Enchant Your Life – Wooden Feather Affirmations (Somerset Studio)

Hello
I often mention Redlead Paperworks in my blog posts.  Amongst the wonderful products that Chris and Sharon create are their wooden embellishments.  When I first received some of their wooden products, I was saving them, a bad habit of mine where I want to keep items instead of enjoying the process of using them!  It was last year I challenged myself to begin using items I had been “saving”.  What a revelation it is to not be constantly placing items aside but to dive in and play!
This is what I decided to do when I paired an engraved wooden charm with a wooden is no longer trading).  The trio were published in Somerset Studio (Mar/Apr issue).  It’s difficult to express what it means to be published
This is the link to Redlead’s various engraved wood charms but if you are interested, they have many other wood products: frames, shapes such as cupcakes, mermaids, Halloween and Christmas themed, there is something for every taste.
somersetlynneonefeathers
I write, in the introduction of the article, of when I asked myself, “what are they?” We often label our projects: assemblage, wearable art, art journaling but
somersettwolynnefeathers
sometimes, a project is not as clearly defined.
somersetdetailtwolynnefeathers
Although the feathers with sentiment are suspended from beautiful silk sari ribbon,
somersetthreelynnefeathers
they are not pendants, they are something which I see as being a thoughtful gift idea for someone who needs a positive word or two, possibly displaying this somewhere that
detailthree
will catch their eye on a daily basis, possibly wrapped around a beautiful journal.
somersetfeatherthreelynne
To ensure the feathers did not become a tangled mess as they made their way from Scotland to California, I decided to create some simple individual packaging for them.  As with most ideas, it became “more” than I intended as I made little tags for each wrapped bundle.
presentationlynnemoncrieff
Each of the stamped words are from Redlead.  I cannot tell you how much I love the set which those words come from, this is the link.   I also used some of the stamps on the paper prayer flag I shared in this post HERE.
presentationtwolynnem
Stamped onto calico, it makes for a tactile, shabby label
presentationthreelynnem
with the calico layered onto various scraps of mop-ups/leftovers which had been stained with Infusions.
presentationfourlynnem
I am so grateful for the relationship I have with Red Lead, especially as they are a U.S. company.  It has been some time since I made my first Guest Designer project for them.
Have a wonderful week.
Wishes
Lynne

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thecobweboriumemporium
    May 15, 2017 @ 22:34:46

    I LOVE them, Lynne. In fact I love them so much that this is the first time I’ve ever thought…. “I wish she sold her items after she’s made them”. I so love the feathers, particularly so the ‘Have Faith’ feather.

    Feathers have always held a special place in my heart, but even more so following a conversation with my mum just before she passed on. Hence the reason that these feathers of yours have made such an impression upon me.
    They’re beautiful Lynne. Truly beautiful.
    ~ Cobs. x

    Reply

  2. Sue F
    May 16, 2017 @ 08:15:35

    Stunning work and a beautiful idea. You couldn’t help but draw inspiration and comfort from these. I’m going to look at Red Lead’s website and hope they ship to UK.

    Reply

  3. pearshapedchris
    May 16, 2017 @ 13:08:53

    Oh Lynne, I miss so much when we go away, pleased to be at home for a catch up now! These are simply gorgeous and it’s no surprise to see that they were featured in Somerset Studio so Congrats for that! Hugs, Chrisx

    Reply

  4. Let's Art Journal
    May 16, 2017 @ 14:15:37

    Beautiful pieces, I really like those wooden feathers and sayings – wonderful! Have a great week! J 🙂

    Reply

  5. denlillelade
    May 16, 2017 @ 16:37:45

    They are so beautiful, Lynne, they hold something special, I don`t know how to express it, but they make me think of beautiful Indians ,with feathers also around the neck . The sari ribbon is gorgeous, to use, holding the feather, so beautifully altered, and your packing also with the soft blue and the special words. No wonder this was a dream for Somerset Studio to publish, dear friend. Congratulations . xxx

    Reply

  6. Rita
    May 16, 2017 @ 18:01:14

    Love this Lynne, you are so talented and you make everything look so special. Hugs Rita xxx

    Reply

  7. corrinegilman
    May 16, 2017 @ 18:12:32

    Saw this in the issue, so nice and I just got in some of their fun stamps to work with in my journal’s too. xox

    Reply

  8. Tracey
    May 16, 2017 @ 22:06:35

    Oh Lynne may I first say congrats on your publication, your creations are always so aesthetically pleasing. You are a woman after my own heart at times as I see so much of what you produce in myself, with you beads and wire, trinkets and sari silks all things I keep close for myself. Maybe I need to take a leaf out of your book and start using more of these saved treasures.. as beauty is to be seen and not hidden.. Hugs Tracey xx

    Reply

  9. Kate's Scrap Yard
    May 25, 2017 @ 12:10:29

    Love your charms, Lynne. What a beautiful way you have chosen to display them. I would have never thought of wooden charms. And congrats on your getting published.
    Kate

    Reply

  10. janellmithani
    Jul 13, 2017 @ 20:35:20

    Love these, your color palette is just wonderful. There is just something about feathers…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

