Choose Positivity Journals (Somerset Studio)

Hello
I have a back-log of items to share!
This bundle of journals appear in an issue of Somerset Studio from earlier this year, although it seems like only yesterday!  Stampington & Co have been incredibly supportive, I keep waiting for the bubble to burst.
It was Christine Adolph rub-ons which inspired me to make this bundle of journals. At the time I’d had a play with the rub-ons for a D.T. project for That’s Crafty. Each sheet is packed with rub-ons so I knew I would be returning to them, to work on another project.  When I studied the words, suddenly I had the thought of using them on journal covers with PaperArtsy Infusions provide a fluid, almost watercolour effect background.

Red Lead rubber stamps used throughout.
journalsonelynnemoncrieff
The Somerset Studio article shares the technique.
braveonelynnemoncrieffsix
This is the rear side of the Brave One journal, a Red Lead stamp, stamped directly onto the watercolour paper which brings a lovely textural quality to the stamp.  Isn’t that such a great stamp?
braveonethree
With scraps, I made this little Art Girl hang tag, a little extra detail if the journal was to be a gift idea for an art friend. Art Sister is one of the other tags.
artgirltag
Throughout, I worked with Infusions,  limiting the colours I worked with so when viewed as a collection, there is harmony to the eye.
live
I like having wee areas of interest inside the covers of the journals, especially if I can utilize scraps.
choosejoythree
The textiles used to bind each journal were also stained with Infusions – yes, I do love Infusions!
bloommain
Another peek at a positive sentiment, again inside the journal cover.
bloomtwo
Red Lead stamps work so perfectly with the Christine Adolph words to strengthen the sense of positive energy.
strongtwo
If you love positive word stamps then Red Lead are amongst the very, very best.
strongrearofjournallynnemoncrieff
You can see that the foil catches the light beautifully.
joy
Something we should all try to do, if possible.
liveituptwo
Much of what I have to share are projects, like this collection of journals, made in 2016 but I want to try and make my blog a bit more active again and I’ve more older projects than newer projects to share at this particular time.
Have a lovely week.
Wishes
Lynne

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jo west
    Aug 21, 2017 @ 22:26:07

    I love that you share your art!!! These are fabulous, you always amaze me with your level of creativity!

    Reply

  2. beth b
    Aug 21, 2017 @ 22:35:54

    Beautiful work! I am especially drawn to these colors! Just gorgeous!!

    Reply

  3. Kate's Scrap Yard
    Aug 22, 2017 @ 01:20:42

    This is so beautiful! I love the watercolors and the bold color choice. Just gorgeous!
    Kate

    Reply

  4. Renee Zarate
    Aug 22, 2017 @ 10:46:46

    I love your shabby chic style!

    Reply

  5. Julie Lee
    Aug 22, 2017 @ 11:27:08

    These are just glorious, Lynne. Not only do they look wonderful, they are such a fantastic idea. I really love what you do with these ‘rub ons’ and those wonderful Red Lead stamps! xx

    Reply

    • lynne
      Aug 27, 2017 @ 12:29:54

      Julie Lee, I am so fortunate with all the companies I have a close relationship with and Red Lead, they do create the most amazing word stamps. Thank you for always being so supportive, no matter what I share xx

      Reply

  6. denlillelade
    Aug 22, 2017 @ 16:33:29

    They are all so very beautiful ,Lynne – your choice of Infusions, the golden words, of positive thinking, the gorgeous way you also add scraps dyed with the same tones and your never failing way of creating beauty, from some papers, fabric scraps, a little stamps, and colors. You are so wonderful an artist , dear friend, and I love your journals !!
    Dorthe, xxx

    Reply

    • lynne
      Aug 27, 2017 @ 12:28:49

      Dorthe, Thank You 🙂 They are like all my notebooks, such simple makes. I need to try and advance and spend time on grown-up bookmaking skills 🙂 xx

      Reply

  7. Sharon Bruner (inkybru)
    Aug 22, 2017 @ 21:31:10

    You continually amaze us with your boundless creativity! These journals are of such beauty it nearly takes my breath away. What rich, luscious colors! No wonder you love Infusions. Your blending of the colors is quite the talent, Lynne. The gold of the letters is an instant draw of the eyes. This collection certainly deserves to be published. Thank you for sharing with us and inspiring us. Cheers! Sharon xx

    Reply

  8. craftytrog
    Aug 23, 2017 @ 08:52:39

    Beautiful!!! I love the colours and bold words Lynne!
    Hope you’re having a good week,
    Alison xx

    Reply

    • lynne
      Aug 27, 2017 @ 12:28:08

      Alison, Thank You for your words.
      It’s still a struggle here, my health is behaving badly – it’s so nice to dip into here and read such lovely comments, including from you – thank you xx

      Reply

  9. Jackie PN (@PNJackie)
    Aug 24, 2017 @ 23:43:15

    Absolutely stunning journal pages Lynne! xx

    Reply

  10. pearshapedchris
    Aug 27, 2017 @ 18:54:15

    Oh My! This a stunning project Lynne! I love how the Infusions have created such lovely patterns and the words you have used are perfect! Hugs, Chrisx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

