The Star In The East

Hello Everyone
I have some festive samples to share with you which I created with two of the latest Crafty Individuals releases.
On receiving CI-448 Star In The East I knew I wanted to work with sandy tones with shimmer provided from hints of metallics here and there.  If I were making the cards all over again I would mat them onto watercolour paper but isn’t that just the way of it. The cards ended up being more heavy handed than I had in my mind.  I might go back to them another time.
In real life the cards catch the light but haven’t quite done so in the photographs, hopefully you get a gist.noellynnemoneOn each card I decided to also work with the Festively Curly Word Elements set.
All the papers were painted, the darker piece, re-cycled Kraft packing paper which I stained with Frescos, Brushos and metalics, with torn pieces of painted deli paper and finally the sentiment and focal stamp, stamped onto painted watercolour paper.  There is a wash of metallic paint onto the watercolour paper, not that you can see that. noellynnemoncriefftwoMy dear friend Dorthe gifted some beautiful fabric, in my ignorance I cannot tell you if it is a satin or silk.  It is a gorgeous copper colour with a lovely hint of green.noellynnemoncriefffour
The second sample is slightly more restrained and out of the three.  I made this one first but at the time I thought I needed the addition of mica flakes so marched on ahead adding the flakes to the other two samples.  When I looked at them as a trio, I feel I should have stepped away from the mica flakes!peacelynneoneThis little detail is the star on the focal stamp, stamped on a scrap piece of the painted watercolour paper, with a coil made from rusty wire to embellish the centre of the star.peacelynnetwoThe third and final sample. silentnightlynneoneOnce again with a Festively Curly Word.silentnightlynnetwoAlthough I prefer neutrals, I would also like to try this stamp with a more jewel like colour palette as the stamped image might work quite well with such colours.
Thank you for your time in visiting this blog post. I know Christmas seems such a long way off and I haven’t given much thought to my own Christmas card/gift making but as those stamps are new releases I thought I would go ahead and share now.
Wishes
Lynne

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sharon
    Oct 09, 2015 @ 23:07:37

    Oh so beautiful & peaceful Lynne!

    Reply

  2. candycolwell
    Oct 09, 2015 @ 23:07:41

    Lynne….such a lovely vintage Christmas card! I guess it IS getting to be that time of year again. Hard to believe. Anyway, your monochromatic card is exquisite. Thank you for your kind comments on my blog about my Halloween Haunted House!

    Reply

  3. Julie Lee
    Oct 09, 2015 @ 23:55:53

    These cards are so unusual and they remind me somehow of how magical Christmas always seemed when I was a child. They recall to me illustrated books with the little town of Bethlehem at the centre. I love the little details of ribbon, buttons and lace. Dorthe is such an inspiration and she does find the loveliest lace and trims too. xx

    Reply

  4. Lynn Price
    Oct 10, 2015 @ 00:19:15

    These are magical, Lynne! Not only vintage, but somehow they feel as though they are tapping into a precious childhood memory…and personally, I love the mica! Amazing! xxx Lynn

    Reply

  5. Valerie-Jael
    Oct 10, 2015 @ 06:50:18

    Wonderful work! Hugs, Valerie

    Reply

  6. Avril
    Oct 10, 2015 @ 08:18:19

    Gorgeous cards Lynne, love the soft vintage look you’ve given them.
    Avril xx

    Reply

  7. Anne R
    Oct 10, 2015 @ 08:19:49

    I really do like all three and the mica on the first one does not look too much at all and Dorthe’s fabric looks perfect on it. I love that little town scene, just perfect for so many styles of Christmas cards – the third card is my personal favourite, the layout really appeals to me but they are all beautiful! Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  8. craftytrog
    Oct 10, 2015 @ 08:48:45

    These are so beautiful Lynne, and perfectly embellished with the pretty fabric and buttons!
    I am feeling much better now, hope you are too.
    Have a wonderful weekend!
    Alison xx

    Reply

  9. Rachel Fisher
    Oct 10, 2015 @ 09:04:04

    just beautiful Lynne – the lace looks amazing and the sandy tones work perfectly with that image – brilliant Lynne! Hugs rachel x

    Reply

  10. annie g
    Oct 10, 2015 @ 09:05:20

    wonderful layers and details Lynne x Love the stamps and the way you have showcased them is beautiful

    Have a lovely weekend

    Annie xx

    Reply

  11. Meggymay
    Oct 10, 2015 @ 14:09:57

    Gorgeous vintage projects, they are lovely new images.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  12. Autumn
    Oct 10, 2015 @ 15:45:13

    Oh my goodness!!! I’m so into these designs. Perfection in paper. Love!!!

    Reply

  13. Fliss
    Oct 10, 2015 @ 16:09:21

    Vintage style gorgeousness Lynne and all fabulous!
    Fliss xx

    Reply

  14. Dorthe
    Oct 10, 2015 @ 16:13:19

    Dear Lynne, your cards hold all the magic of christmas, which I love, even as adult
    Such beautiful in neutral tones, with the gold flickering here and there, -you know I love glitter and mica, and on these cards it looks wonderful , –giving the feeling of candles lit with the light making all things glow and glitter –even I understand what you mean, when seing the first one ,you created, having a more clean and pieceful look. . The stamps are so beautiful, — looks like Bethlehem , and the magic East ,where Jesus was born, and your choice of dark brown background makes it pop, so lovely . Dear friend, you are not more ignorant than I am, as I also am not sure what the fabric is , lets just say it is lovely, and I`m happy ,you can use it. It looks beautiful with the buttons .
    Dorthe, xx

    Reply

  15. Sanderella's
    Oct 10, 2015 @ 17:09:19

    Just beautiful!!!

    Reply

  16. Samantha Read
    Oct 12, 2015 @ 12:59:29

    Sanderella just said it! Beautiful Lynne. Another stunning treat for my eyes.
    Big hugs from Poppy and me xx

    Reply

  17. butterfly
    Oct 15, 2015 @ 12:14:00

    Love the townscape and the soft sandy neutrals – beautiful!
    Alison xx

    Reply

  18. Shari T.
    Oct 16, 2015 @ 16:32:25

    Hi Lynne!! Happy Friday to you my Friend!! My goodness Lynne–Look at these cards!! This trio of Christmas cards are truly magical. All of the little details you’ve included on each creation are perfect…the mica flakes, buttons, the beautiful fabric from Dorthe, and that little coil of rusty wire–Just WOW!! I love the crinkly papers on each card, too! Beautiful cards!! XOXO-Shari

    Reply

  19. corinne
    Oct 17, 2015 @ 21:29:33

    All three cards are glorious dear Lynne, and in the honour of this wonderful Christmas village and words we were so lucky to receive once again!…
    I love the details of the added ribbons, especially the one in copper satin (or similar) that your friend Dorthe offered to you… The beauty of the details you always take time to create make all the difference!
    Hugs and love, Coco xxx

    Reply

Leave a comment