherine Moore
    Apr 04, 2017 @ 23:38:40

    I adore these lovely little ladies and the way you have so tenderly brought them to life in your compositions Lynne.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

