Intentions, Destiny & Following Dreams – A Wanderlust Paper Prayer Flag (Somerset Studio)

Hello
Earlier this year I had an article published in Somerset Studio, relating to a paper prayer flag I made after watching a Wanderlust 2016 tutorial from Kasia Avery.
Although I had great intentions from day one (when I signed up for 2016), to watch and work alongside the tutorials as they were released, as they say, life got in the way.  However, Kasia’s tutorial caught my eye.  I pondered why it was, that this one caught my attention so instantaneously and realised that her approach was so familiar to me.
Strangely, when I began the flag, it seemed a newer direction for me but on completion, the realisation that the process of the items I  gathered, which was all instinctively and my approach for staining the various papers and textiles, was not for me new at all. Other lessons were re-affirmed, that for me I am most content when I go with the flow and do not question choices being made once I begin a project.   Also, the importance of words and another lesson I did learn, that for me, I do not need to turn my back onto old favourites, including vintage laces, the layering of those tattered elements is my form of story telling.

I want to make it clear that I gave due credit to Wanderlust and Kasia Avery within my article and the significance of Wanderlust to me.
Stamps
Redlead Paperworks
Little Labels Celebrate Today
Labels – Believe, Create, etc
paperprayerflaglynnemoncrieffone
tagonelynne
tagonedetailone
tagtwolynne
Various resin pieces were used throughout, either stamped before the resin applied, stamped onto resin paper or simply scraps of resin paper.
tagtwodetailtwo
This wonderful Frozen Charlotte face (I think it is either paperclay or papier mache) was a gift from Dorthe Hansen.
tagtwodetailthree
The Redlead stamps are some of my absolute favourites and the Affirmation style words were exactly what I wanted for my paper prayer flag.
tagthree
Although this will not be returned to me from Stampington, when working on it, I had this idea of positive words and thoughts being carried in the breeze as the wind gently
tagthreedetailone
sways the prayer flag.
tagfour
The heart has spirit – the heart is paperclay, it is a PaperArtsy LPC stamp.
tagfourdetailone
A jumble of textiles which if this flag were displayed in a garden, would become more tattered but I believe that would only enhance the beauty of the textiles and even the papers.
tagfive
Mica tile layered to this particular stamped label.
tagfivedetailone
I am sharing my own photos but I could not have wished for a more beautifully photographed article within the pages of Somerset Studio and that is thanks to Christen Hammons and her Somerset Studio team and to generously (and surprisingly) include the presentation package which I couldn’t have imagined they would also include.
Thank you for your visit to this scheduled post.
Wishes
Lynne

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sharon Bruner (inkybru)
    May 06, 2017 @ 03:02:05

    What a beautiful banner of flags! It is incredible to me that you can have so many elements on a project without it looking cluttered. Simply gorgeous. I can image it fluttering in the breeze. The colors are so fragile, yet I have the idea of strength when I look at it. Congratulations dear friend. Cheers! Sharon xx

    Reply

  2. Sue F
    May 06, 2017 @ 08:17:10

    Such a beautiful project Lynne and carefully constructed to show all the elements off and still have a cohesive banner.

    Reply

  3. craftytrog
    May 06, 2017 @ 10:50:06

    Lynne, your prayer flags are a wonderful mix of layers, texture and colour. It was a project I really enjoyed making myself, just this week. I, too, got a great sense of satisfaction, gathering, tearing, and layering, and generally going with the flow.
    Thanks for sharing your beautiful art, and congratulations on being published.
    Alison x

    Reply

  4. Julie Lee
    May 06, 2017 @ 10:52:40

    This project is absolutely enchanting, Lynne. I am – as always – in awe of your creative gift and your style which is unmistakable but always impresses with its sense of a new way with vintage scraps and treasures. I don’t know how you were generous enough to give up this gorgeous piece, but I’m so glad that you did send it out into the world, fluttering on the wind for us all to enjoy! xx

    Reply

    • lynne
      May 20, 2017 @ 23:19:38

      You always fill your words with such kindness for me, thank you! I am always dumbfounded when people say that I have a style, that is such a beautiful compliment but one I struggle with, you are the true artist, the way you bring live and character to your illustrative creations, continually injecting the magical into your art. Me, I am just playing at it xx

      Reply

  5. Christine Smith
    May 06, 2017 @ 11:05:09

    I can see and feel this gently blowing in the wind! It’s beautiful with all the gorgeous pieces and wonderful words. Congratulations on being published! xxx

    Reply

  6. Dorthe Hansen
    May 06, 2017 @ 16:27:04

    Oh Lynne, you know I so love this amazing piece. It is in every way stunning. The laces which I also love to use, in my projects, gives such sweetness and shabby elegance to your flags, together with old lovely papers, and ribbons. Love the frame you created with rusty metal cord, and the beauty of your soft tones . Such a shame it was not returned to you, dear friend. Your own photos are beautiful, but the article, in the magazine, really shows this masterpiece with perfection. xxx

    Reply

  7. Anne R
    May 07, 2017 @ 08:19:39

    Lynne, your prayer flag is stunning, beautiful layering and wonderful designs – so worthy of being published! Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  8. corrinegilman
    May 07, 2017 @ 17:03:14

    It looks so exactly like you in every way. Love the rose tones. The embellishments and hearts and laces and ribbons really make it. xox

    Reply

  9. pearshapedchris
    May 16, 2017 @ 13:24:45

    Oh My! Looking through this I was scrolling back and to with amazement at it’s beauty! You really did excel yourself with this Lynne! Hugs, Chrisx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

