Somerset Art Gals (Somerset Studio)

Hello
Trying to catch-up with projects from last year so I thought I would share my Somerset Art Gals.
This is the Art Gals as they stand side-by-side but I thought it fun to share each Art Gal in detail so I’ve drafted one post a day for three days.
They were published as an article in Somerset Studio Sept/Oct 2016
Stamp Supplies
Paper doll elements – Character Constructions stamps
Art Related Words, Paintbrushes, Paint tubes and Pencils – Darkroom Door
Stamps on outsize wooden peg – Redlead Paperworks
artgallstriolynnemsstudio
If you read Stampington & Co magazines, you will know they include Artist Papers, quality papers.  In all the years I’ve read their magazines, this was only the third time I’d used the papers.  I always wanted to save the papers within the magazines and also, I rarely use pattern papers, enjoying making my own backgrounds or my real love – any found papers.
On an absolute whim – which came about when I thought of turning some Character Constructions paper doll stamps into artists, I had the idea that a vibrant Artist Paper was what they needed, with me adding my own touches with Fresco Finish paint, to make the paper my own.
They were never going to only be paper dolls, each Art Gal is attached to a huge wooden peg, this enables the dolls to be free standing but also a place for creative notes to be attached, To Do List or a collection of favourite quotes.  I don’t have their dimensions but they are tall.
artgallynnem
All Art Gals should wear a beret, especially with Parisian polka dots (paint pen), adorned with vintage trims.
She is a messy one, with smudges of paint on her face. I think we can all relate!
phototwoartgaal
Her brushes are well used but that doesn’t mean they are not much loved – she just never seems to be able to keep her tools pristine.
photothree
She doesn’t believe herself to be an artist, much more comfortable with the term crafter but maybe, one day, she will view herself differently.
fourphotoartgallynne
Thank you for the time you spend here, I appreciate your time is precious.
Have a wonderful week and I’ll return soon with the other Somerset Art Gals.
Wishes
Lynne

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Samantha Read
    Feb 13, 2017 @ 15:44:26

    Oh just look at them!! They’re adorable Lynne! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Sharon Bruner (inkybru)
    Feb 13, 2017 @ 19:26:15

    I love this little pixie face! What a sweet dress this artist paper makes. I, too, tend to save the Stampington papers and find it hard to cut into them. Love the sash you put around her waist. The beret is adorable and just fits her personality. I can definitely relate to not being able to keep tools pristine! The lace and the tags are a great signature touch, Lynne! Beautiful work! inkybru xx

    Reply

  3. Gerrina
    Feb 14, 2017 @ 11:14:23

    think these are beauties! And they would be so much fun to use…would make me smile everytime I would see them! Hugs, Gerrina

    Reply

  4. pearshapedchris
    Feb 14, 2017 @ 23:13:33

    Ha!Ha! I know what you mean about those magazine papers! I have just made a decision to use some from one of mine – the paper is so lovely! Your ladies really suit the outfits you gave them! Chrisx

    Reply

  5. craftytrog
    Feb 14, 2017 @ 23:30:18

    I just love these colourful gals Lynne!

    Reply

  6. Dorthe Hansen
    Feb 16, 2017 @ 13:40:18

    Hello dear Lynne, These girls really takes on different moods, in your hands. Such artistic sweeties we have here, they are wonderful, in the bright color pallette , and the brushes looks almost real, the way you painted them 🙂 Having 10 minutes while Mathilde is drawing and painting . xx

    Reply

  7. Avril
    Feb 16, 2017 @ 16:33:12

    Fabulous trio of Art Gals Lynne, each one displaying their own personality and style. Great use of the free papers, it’s so easy to just let them mount up and not use them.
    Avril xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

