All The Promises They Made

For their June Challenge  Crafty Individuals June  set the challenge of Vintage with a heart. On setting out I had in mind to make the piece predominately stamping, keeping embellishments to a minimum and see how many CI stamps I could incorporate to create a story of love.
Here is my list of stamps used:-
One of the females from – CI-065
Linked hearts – stamp off-cut from CI
Letter – CI-214
Paris cancellation mark – CI-122
Cherish & Hope -CI-256
By Air Mail – CI-239
Postcard, carte postale and P.C. Paris – CI-307
This heart shaped hanging tells the story of a woman waiting at home for the return of her love who is at war. Surrounding her are symbols of their correspondence and love.  She sits writing another letter looking wistfully into the distance imagining his safe return to her. As he departed for  war promises are made, they will write letters each day which are represented by the letter, cancellation mark and other postal related images. We have the linked hearts symbolising their love for each other and the words cherish and hope, hope being what she has for his safe return, she has promised she will wait for him. 

I wanted a heart shaped base so hand-cut a heart from chipboard then adhered K&co paper. The paper was pretty but I wanted it aged so I  stamped postmarks, etc  randomly.  The linked hearts were stamped twice, once onto the heart and then onto K%co scrap, cutting out one of the hearts so I could layer it.The first, full image is a truer representation of the colour, the light started to change when photographing the detail.I edged the female image with lace, the lace represents the lace edging on the handkerchief which she hands to him as he departs.
A favourite of mine, stamping onto ribbon to tie it in with the theme of the artwork. Here I stamped, “carte postale”.
With other obligations, sometimes I don’t always have the opportunity to spend time on a completely stamped piece such as this,  just stamps and ink. As I really enjoy working with photo real stamps and digital images I did wonder if I would return to completely stamped projects but I have since realised that they all have a place in my crafting life and sometimes it is good to take a wee break from one as when you return to that style you enjoy it all the more.
It would be interesting to know, what type of project do you find the most happiness and contentment when working on or are you like me, that you like the variety of mixing up what you work with. It is always fun to know what makes other crafters tick. Lynne x

36 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Suze Bain
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 12:59:52

    Lynne, this is utterly gorgeous. I love how each element relates to a part of your story. I think we all go through phases where we just concentrate on one type of crafting but that makes it all the more refreshing when we again try something different. Good luck with the challenge. xx

    Reply

  2. valerie.Jael
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 13:07:02

    Lovely work with such a sweet story to it – sigh! Well done, Lynne! Valerie

    Reply

  3. Trishia Jacobs
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 13:39:32

    Bonjour, Lynne, I like it all, but the stamped ribbon grabs me! I content myself with digital creations right now, but … if I ever get an art station set up again….!!

    Reply

  4. chris richards
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 13:46:06

    Hi Lynne, a beautiful work of art and a lovely story !!
    hugs
    chris richards

    Reply

  5. Marilyn J. Rock
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 13:53:01

    The heart shape is and has always been my favorite. I love your vintage heart!!!! Beautiful! xxoo

    Reply

  6. Daniella
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 14:19:02

    Such a beautful piece!! And the story to go with it!! Fabulous!!
    I rotate my supplies every time I make something, I think. A week ago, I made a ton of stuff with stamps, and for my last project, only a few. I just love them all!!

    What is that challenge you were talking about?
    xxDaniella

    Reply

  7. Cynthia Schelzig
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 14:22:56

    Gorgeous heart!! You KNOW how I like to mix up my life with art…one day painting watercolors the next stamping the next bookbinding,,,,,the list goes on actually and I feel the one compliments the other …there is always “spill over” from one technique to the other and true what you say…it gives you a break from one to the other.

    Reply

  8. craftytrog
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 14:47:25

    What a beautiful piece of vintage art Lynne! So many wonderful details! x

    Reply

  9. Milla
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 16:33:49

    This is beautiful, Lynne! Love all the details and the story behind it.

    Reply

  10. Joan
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 16:39:12

    Wow, this is totally fabulous and I love how you have told the story to go with it. I love to stamp but also experiment with other stuff, my favourite is to play with paint, inks and messy stuff but as I’m often making for specific occasions I don’t get to do that as often as I would like. Your blog is truly inspirational.

    Reply

  11. Dot Arnott
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 17:00:37

    This is so pretty, and you always conjure up such interesting stories to go with each piece Lynne.

    Dotxx

    Reply

  12. Willy
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 17:34:42

    Absolutely stunning piece, Lynne!

    Reply

  13. Lynn Stevens
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 17:40:39

    What a stunning collage! I just Love everything you do!
    hugs Lynn

    Reply

  14. Marilou
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 17:42:09

    Beautiful Lynn, I love changing it up and trying new things and different methods, products, ect. all the time, that is part of the fun and challange!

    Reply

  15. Debbie Painter
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 17:44:26

    Another amazingly stunning piece! I continue to marvel in your creativity!! Debbie

    Reply

  16. laury55
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 18:01:58

    so lovely…love all the details

    Reply

  17. Ira
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 19:04:30

    Fabulous composition Lynne, the stamps you’ve been working with are superb and as a whole I just {HEART} it! Hugs, Ira x

    Reply

  18. Jean Hardy
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 19:30:31

    Gorgeous work Lynne, and a lovely story too. Thanks! Jean

    Reply

  19. Marjie Kemper
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 20:02:40

    Another beautiful piece, Lynne. So romantic, too! I also like working on a variety of different projects at the same time, but usually find I need inks and stamps to be part of whatever it may be.

    Reply

  20. Terry
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 20:49:28

    Not only is the vintange hanging heart you created so lovely, but so is the story! Beautiful as always, Lynne! Hugs!

    Reply

  21. Eve
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 21:11:43

    beautiful work, Lynn! At first, i saw the pics, and imagined the story behind it, and read your post, and that was exactly what i imagined!! wow, Fabulous piece!! 🙂

    Reply

  22. Jackie Nobles
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 21:19:20

    What a lovely piece. I like to try a variety of things as well, but my favorite is anything with fabric. Your blog is truly an inspiration.

    Hugs, Jackie

    Reply

  23. Sharon
    Jun 24, 2011 @ 01:13:15

    Just beautiful Lynne and so much thought with the story and putting it all together!

    Reply

  24. Connie
    Jun 24, 2011 @ 01:49:32

    I really enjoyed your completely stamped heart. So beautiful, I especially like the pink accents in the heart. Somehow it just brings everything out. You are such a talented stamper and a fantastic story teller too!

    I personally enjoy working with wax the most but stamping has become a very close second. I have been combining the two lately (still need to post those) and I really, really like it.

    Reply

  25. Siobhan Fyffe
    Jun 24, 2011 @ 06:10:19

    I love the story. And what a beautiful piece!! So much detail. As always your pieces are so inspiring.
    Siobhan

    Reply

  26. Nancy Maxwell James
    Jun 24, 2011 @ 12:10:25

    I love this gorgeous heart! so many beautiful stamps and lovely composition. I hope you are doing well m’dear! Have a wonderful weekend!

    Reply

  27. gerri herbst
    Jun 24, 2011 @ 12:17:00

    dearest Lynne,
    simply breathtaking…your story is wonderful too. Don’t you love when the story and piece come together so well. Fabulous….Me I like to mix it up, my brain explodes with ideas so thats why Ill do a stamping, collage , make jewelry or decorate a box. I like to mix it up for my blogger friends too, so they can be surprised each day. Have a lovely weekend, thinking of you, gerri

    Reply

  28. Cathy
    Jun 24, 2011 @ 12:49:17

    I love your stamped heart. I like to do a variety of things in my paper crafting.

    Reply

  29. Debbie Kaste
    Jun 24, 2011 @ 13:10:18

    This is just lovely, Lynne. The story is sweet too, just like you:) In answer to your question, I like to mix things up but projects often take on a life of their own…..lol! Happy Friday….
    – DebbieK

    Reply

  30. The Sparkly Fairy (Emma)
    Jun 24, 2011 @ 14:49:28

    Beautiful – what a great idea!

    Reply

  31. Jack
    Jun 24, 2011 @ 23:44:02

    Oh wow Lynne, another stunner! There is so much to look at here, it’s just fabulous. xx

    Reply

  32. Shelly Schmidt
    Jun 25, 2011 @ 00:56:08

    I love your projects- and am green with envy how much time you have to accomplish it!

    Reply

  33. AJ
    Jun 25, 2011 @ 05:25:21

    simply beautiful…

    Reply

  34. Julia - Vintage with Laces
    Jun 25, 2011 @ 08:11:20

    That’s very pretty, dear Lynne!
    Hugs,
    Julia

    Reply

  35. Marie
    Jun 26, 2011 @ 17:48:30

    Tress chic and well done,Lynne! Thanks for sharing.
    Hugs,
    Marie

    Reply

  36. Penny
    Jun 28, 2011 @ 01:10:23

    You create the most wonderful stories with your pieces, Lynne. I love all the elements you’ve combined. You always make gorgeous art no matter what you’re dabbling in 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment