All Dressed Up (Greencraft)

Hello
Vintage doilies are usually near to hand for me, most often as a background for photographs but also, using torn pieces in projects or some ear-rings I made (need to check back as I cannot remember if I shared the ear-rings on my Blog).  It was around the time of completing the ear-rings that I still wanted to play with doilies, that’s when the idea of hairband and hairclips came into my mind.  Along with the vintage doilies, which would meet the criteria for Greencraft magazine, I also worked with beautiful re-cycled silk sari ribbon and old buttons.  I was so very happy when Greencraft contacted me with an article request for the hairbands and hairclips, with the article appearing in the summer issue of  Stampington & Co’s Greencraft magazine.
hairbandslynnemoncrieff
The set consists of three hairbands and two hairclips, all with a distinctly vintage air to them.
hairbandsonelynnemoncrieff
The ox-blood colours brings a nice contrast amongst the ivory tones.
hairbandonelynnemoncrieff
The same handful of supplies were used throughout, playing around with placement.
hairbandtwolynnemoncrieff
This is the detail on the third hairband – only a detail because I didn’t take a photo of this hairband, by itself.
hairbandthree
The motifs were all treated the same way to provide stability, no floppy motifs!
hairclipslynnemoncrieff
I do love a sweet vintage button!
haircliplynnemoncrieff
Thank You so much for your visit to this post. I hope you are all having a lovely week and crucially, lots of art time.
Wishes
Lynne

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sharon Bruner (inkybru)
    Aug 30, 2017 @ 22:57:34

    Absolutely darling, Lynne! And so chic! These would sell like hotcakes around here! Such incredible beauty and so perfect for Green Craft! I am so happy for you getting those in Stampington’s magazine that highlights recycling our resources. Your addition of the sweet vintage buttons really are the tios! (So to speak! ;). Cheers, inkybru xx

    Reply

  2. Sharon Bruner (inkybru)
    Aug 30, 2017 @ 22:58:37

    Should have said “really are the TOPS”! 🙂

    Reply

  3. pearshapedchris
    Aug 30, 2017 @ 23:44:26

    Oh Lynne! These are yet another example of your amazing talents! They look as though they are on display in a fine Edwardian store! The combination of the colours is perfect! Hugs, Chrisx

    Reply

  4. Debbie Kaste
    Aug 31, 2017 @ 01:40:00

    These hairbands are just lovely Lynne! I can definitely see why the magazine chose them! Great job.

    Reply

  5. janellmithani
    Aug 31, 2017 @ 02:07:25

    They are all so beautiful, Lynne. I love them, especially the buttons! I am sitting here sorting a jar of buttons while I am reading your post. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Jo west
    Aug 31, 2017 @ 04:15:13

    Lynne, you always amaze me with your ability to create such beautiful projects!

    Reply

  7. Alison Hall
    Aug 31, 2017 @ 07:38:37

    Beautiful!!! I’m planning to crochet some tiny poppies to make into earrings, to sell for Remembrance.

    Reply

  8. Avril
    Aug 31, 2017 @ 08:00:39

    These hairbands are beautiful, you are so talented Lynne, I’m not surprised the magazine wanted to do an article on them.
    Avril xx

    Reply

  9. Annie g
    Aug 31, 2017 @ 08:36:59

    Your headbands are simply stunning Lynne x I love the florals created with the doilies. Huge congratulations on being published xxx
    Huge hugs Annie xx

    Reply

  10. Christine Smith
    Aug 31, 2017 @ 15:54:38

    These are absolutely beautiful ! I love them! It’s so cool they were published – so well deserved! xxx

    Reply

  11. Dorthe Hansen
    Aug 31, 2017 @ 16:18:03

    So adorable they are, dear Lynne, love the little lace/button flowers you added to them, and the different materials turned around the hairbands , makes them so different. Congratulations with them being published , they surely deserved it, and they are simply belonging in the Green Craft mag.
    Have a lovely day – xxx

    Reply

  12. Jackie PN (@PNJackie)
    Sep 01, 2017 @ 11:29:31

    Lynne, what a beautifully lovely idea!! I wish the headbands would stay on my head- I would order one! heehee
    Love the layering of those sweet doilies! Did you create the doilies? You are so clever my dear!
    hugs,Jackie xx

    Reply

  13. Julie Lee
    Sep 01, 2017 @ 21:32:26

    These are so beautiful, Lynne. I particularly love the little white buttons, which are so exquisitely vintage. xx

    Reply

  14. Kate's Scrap Yard
    Sep 02, 2017 @ 00:54:17

    So pretty and delicate! What a genius idea, Lynne. Your projects are always stunning. Congratulations on being published…again. 😉 Have a great weekend.
    Kate

    Reply

  15. In Art Therapy
    Sep 04, 2017 @ 15:08:39

    So lovely!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

