Silken Wings (Somerset Apprentice)

Hello
This post relates to Autumn last year when I had an assemblage published in Somerset Apprentice (Autumn 2016).  Although I made an appearance in this magazine once before, as a “From The Pros”, this was my first article.
Somerset Apprentice has a different approach to other Stampington titles, with stepped-out projects, lots of detail photos, they are really tutorials.
This project was one of my most rewarding to work on, enjoying the creating and gathering of textures although always (and I do mean always) there are many changes I would make to it.
The assemblage has made an appearance from Stampington sharing it but I never got around to posting it until now.
A few shout-outs for some of the fabulous products:-
That’s Crafty – white/greyboard panel and Dinky Stencil
Darkroom Door  Wings stamp set
Redlead Paperworks – Silken Wings
onelynnemsilkenwings
What has struck me, is that I do not take the pretty, feminine route with nature,  I enjoy exploring neglect, derelict almost industrial, trying to evoke a sense of an area which is broken down, dis-used buildings with rusted metal and broken masonry, where a wildflower might be seen to burst through the cracked concrete ground.
In my introduction for the stepped-out project in Somerset Apprentice, I talk about this.
twolynnemoncrieffsilkenwings

threelynnemoncrieffsilkenwings
This Dinky Stencil (my preferred way of working is only randomly stenciling here and there and not actually working with the stencil as a whole) was an immediate favourite when I received it and continues to remain a much-loved stencil.
fourlynnemoncrieffsilkenwings
The gathering of textures was important for the feeling I was trying to convey, even the smallest fragment brings “something” to the piece as a whole.
fivelynnemoncrieffsilkenwings
It will all sound rather “deep” but the piece of tree bark symbolises the loss of trees, pushed aside to pave way for residential or industrial areas.  Those boundaries on the edges of towns and cities where once,  there would have been an abundance of natural habitat for wildlife.  I see it where I live, it is a landscape in contrast to that which I remember from childhood.
sixlynnemoncrieffsilkenwings
Thank you so much for your visit.  It feels good to be scheduling some regular blog posts and catching-up with projects that are getting to be months and months old!
Wishes
Lynne

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rita MacGranthin
    Jan 30, 2017 @ 22:46:41

    Absolutely Stunning Lynne. You do this wonderful work as only you can, and it really is so spectacular. Feeling a lot better and enjoyed a crafty day today. Hope you’re well and continue with your special pieces. Hugs Rita xxx

    Reply

  2. Annie g
    Jan 30, 2017 @ 22:55:48

    This is right up my street Lynne x Love the fabulous background and embellishments/fragments…………..totally grungy x
    TFS Annie x

    Reply

  3. Barbara
    Jan 31, 2017 @ 07:49:44

    This is quite wonderful. I am venturing more and more into Mixed Media and I love what you have done here. Thank you.

    Reply

  4. Hazel H
    Jan 31, 2017 @ 08:20:01

    This is amazing Lynne – lots of lovely textures and I love how you’ve put all the elements together.
    xxx Hazel.

    Reply

  5. Anne R
    Jan 31, 2017 @ 08:51:27

    So wonderfully natural Lynne. I love the muted tones and the amazing texture you have created with all the elements. The dragonfly is gorgeous and the words are perfect to describe it! Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  6. beth b
    Jan 31, 2017 @ 10:35:22

    I love the “story” behind your work. It makes it so meaningful! Beautifully done, as always!

    Reply

  7. Dorthe Hansen
    Jan 31, 2017 @ 16:55:30

    This I loved already seeing it in the magazine, dear Lynne.I love exactly what you call the neglect ,the broken down building , all the feeling of a place, not taken care of, I find so much joy in seeing these creations from you , with nature items and rust, together with a beautiful stamp. You create really magic in these pieces – Hug from me. xx

    Reply

  8. inkybru
    Jan 31, 2017 @ 18:01:04

    Lynne, I do think these are some of my very favorite works that you have created. I love seeing beauty rise up from a neglected area. You have captured that with your grunge paste and bits and pieces and fragments of scrappy materials and netting. As always, you are an inspiration. Cheers! Inkybru xx

    Reply

  9. Let's Art Journal
    Jan 31, 2017 @ 18:08:06

    Wow, this is an amazing piece – the colours and textures are stunning, I wouldn’t change a thing :-). Happy Tuesday! J 🙂

    Reply

  10. craftytrog
    Feb 01, 2017 @ 19:26:32

    Beautiful textures! I love this Lynne! xx

    Reply

Leave a comment