Wrap Up Well On This Frosty Day

Hello Everyone
Ignacio from the fabulous Nicecrane Designs is so generous.  A few weeks ago I was asked to pick an image sheet so I could  have some fun and I could not help but select Vintage Women’s Christmas, it will come as no surprise why I wanted to play with this.
As you can see, it is available as a Saver Pack, consisting of three collage sheets.VintageWomenChristmasPrevI wonder how you are progressing with your Christmas preparations, I am failing dismally, even worse than this time last year which I would have said was impossible. So much so that I have taken the step and bought Christmas cards, now please, do not shun me, it had to be done! This is the first time since I started making cards so it feels like a huge step backwards for me but it was a matter of, something has to give. Saying that, I still intend on sending a handmade card to family members and others on my list which means that every now and then I will be sharing a card or any other projects I manage to make.
For this post it is my first card made using Vintage Women’s Christmas,  with more to follow shortly, once I photograph them!
8″x8″ scallop edged card.
4th november 211You can see that I have been playing with the gorgeous Crafty Individuals Elegant Swirls mask/stencil set! Using with texture paste which I then painted over with gold,copper and bronze paint, an act not to be repeated as it was too time consuming! Once dry I then adhered vintage mica flakes (available from That’s Crafty) which are a favourite of mine at the moment.
I was so drawn to this image that I had to use it first.  Coating the edges with glass glitter for a frosty look and as you can see, lots of layering.4th november 204
I still had to incorporate stamping onto this card with beautiful stamps from various Oxford Impressions winter/Christmas stamp sets. Noel is tucked behind a frame altered for that frosty appearance, as though Jack Frost himself has made an appearance overnight, layering everything in a sparkly coating of frost.4th november 202Layering a metal frame with a circle cut from a vintage doily and a teeny bow tied from a scrap of seam binding. 4th november 198Tucked beneath…..a stamped label, again from Oxford Impressions.4th november 199This piece reminds me of a star or snowflake, it was cut from another vintage doily. 4th november 201Thank you to Ignacio for his generosity in allowing me to have the pleasure to create with this beautiful image and the others which will follow soon. If Nicecrane Designs is a new name to you then why not visit Ignacio’s Blog and discover his wonderful DT and also where he generously shares free images for you to use in your artwork. To visit his on-line store see the link at the top of this post.
Many thanks for your visit to this scheduled post as your visits are always appreciated by me.
Wishes
Lynne

41 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nicecrane
    Nov 06, 2013 @ 22:40:51

    Wowwww Lynne,,,,love the vintage effect and the stunning textures my friend,,,I love the way you showcase my vintage women,,,,,,,woww,wowwww, You are so creative,,,,,,Thanks for sharing it…….

    Reply

  2. Marilyn J. Rock
    Nov 06, 2013 @ 22:45:44

    So very beautiful Lynne!

    Reply

  3. may
    Nov 06, 2013 @ 22:56:54

    Gorgeous work Lynne, I agree Nicecrane images are so beautiful….Hugs May x x x

    Reply

  4. Astrid
    Nov 06, 2013 @ 22:58:57

    Love how you have used Ignacio’s beautiful sheet Lynne, gorgeous vintage perfection!!

    Reply

  5. Rita
    Nov 06, 2013 @ 23:01:30

    Beautiful card Lynne. One that would Grace any mantelpiece . Hugs Rita xxx

    Reply

  6. CarolS
    Nov 06, 2013 @ 23:09:21

    Gorgeous! Love the glittery touches you added! I agree that those images are wonderful!
    Hugs!

    Reply

  7. Brenda Brown
    Nov 06, 2013 @ 23:33:48

    Simply delightful Lynne, a lovely creamy frosty feeling to this and what lovely images to use.
    hugs {brenda} x0x

    Reply

  8. Yvonne G
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 04:02:09

    Oh Lynne! How gorgeous! I feel your pain in having to purchase cards. So many lessons are sent our way…keep persevering dear friend!

    Reply

  9. valerie-Jael
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 07:21:44

    The cards are all gorgeous, love the soft, feminine images and colours. Hope you are well. Valerie

    Reply

  10. Sharon
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 07:47:46

    Just stunning Lynne – love the gold background – looks really effective – beautiful image and of course you always have the perfect embellishments to finish it all off!!

    Reply

  11. coco
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 07:55:49

    This is a wonderful card, I love your embossing of Crafty Mask even if it’s time-consuming I understand !! Lovely details too on this card. Have a nice day, Coco x

    Reply

  12. Annie G
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 07:56:43

    This is simply stunning Lynne 🙂 beautiful image, which suits your style perfectly.

    TFS Annie x

    Reply

  13. rachel fisher
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 08:12:43

    a stunner Lynne and a really good choice of image – fabulous work. Love all the white and the lace – so very pretty xx

    Reply

  14. Bettina Breiding Hansen
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 08:23:51

    Dear Lynne – so fantastic!!

    Reply

  15. giogio
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 09:29:10

    It’s so beautiful. Love love the details, the swirls, the image, the bow. So classy!

    Reply

  16. Meggymay
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 09:51:38

    Absolutely gorgeous, the ladies are a wonderful set.
    Yvonne x

    Reply

  17. Alie Hoogenboezem-de Vries
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 10:13:35

    Perfect designs for you Lynne…your creations looks great again

    Reply

  18. Anne R
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 10:19:54

    Sweet Ignacio, he is so generous but I think he knew you would make a stunning creation like this one! No wonder he is thrilled. Your card is so beautiful. Like you, I think I may be purchasing some cards too…. sad, but as you so rightly say, something has to give! I hope my friends will forgive me this year! Hugs, Anne x

    Reply

  19. butterfly
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 10:36:28

    What lovely work with the Nicecrane images, Lynne – so delicate and feminine, perfect for that vintage photograph.

    And I think there’s nothing wrong with buying some Christmas cards – much better that than to put yourself under massive pressure to make all of them. No shunning round here!
    Alison xx

    Reply

  20. Paper Profusion
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 12:11:11

    Oh how decandent this looks Lynne – you have given Ignacio’s fabulous image such a treat. I love the golden flourishes – how you painted them “within the lines” is terrific and the mica flakes look wonderful too. Beautiful work!

    Reply

  21. MarieS.
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 13:13:57

    Just stunning and so you, dear Lynne:)
    Hugs,
    Marie

    Reply

  22. Suzi B
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 18:00:54

    Such a serene card….. love ut
    xx

    Reply

  23. Corrie
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 18:08:44

    Stunning card and I love how the photo says Happy New Year in Dutch.
    Love it !
    Corrie x

    Reply

  24. Dorthe
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 18:41:40

    Dear Lynne,
    you have made the most gorgeous card, with this lovely image. How beautiful- I love the swirls ,(maybe you could mix some paste with the colours before using it, but would maybe not give the same shine !! ) and your snow-crystals around the image. And all your adds of laces and the metal frame, and stamped tags…so much to experience and to admire. I love this card.
    Warm greetings,
    Dorthe-xx

    Reply

    • lynne
      Nov 07, 2013 @ 21:15:17

      Dear Dorthe
      I tried mixing as an option but the end result was not metallic. I haven’t tried clear texture paste but I wonder if that is what I need to purchase.
      Can anyone give me advice using metallic paints with texture paste, do I need to purchase clear texture paste?
      Thanks for your lovely comment Dorthe and all the other wonderful comments left for me to read.
      Wishes
      Lynne

      Reply

  25. Bärbel
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 18:41:50

    Eine wunderschön gestaltete Karte, liebe Lynne. Ich liebe das wunderbare Motiv, die verschiedenen Materialschichten und die Stoffe und Spitzen, großartig!

    Reply

  26. craftytrog
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 19:07:02

    Wow! It’s a work of art Lynne…so beautiful!
    I can see why you liked those images, they’re lovely.
    Alison xx

    Reply

  27. barnie
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 20:12:50

    I’m just catching up. Your last creations are fantastic – as always 🙂

    Reply

  28. Terry
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 20:39:07

    So sweet and elegant! Beautiful as always, Lynne! You work wonders with those images! Enjoy the weekend!

    Reply

  29. Shelly Schmidt
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 21:56:54

    If I was a family member, I would have a room wallpapered with all of your gorgeous projects!!! I love, not only the image, but the stencil, the shimmer on the name plate- the lace…..Beautiful!!!

    Reply

  30. 2amscrapper
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 23:49:19

    Oh yes, I would choose this sheet as well! Beautiful details on your work!

    Reply

  31. michele s
    Nov 08, 2013 @ 04:53:17

    i am so fully sympathetic about your being behind with Christmas preparations. same here. oh well. meanwhile this is a fabulous piece you’ve posted. the image is just so inviting! xo

    Reply

  32. Avril
    Nov 08, 2013 @ 10:13:24

    Hi Lynne, this is absolutely gorgeous, so delicate and feminine. Love the image sheet, no wonder you couldn’t wait to use it.
    Avril xx

    Reply

  33. Sandie
    Nov 08, 2013 @ 10:39:00

    Stunningly beautiful….your creations are always adorable…x

    Reply

  34. Gerrie Johnnic
    Nov 08, 2013 @ 12:59:21

    Such a beautiful vintage look you have achieved with layers and embellishments, I love your style, so soft and feminine.

    Reply

  35. Wendy
    Nov 08, 2013 @ 17:45:56

    Dear Lynne, what a most beautiful card. So romantic. Love what you did to the edges of the image. Hugs and wishing you a sweet weekend

    Reply

  36. nefertiti
    Nov 08, 2013 @ 20:15:58

    Perfect use of the mask and texture paste! gorgeous card!!bizz

    Reply

  37. Julie Lee
    Nov 08, 2013 @ 21:27:44

    This is really beautiful; I love the frosty look and the ladies are so elegant! I have heard of Nicecrane designs via May’s blog. I must check them out Thank you for sharing such lovely artwork. Julie Ann xx

    Reply

  38. Dianne
    Nov 09, 2013 @ 00:43:28

    Oh Miss Lynne NO ONE makes beautiful vintage cards like you do, truly they tug at my heart, they are such a pleasure to look at, the beautiful image, the fabulous corrugated piece, the gorgeous swirls, your beautiful doilies and lace, your special subtle little touches, ahhh, it takes my breath away, thank you for always inspiring me…

    Reply

  39. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    Nov 10, 2013 @ 13:49:36

    Oh what you’ve done with that gorgeous image dear Lynne!
    The frosty feel you have achieved is so delightful…
    makes me want to slip my hands into that sumptuous muff in the image…
    So nice to visit and to see your lovely creations…
    a perfect way to start my day ♥
    thank you very much for sharing your passion and talents!
    oxo

    Reply

  40. Viola
    Nov 18, 2013 @ 09:41:24

    Oh my, Lynne, so many many new creations on your blog! You`re so busy and all works are so wonderfully made !!
    Big hugs, Viola 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment