A Deadly Incident (Published in The Stampers’ Sampler)

Hello Everyone
In my head I had all those plans for October being a month of Halloween Happenings and yet here I find myself with October underway already, how did that happen?!
What I do have to share with you is something I actually made as part of a collection of Halloween themed cards which I submitted to Stampington & co’s Take Ten however I was thrilled to discover all of the cards published in the Jul/Aug/Sept issue of The Stampers’ Sampler as a feature which they titled Apothecary.
To prevent this post from being too long I have decided to share only one card but if time allows then I will share at least another one or two between now and Halloween.
If you are on the look out for Halloween stamps then I cannot speak highly enough of the selection available from Oxford Impressions and no, that is not because I am on their DT, I have always been a fan of Oxford Impressions stamps long before I had my dream come true of being a DT member.  Visit HERE to view and also you will find that in the U.K., That’s Crafty also stocks some of the Oxford Impressions Halloween sets (alongside other non-Halloween themed stamps from Oxford Impressions).

You will find the stamp set which I used on this card, Dr. Coffin’s Apothecary at That’s Crafty.DIGITAL CAMERA
I have to say that I like working on a collection of cards because in a strange way, it really does not seem to take that much longer to create a second or third or even fourth card because all the supplies are out and then of course I can mix ‘n’ match bits of this and that.   However it is at those times that I desperately wish I had more room to spread out my supplies!
The usual suspects of tea and coffee are what I used to stain the tag and I also used dissolved walnut ink crystals.

I was conscious of the time element for making each card, after all I was submitting them to Take Ten.  A big time saver is that I always stain a batch of tags at a time so that when I am in need of one I do not have to spend time staining the tag which the way I do it is a little bit time-consuming.

DIGITAL CAMERAWhen I stain tags I also stain fabric, lace, seam binding, really whatever is to hand!  I had obviously stained this fragment of fabric so all I needed to do was stamp onto it before attaching to the tag.DIGITAL CAMERALike I said, I will every now and then share some Halloween cards, etc with you between now and the 31st of October.
As always, thank you so much for your visit.
Wishes
Lynne

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 3renee
    Oct 08, 2014 @ 01:46:21

    Thanks for sharing your time saving hints. Awesome tag!!

    Reply

  2. Anne R
    Oct 08, 2014 @ 08:40:07

    Congratulations on getting the collection published Lynne. As you know, I love Halloween so this is a real treat for me! I love the wonderful background you created and all of the detail – that is a great name for an Apothecary too! Anne xx

    Reply

  3. Dianne
    Oct 08, 2014 @ 11:22:19

    Wow Hello Miss Lynne this is gorgeous, love all the staining, I’m not really a Halloween person but you made this so elegantly created and appropriately named, who wouldn’t fall in love with your creation, I love the idea of just coloring the tags ahead, what a glorious sight that would be all the tea and coffee stained things lying about, I really must give this a go, maybe on the weekend, thanks for sharing this and I can’t wait to see the others Please, your creations are always so inspiring. Hope you have a lovely week, ((( BIG HUGS )))..

    Reply

  4. Julie Lee
    Oct 08, 2014 @ 11:34:39

    I love the staining on this, Lynne. It looks wonderfully aged and spooky! I have so little space in which to create, as I have no craft room – what a good idea to stain a whole batch of surfaces, fabrics, trims and so on while all the supplies are gathered and then they are ready to use for future projects. Thank you, Lynne, not only for the wonderfully atmospheric tag; but also for that tip! Congratulations on your publication too! You give so much pleasure and inspiration to so many! 🙂 xxx

    Reply

  5. Dorthe
    Oct 08, 2014 @ 12:46:07

    Dear Lynne, -so love this aged look you are a master in creating, and the wonderful Dr. Coffin’s Apothecary stamps, looks fantastic on the coffee/tea background .Your extra`s in form of the R stamped on that heavy fabric, and the string looks GREAT ,and gives gthe last touch of something little scary !!
    Sending you hugs ,dear friend.
    Dorthe,x

    Reply

  6. Corrie
    Oct 08, 2014 @ 17:45:11

    I had a look back in this Stampers’ Sampler and they are all wonderful ! Great article and great cards !
    Corrie x

    Reply

  7. craftytrog
    Oct 08, 2014 @ 18:14:35

    A fabulous spooky card Lynne!
    Congratulations! x

    Reply

  8. barnie
    Oct 08, 2014 @ 21:13:47

    Congrats on being published again. Yes, the Oxford Halloween stamps are gorgeous 🙂 Your creation looks fantastic.

    Reply

  9. Gery
    Oct 08, 2014 @ 22:37:26

    Lynne, I share your love for the Oxford Impressions stamps.
    Love them, because they are so different from the usual stamps, do you know what I mean by that?
    We don’t do much Halloween in Holland and to be honest, I am not fond of the spooky stuff :-))
    You made a great tag and it’s always a big compliment to be published, so congrats to that.
    Groetjes Gery

    Reply

  10. Hazel
    Oct 09, 2014 @ 09:12:45

    I love your spooky card Lynne – it’s brilliant.
    xxx Hazel.

    Reply

  11. Ira
    Oct 09, 2014 @ 19:22:47

    Awesome tag Lynne, I love Halloween, although I won’t be able to decorate the house this year (due to time shortage, alas…) But thank goodness I’m able to enjoy your wonderful creation, which allows me the absorb the atmosphere 😉 Take care, Ira x
    Ira’s Crea Corner

    Reply

  12. michele s
    Oct 10, 2014 @ 07:12:27

    gorgeously spooky! love it. xo

    Reply

  13. Samantha Read
    Oct 10, 2014 @ 13:35:16

    Congratulations being published Lynne, it’s a gorgeous spooky creation 🙂
    Wishing you a great weekend, hugs from Poppy and me xxx

    Reply

  14. butterfly
    Oct 11, 2014 @ 02:02:05

    Too, too cool – I love the vintage elements against the crisp white background… another worthy publication honour, Lynne! Sorry I’ve missed so much – looking forward to some proper catching up soon.
    Alison xx

    Reply

  15. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    Oct 13, 2014 @ 21:12:00

    Perfect effects and that skull and crossbones is just perfect too!
    Now I am off to catch up with you and your creativity over at That’s Crafty
    oxo

    Reply

  16. coco
    Oct 14, 2014 @ 22:17:02

    Oooh, this one too is FANTASTIC!!!! xxx

    Reply

  17. Marjie Kemper
    Oct 17, 2014 @ 14:25:08

    Oh, Lynne, this is fab! And working in batches is SO smart.

    Reply

  18. Trackback: It’s Begun! | Ain't That Artsy Fartsy

Leave a comment