What Fine Gentlemen (Take Ten)

Hello Everyone
In the Summer issue of Take Ten I have a few cards published (can never believe how lucky I am).  One of the features is “What Fine Gentlemen”.
This collection I had completely forgotten about!  When I looked at my notes, it was 2013 they were mailed to Take Ten. Not that it matters to me if it is a quick turnaround or a longer wait, it is just brilliant that they liked them enough to publish them! I had planned to share these with you in time for Father’s Day but as you can see, I missed the boat!!!
Although it is a long time ago when I made them,  I can remember how they came about.  Amongst some craft goodies I received a set of Rebecca Sower stickers.  The stickers were nice in themselves but I saw the possibility of using them as a stamping surface.  With their vintage style it seemed they would be well suited to a masculine collection. For some time I had wanted to make a collection featuring Oxford Impressions’ photo real stamps of gents as most times it is the female photo real stamps that I play with.
All of the photo real stamps were stamped onto glossy cardstock with Archival ink and I always use a Speedball brayer. That’s my preference but I know stampers who prefer to use Staz-on.
I know I am repeating myself  but I never request the return of any submissions.  That means, if I am pushed for time, trying to get submissions into the mail, then I don’t have the time to deliberate over photographs.  The colours look a bit washed out here.  I used a soft cream cardbase with Caran d’ache NeoColor II, in deep brown, sepia and bronze to create the splatters.
DIGITAL CAMERAThe stickers had a very shiny surface so I used Staz-on, Timber Brown.  It didn’t trouble me if the stamped image wasn’t the perfect size for the actual stickers. DIGITAL CAMERAI wanted this detail to mimic an official mark in a passport or other such documentation.  DIGITAL CAMERAHello Sailor!DIGITAL CAMERA Torn cork brings texture.
DIGITAL CAMERAI wanted all the cards to be relatively flat, the stickers are really the main embellishments but I also wanted texture, the cork suited the purpose as did a piece of torn packaging. DIGITAL CAMERAHe looked the type of gent who would smoke a pipe.DIGITAL CAMERAThe final card –  A Man of Learning.  DIGITAL CAMERAThis stamp is without a doubt my most used masculine photo real stamp, inked up countless times since I first got the April In Paris stamp set.
DIGITAL CAMERAPen nibs, where would we be without a pen nib stamp in our stash!DIGITAL CAMERAI dipped into many Oxford Impressions stamp sets for this quartet. You can source some of the stamps at That’s Crafty and of course at the Austen Gallery which is the Oxford Impressions on-line store.
Thank You to Take Ten for publishing this wee collection in the Summer issue and many thanks to you for taking the time to view them.
Wishes
Lynne

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annie G
    Jul 15, 2015 @ 01:21:51

    Stunning cards Lynne with gorgeous details

    TFS and huge congratulations on being published

    Annie x

    Reply

  2. valorydegree
    Jul 15, 2015 @ 04:16:11

    Hi Lynne, I remember seeing your beautiful cards in the summer issue! I agree with you about not requesting submissions to be returned; you just never know when they might turn up! My sister-in-law and I also had the privilege of being published in this issue: http://stampingwithvalory.com/2015/05/30/we-did-it-thank-you-take-ten/

    Reply

  3. Suzi B
    Jul 15, 2015 @ 07:31:38

    I love the artistic simplicity and texture enhancing the main images…. no surprise that your work is published.
    Suzi B xx

    Reply

  4. Julie Lee
    Jul 15, 2015 @ 09:49:20

    What lovely cards. I love what you create for the ‘Take Ten’s. They always look just perfect and show that texture, interest and imagination can come into play on a flat card. You have such a talent for creating interest and drawing the eye, and, of course, your skill with the photo real stamps always amazes and delights me. xx

    Reply

  5. Hazel H
    Jul 15, 2015 @ 09:49:45

    Congratulations on being published again Lynne, your cards are wonderful.
    xxx Hazel.

    Reply

  6. Meggymay
    Jul 15, 2015 @ 11:41:33

    Congratulations Lynne. Another set of stunning projects.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  7. Dorthe
    Jul 15, 2015 @ 16:14:00

    Congratulations my friend,–And yes my dear Lyne, as Julie Lee wrote, –your skills with the photo real stamps always shows such amazing results , the cards here are proof of that, and they are beautiful each and every one, on your wonderful splashed backgrounds !
    I just recieved the Stampers Sampler summer, congratulations with the publishing of your most stunning art pieces there, too. I love what you created Lynne!!
    I so hope you are soon better again, and will think of you, while in Copenhagen. See you next week, and take care of you, my very dear friend.
    Dorthe, x

    Reply

  8. rachel fisher
    Jul 15, 2015 @ 17:32:46

    these are all lovely – fabulous makes Lynne – I love the vintage pictures – just beautiful! Hugs rachel x

    Reply

  9. hettiecraft
    Jul 15, 2015 @ 22:26:18

    Fabulous Lynne. Love them all.
    Hugs
    xx

    Reply

  10. Shari T.
    Jul 16, 2015 @ 00:30:33

    Congratulations once again, Lynne!! 🙂 🙂 I’m so glad that you’re sharing these cards!! Gosh, I’m missing having my subscription of TT–Look at what I’m missing out on!! 🙂 🙂 Just a wonderful collection of down to earth, masculine cards! The neutral color palette is always a winner and the cork pieces–Fabulous and fun and flat!! LOL 🙂 🙂 A great layer & embellishment–you are so good at bringing in natural elements to your creations!! XOXO-Shari

    Reply

  11. craftytrog
    Jul 16, 2015 @ 09:37:59

    These are wonderful vintage cards Lynne, I love the splatters and that sailor! 😊 xxx

    Reply

  12. Emma (The Sparkly Fairy)
    Jul 16, 2015 @ 15:03:02

    Fabulous work as always Lynne. Congrats on the published work too!!

    Reply

  13. Sharon
    Jul 18, 2015 @ 12:29:11

    Love these make themed cards! congrats.

    Reply

  14. coco
    Jul 19, 2015 @ 17:16:33

    Gorgeous masculine cards Lynne, and I love your little tag with the pen nib stamp… Very beautiful, and congratulations for this new distinction by Take Ten!!! 😀 xxx

    Reply

  15. butterfly
    Jul 20, 2015 @ 17:42:12

    Splendid splattery backgrounds to create lovely subtle settings for these splendid chaps – great masculine cards… a perfect Take Ten – congratulations!
    Alison xx

    Reply

  16. Samantha Read
    Jul 21, 2015 @ 10:07:09

    Wonderful masculine makes Lynne xx

    Reply

  17. Frances Peets
    Jul 22, 2015 @ 18:55:20

    Simplistic in design but rich in detail! Just scrumptious!

    Reply

  18. Corrie
    Jul 23, 2015 @ 20:02:22

    Beautiful !
    Corrie x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

