Listen To The Trees

Hello Everyone
At Crafty Individuals, the March challenge is already underway.
For this month, Sylvie has chosen the theme, ‘BOXES OF ALL SORTS’.  As always, this is open to your own interpretation.
Here are the usual guidelines:

CHALLENGE GUIDELINES

To enter this month’s Crafty Individuals Challenge please put together your chosen project, which must include at least one Crafty Individuals product please, then post your Challenge project on your Blog, before the end of the month, and include a link back to the Crafty Individuals Blog.
At the end of the month, Sylvie will choose five lucky participants, each of whom will win a CI rubber stamp of their choice, and don’t forget that as per usual, once you have linked in your creation, you can also claim a lovely 25% discount code to use on anything you purchase from the CI Website, which will be valid to use until the 10th of April.
Further details can be viewed HERE.
For my own samples for the challenge I knew I wanted to work with one of Crafty Individuals most recent releases, CI-450, Listen To The Trees.  This is such a beautiful stamp set and a new direction for CI as it is an A4 stamp sheet.  I also knew the dimension of the tree stamps would be suitable for some wooden boxes I had.boxeslynnemoneOn each box I wanted to achieve, a textural, bark-like appearanceboxeslynnemtwoas though the boxes were fashioned from tree bark and not what they actually were in reality, some very inexpensive,  insipid wood boxes.sixlynnemoncrieffWith trees stamped directly onto the lids, after staining, I suppose I was hoping to achieve the appearance of the images being wood-burned.boxesthreelynnemoncrieffIt can be difficult for me to “step away” from the scraps and fragments I like to litter any projects with but I  knew I wanted an overall restrained appearance to each box however I just had to ink up the lovely sentiments(which are also Crafty Individuals stamps). Stamping onto bark helps bring a little textural element to each lid.fourboxeslynnemoncrieffThroughout this month, periodically Jean will share team samples on her Blog and of course you can read further Challenge details over there also.
It would be lovely to see you entering your art for this challenge.
Many thanks for your visit.
Wishes
Lynne

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. butterfly
    Mar 07, 2016 @ 03:55:56

    Wonderful warm sepia tones, and great textures. Those trees are just stunning – I ordered them just before I came away and this makes me really long to get back to my craft table and play.

    Thank you for your message over at WL – I haven’t been able to keep up with it either, though I’m determined to do some catching up at some point – but being away from home for so long has made it impossible for now. I’ve also been a very poor visitor – but the internet connections have been poor so that’s my excuse – apart from being stupidly busy and trying to make the most of any spare time for some sight-seeing of course!
    Alison x

    Reply

  2. Valerie-Jael
    Mar 07, 2016 @ 05:43:57

    Love those barky boxes! Hugs, Valerie

    Reply

  3. craftytrog
    Mar 07, 2016 @ 08:33:38

    These are wonderful Lynne! I love the tree theme, and stamping onto bark is a perfect touch! xx

    Reply

  4. Sue F
    Mar 07, 2016 @ 08:50:02

    Very effective Lynne and they do look like you’ve used pyrography for the design. I like the wood grain effect you’ve achieved on the flat surfaces.

    Reply

  5. Gerrina
    Mar 07, 2016 @ 09:10:44

    The boxes aren’t recognisible anymore; they look beautfully old! The treeset is such a great set (think you connot have too many treestamps:) ) and they fit perfectly! Hugs, Gerrina

    Reply

  6. COrrie
    Mar 07, 2016 @ 10:03:09

    You achieved a great look ! Love them and the sentiments are perfect !
    Corrie x

    Reply

  7. Christine Smith
    Mar 07, 2016 @ 11:30:33

    Your boxes look wonderfully old. I love those tree stamps and they look fab on your boxes xxx

    Reply

  8. gio
    Mar 07, 2016 @ 12:51:18

    Wow, such a gorgeous, rusty look, amazing, Lynne!

    Reply

  9. corrinegilman
    Mar 07, 2016 @ 14:42:45

    Wonderful textured work. xox

    Reply

  10. Dorthe
    Mar 07, 2016 @ 16:33:16

    They are looking so real to me, both the “wood burning ” of the trees, and the bark look of the boxes, makes me admire your skills , over again, Lynne. There is so much texture, giving the amazing result of the bark look, and then I love the words you added.
    So very beautiful.
    xxx

    Reply

  11. Yvonne Whaley
    Mar 07, 2016 @ 21:26:14

    Fabulous boxes, they have a wonderful vintage ages look.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  12. coco
    Mar 08, 2016 @ 15:32:05

    Hi Lynne,
    Happy to hop over to your blog again! 🙂
    Especially to see this at start… I LOVE the textural, bark-like appearance you have succeeded to put onto your inexpensive boxes, what a brilliant idea! The trees featured on the lid are simply fabulous, combined to the texture and the beautiful sepia colours. Great take on the challenge my friend. Hugs, Coco xxx

    Reply

  13. sharon
    Mar 10, 2016 @ 10:12:47

    Wow how clever and rustic looking!! Amazing!

    Reply

  14. Jackie P Neal
    Mar 10, 2016 @ 13:16:49

    just lovely Lynne! So organic and natural- and i love those tree stamps! xo

    Reply

  15. Samantha Read
    Mar 11, 2016 @ 12:22:24

    Oh my Lynne these are just stunning!

    Reply

  16. Shari T.
    Mar 13, 2016 @ 16:54:37

    Oh My Goodness, Lynne!! Spectacular boxes!! They do look like they’ve been carved out of a tree with the bark still attached–WOW!! Now, what to fill them with 😉 🙂 XOXO-Shari

    Reply

  17. sewpaperpaint
    Mar 13, 2016 @ 18:06:17

    This stamping on wood is tremendous! Love these!

    Reply

  18. Jane Castle
    Mar 16, 2016 @ 18:45:26

    Gorgeous boxes, very unique X

    Reply

  19. AliceP
    Apr 01, 2016 @ 22:56:51

    Breathtaking boxes, you are very talented!!

    Reply

Leave a comment